Customer Reviews for

Relic (Special Agent Pendergast Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 410 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(239)

4 Star

(113)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Book!

This was a re-read for me. I read it years ago and decided to buy it again for my Nook and it was well worth the money all over again. It was my first introduction to Agent Pendergast who has since become one of my fav fictional detectives and the first but not the last...
This was a re-read for me. I read it years ago and decided to buy it again for my Nook and it was well worth the money all over again. It was my first introduction to Agent Pendergast who has since become one of my fav fictional detectives and the first but not the last Preston & Child book I read. Loved it! Great blend of mystery, horror and police procedural. I have read every Pendergast novel since and can't remember ever being disappointed. I would definitely recommend it.

posted by Crimson151 on April 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Typo's galore

Though I'm only on pg 98, I still felt compelled to stop & write this review. I suppose this story is good enough, but I am so distracted by the typographical errors which abound that I can hardly focus on the plot. I don't know how such a hot mess made it past any sort...
Though I'm only on pg 98, I still felt compelled to stop & write this review. I suppose this story is good enough, but I am so distracted by the typographical errors which abound that I can hardly focus on the plot. I don't know how such a hot mess made it past any sort of editing standard. My 3rd grader could catch most of this! What a disappointment.

posted by 4431421 on January 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Great Book!

    This was a re-read for me. I read it years ago and decided to buy it again for my Nook and it was well worth the money all over again. It was my first introduction to Agent Pendergast who has since become one of my fav fictional detectives and the first but not the last Preston & Child book I read. Loved it! Great blend of mystery, horror and police procedural. I have read every Pendergast novel since and can't remember ever being disappointed. I would definitely recommend it.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than the movie. Hey, I LIKE the movie (Yikes - those spe

    Better than the movie.

    Hey, I LIKE the movie (Yikes - those special effects do not hold up!), but the book is much better.

    The quote on the cover says that this book is "Far above Crichton's Jurassic Park". Now, of course that's crazy nonsense, but there are similarities between how Crichton writes a thriller and this story. Namely, the plot unfolds at a good clip, and is interesting and suspenseful enough that I always roll right into the next chapter. Also thought the end was great, if I had book 2 handy, I would already be halfway through it. A great start to the series!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    An exciting page turner!

    If you like suspensful, character driven stories, this is a good one. The super agent is a little over the top, but not so much to be off-putting. The science was a tad fuzzy, but did not strain creduity. On the basis of this read, I purchased the following 5 books in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    Very good!

    This was actually one of the first books I ever read. I enjoyed it a lot, and I think they actually even did a movie.. but I don't think it was very good. The book is great though, check it out!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Great!

    What a great, scaaaaarrrrrry story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Reading Relic has Changed my view of museums being creep..and....THEY ARE!

    Good book....hooked on another series of books!!! THANKS MICHAEL!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Love Pendergast

    Pendergast is such a character -- I'm addicted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Excellent book. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. I enjoy the Preston
    and Child books very much.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    Highly recommended-Great writing team.

    Great read and the first book I read on my new nook. The book is great from start to finish. A must read.
    Cheers

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    THIS CAMP SUUUUUUUCKS!

    All you do is sit around acting bored. I don't get how it is a 'better camp.' Learn this, YOU WON'T HAVE PEOPLE JOINING IF YOU POST ADS AT OTHER CAMPS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Mia

    Hey guys 3; Im bored...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Good Reading

    Relic is good reading. It isn't splendid, or even exceptionally good in it's style, but it is entertaining.
    It has an unusual premise which leads into an interesting story of fairly flushed out characters.
    Once the action starts it is quite fun and hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    I enjoyed this story. It was clean and the violence was not gro

    I enjoyed this story. It was clean and the violence was not grossly graphic. I have already purchased two more of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    If you want to escape, read it!

    These guys know how to keep you on the edge of your seat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Good

    Im not quite done with this book but I recomend it, although there are alot of spelling and punctuation errors! Great book so far though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have seen the names Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child for quit

    I have seen the names Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child for quite some time and finally got around to reading one of their novels. I now realize I should have done so much sooner. In Relic, Preston and Child craft a intriguing science horror novel set in the mysterious New York Museum of Natural History. The building itself plays such a huge role in the book I now want to visit. The theme of the book is right inline with some of Michael Crichton’s work and is on par with that. The villains in the book, both human and not, are great and the unexpected epilogue was fantastic. My one pet peeve was too many of the characters were very one note throughout. Overall, a really good book that will lead me to check out more by these accomplished authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Completely freaked me out

    I'm not a huge fan of intense books. However, I pushed through the beginning and got to the point that I couldn't put the book down. Definitely a good one if you enjoy intensity in your reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I found this very scary but enjoyed it. It's not the type of book I usually read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    A Warren of Thrills

    This book takes a few chapters to hook you due to the change in perspective with each section. However, this allows for constant cliffhangers and multiple characters to be developed. As a grad student in science myself, I got a kick out of the portrayal of the lifestyle and the in-depth scientific explanations. I heard there was a movie made out of this book, but that it was bad. I haven't seen it myself, but I recommend the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6