Customer Reviews for

Reliquary (Special Agent Pendergast Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 251 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

EXCITING

Couldn't put the book down. Had me on the edge of my seat. Excellent writing. I have it in my permanent library now.

posted by 1259360 on April 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A real snoozer

"Relic" I thought was pretty fair if you stretched your imagination as Coleridge suggests we do. Characters were introduced well, the plot got a rousing send off and the ending was a clue to a sequel---which is "Reliquary."

Apparently the Monster from "Relic" has ...
"Relic" I thought was pretty fair if you stretched your imagination as Coleridge suggests we do. Characters were introduced well, the plot got a rousing send off and the ending was a clue to a sequel---which is "Reliquary."

Apparently the Monster from "Relic" has been reincarnated in the form of a group rather than one creature. Pendergast solves this problem, but it takes him over a thousand pages to do so. Took me longer as I kept going to sleep.

posted by ybdude1936 on April 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 251 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    EXCITING

    Couldn't put the book down. Had me on the edge of my seat. Excellent writing. I have it in my permanent library now.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    A real snoozer

    "Relic" I thought was pretty fair if you stretched your imagination as Coleridge suggests we do. Characters were introduced well, the plot got a rousing send off and the ending was a clue to a sequel---which is "Reliquary."

    Apparently the Monster from "Relic" has been reincarnated in the form of a group rather than one creature. Pendergast solves this problem, but it takes him over a thousand pages to do so. Took me longer as I kept going to sleep.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Just finished

    Wow, I just finished this and i couldn't tell you if i like this one or its predessecor better. If you love twists and mystery, if you can watch a scary movie with the lights off, then this is for you. Highly recommend

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    A great follow-up to Relic!

    If you liked Relic, you won't be disappointed! Preston and Child have followed-up with another bone-chilling murder mystery that you'll have a hard time putting down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    great research

    I had to read this book since it was the sequal to relic. i thought it was done very well since somethines sequels can be so disappointing. i think the research Lincoln Child did to make it as real as possible with regards to the NYC Tunnel life really helped the plot of the book. I would read this again!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    LOTS OF SURPRISES!

    I really enjoyed 'The Relic' and was thrilled that a sequel came out! It starts out a bit slowly but turns out to be another great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Made it to my FAVORITES! MUST READ AGAIN! List.

    Loved Relic! The sequel won't disapoint ! What a ride all the way to last page!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Can't Put it Down

    This series is not my typical read. I started with the first one based on the recommendation of a friend. Now I've finished the second one. It sucked me in; next thing I knew the book was done! Easy read with twists you don't anticipate. Gotta say I was disappointed when it was over.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Awesome read

    Loved this book also. Can't wait to start the third one tonight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Pendergast!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted March 16, 2011

    Check it out!

    I got this on audiobook and I love it. The audiobook is excellently done. It was full of twists & turns. Truly an enjoyable thriller. I hadn't read or listed to The Relic and now I have to get that one too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    Another great novel by Preston and Child!

    I have not yet read Relic, however, it is the next book on my list to read. This book was still very good and was not confusing at all even if you didn't read Relic. It describes everything clearly and describes any important characters or events from Relic that are relevant to this book. I would definatly recommend this to anyone that enjoys a good mystery/thriller!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2014

    Highly recommend

    A great read, a follow up to Relics. Lots of suspense, edge of chair, nIl bitter moments. I was sorry to reach the end of this book! Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Fascinating

    I enjoyed this immensely. The descriptions of situations and locations was beyond imagination. It took you there! I would definitely recommend reading "Relic" prior to this or it won't make any sense. I am looking forward to the rest of Pendergast. I'm only up to book 5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Wow

    Never saw that action and ending coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    entertaining sci fi

    The Preston/Child team produces well-written action, original, and entertaining reading- not for those seeking depth and thought-provoking debate. Though Agent Pendergast is a main character, this is not a one man show. The team of main characters are interesting and solid and work well together. Good for "fun" sci-fi reading. Just like Relic, the page numbering was way off saying it was over 1,000 pages but pages "turned" 2 at a time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Very wordy

    I would have given this book five stars if it weren't so long. I don't mind a long book, I actually prefer a long book so the charater development in well done, BUT this book reminds me of some of the classics from the 18th and 19th century's when the authors could go on for half a chapter describing a garden, or what people were wearing. I think it hurt the book overall. By the time you got to an exciting part you were worn out. I NEVER fall asleep when reading, that is until Relic and Reliquary, both good books that could have been excellent, if they had been edited, a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    Thriller in Keeping With the Series

    I'm working my way through the whole series. Kept me up late.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    highly recommend sequil

    This is a second read and still very enjoyable. can't get enough of the characters. Earler books are better than the latest two but all good enough for a reread after many years.
    Their individual books are pretty good also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    Excellent Bond-type detective entertainment

    All the fun in action and unexpected twists are joined with the education on topics which, may build upon readers familiarity, but delivers additional memorable tidbits. Novels can be read standalone but charcters and scenes appearing in multiple novels continue development. Well worth reading but note you may need to allocate a good time to read as difficult to stop! Then, you want more so the next 10 books are amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 251 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13