Customer Reviews for

Reluctant Smuggler

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Book Number Three Can Stand Alone

    I've visited Cancun and the nearby area of the Yucatan peninsula twice and I was totally immersed into the Mayan influence as I read Reluctant Smuggler. I enjoyed the seeing the story unfold even though I had not read the first two in the series. Reluctant Smuggler can stand on it's own but now, of course I want to go back and read the other two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A thrilling, edge-of-your-seat package

    Review by Gretchen Hoffman

    I was so excited when Reluctant Smuggler came out. I started reading the series when the first two books were out, but I had to wait for this one. Book three did not disappoint.

    In the final book of the trilogy, Desiree Jacobs faces her most difficult task yet. It started off simple-obtain an antique Mayan artifact and get it to the good guys. But the simple task gets complicated when espionage, people looting Mexican antiquities, corrupt government officials, and a violent gang, the Fraternidad de la Garra, find their way into the picture. How is Desi supposed to plan the perfect wedding to her fiancé, FBI agent Tony Lucano, with all this trouble?

    With injuries, lots of questions, and someone close who ends up in the hospital, Desi faces a lot of "what-if" situations and must rely on more than her wits to survive. She needs to find the truth before anyone else, including herself, gets hurt.

    If you've read book one and two, this book is a must. Ms. Nelson ties everything together in a thrilling, edge-of-your-seat package. Check it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    Suspense Tripping Romance!

    Security consultant Desiree Jacobs is at it--again! What should have been a simple artifact retrieval lands her in the jungles of Mexico, where differentiating the good guys from drug traffickers is no easy job. Whether or not Desiree can outrun the nasty boys and keep her wedding date with FBI agent Tony Lucano proves to be Desiree's greatest adventure yet. Book three of the To Catch A Thief series, Reluctant Smuggler by author Jill Elizabeth Nelson is another front runner! Decisively character driven, Reluctant Smuggler is packed with action and riveting suspense that makes for an intense page-turner. I applaud Jill Elizabeth Nelson's gift to transport readers to a world of romantic suspense and, to believe they are with Desiree whether inside a grand palace or the mysterious Mayan ruins. Nelson has a natural gift of unobtrusively showing Desiree and Tony's unwavering faith. Reluctant Smuggler will appeal to inspirational and secular readers alike. And if you haven't read the first two books of this amazing series you must! Jill Elizabeth Nelson's, Reluctant Smuggler is my favorite of the Catch A Thief series. I'm chewing my nails in suspenseful anticipation for her next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2008

    Hang On! Let Me Catch My Breath!

    Murder! Kidnapping! Smuggling! Espionage! Exotic locations! A beautiful security consultant determined to recover priceless artifacts. A handsome FBI agent determined to find priceless human cargo while protecting his lovely fiancée ¿ who, incidentally, can take care of herself! Jill Elizabeth Nelson¿s Reluctant Smuggler is an action-packed romantic suspense that takes you to exotic locations and puts you in situations that, hopefully, you¿ll never experience. This thriller presents both sides of Mexico ¿ the lovely, welcoming tourist destinations and the cruel underground of gangs and drugs. WARNING: Plan to read the whole thing when you start! This is fast-paced novel that has a lot going on ¿ but don¿t worry about getting lost. Nelson is an experienced storyteller. Her setting descriptions are so realistic. I¿ve never been to Mexico or the Yucatan, but I had no trouble imagining myself there with Desi and Tony. Speaking of her characters, I like that they are real, with the same doubts and fears that we would have in the same situation ¿ well, almost. (I¿m a big `fraidy cat!) I won¿t go into details, but Desi Jacobs and her fiancé, Special Agent Tony Lucano, FBI, fight all kinds of nefarious characters at home and in Mexico. And with the prayer support of their family and co-workers, they ¿ well, you¿ll have to see for yourself what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2008

    A reviewer

    Keeping in line with Reluctant Burglar and Reluctant Runaway, the first two books in Jill Elizabeth Nelson's To Catch A Thief series, Reluctant Smuggler is action-packed! There is mystery, romance, suspense, history ... all with the underlying message that God is in control and He always wins!! I love the fact that you get 'lost' in this book -- in a Mayan village, in the deep jungle, in a cenote at Cichen Itza, to be exact! The descriptions are so real you feel like you're running with Tony searching for El Jaguar's lair. When Tony's heart thundered in his ears - MINE echoed it!! When a thousand spider feet crawled up Desi's spine - I felt the tingle up MINE, too! In the midst of all this action, a beautiful wedding takes place. And then there's the honeymoon... definitely a UNIQUE honeymoon. I highly recommend Reluctant Smuggler, but be warned - you won't be able to put it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2008

    A reviewer

    The Reluctant Smuggler, the third installment in Jill Elizabeth Nelson¿s To Catch A Thief series, takes the reader from the snow covered landscape of Boston to the tropical jungles of the Yucatan Peninsula, to archaeological digs. While trying to find flaws in the Mexican museum¿s security system, Desiree Jacobs finds herself chased and the false artifact she carries stolen. Back in Boston, her fiancée, FBI agent Tony Lucano is almost killed during a raid and lies in a coma. Page turning thrills and suspense tie these two incidents together and threaten to jeopardize Desi¿s and Tony¿s upcoming wedding. In The Reluctant Smuggler, Jill Elizabeth Nelson digs deeper in Desi¿s and Tony¿s love for each other, the dangers of crime-solving and protecting precious antiquities, and shows us the strength of true-love. The Reluctant Smuggler was my favorite of the three books in the To Catch a Thief Series. Full of romance, danger, suspense and God¿s sovereignty. I¿m looking forward to more adventures written by Jill Elizabeth Nelson I'd like to see this book made into a movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2008

    A GREAT NON-STOP ACTION READ

    Desi Jacobs finds herself in trouble on Page 1 and the excitement doesn't let up until the final sentence. The book opens with Desi breaking into a Mexican Museum to steal a precious aritifact. No, she's not a thief, she's a security expert out to prove why the Mexican government should hire her firm. Unfortunately, the nefarious Claybeck family, a competing firm, doesn't play by the rules and Desi refuses to have anything further to do with the deal. Her goal: Get home to Tony, her fiance. Which proves to be a crazy adventure in itself. From there, she's immersed into even more danger even as she plans her wedding. Trouble from Mexico follows her home then all the way back to Mexico where she must fully rely on God to rescue her from evil. A fast-paced, well-written book that kept me up at night wanting to know what happened next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2008

    Fantastic Conclusion to Great Romantic Suspense Series

    fulfilling a contract. Not so with Reluctant Smuggler. Instead, this book is filled with twists, turns, delightful surprises, and a very satisfying ending for those who have been with the series from book one. Desiree is thrown into all kinds of situations¿both physical and emotional ¿ that must be dealt with before she can grow and the book can conclude. While Desiree and Tony are on parallel paths, they approach them from distinctly different perspectives. I could see myself in many of Desiree¿s struggles about balancing career and getting married, the honing down to what¿s truly important. The settings were lush. I could sense the sights and smells of the different locations in Mexico. The book was almost as good as a plane ticket down there to see it all myself. The setting supported the book and plot without taking over. And I loved seeing the growth in many of the secondary characters, too. They weren¿t merely props inserted into the book to make the main characters look good. Over the course of the series each of them grew as well. My only disappointment is that the series had to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    A Page-Turner From Start to Finish!

    Desiree Jacobs thrives on action--it's part of her job as a security consultant. But this latest assignment for the Mexican government has placed more than protecting antiquities on the line...her life is in danger. Reluctant Smuggler is a page-turner from start to finish that you're sure to love as much as I do!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    In Mexico City, American security consultant Desiree Jacobs of HJ Securties has been hired to test rival Greybeck and Sons¿ security measures at the internationally renowned Museo de Arte Museum. Desi sort of succeeds, but rejects the job offer to provide security because the museum did not live up to their provisional agreement. Instead she plans to fly home the next day and begin wedding plans with her beloved FBI agent, Ton-y Lucano.------------- However instead of returning home, Mexican Presidente Montoya asks Desi for a favor as he trusts her due to knowing her late maligned father personally and her display of ethics during the museum caper. He wants her to investigate stolen art treasures, which she agrees to do as long as it is understood she is not law enforcement. As she begins to unravel the truth, she finds a tie to the illegal drug trade that makes her a target of ruthless killers. Tony realizes his beloved is in trouble and defying FBI policy immediately races to Mexico to insure his Desi is safe, but fears he may be too late as a snake betrays her.------------ The third To Catch a Thief saga (see RELUCTANT RUNAWAY and RELUCTANT RUNAWAY) is an exhilarating inspirational suspense thriller that focuses on the antiquities black market. The story line is fast-paced from the opening segue that showcase Desiree¿s talent through her ordeal with killing thieves and to the final confrontation with a shocking twist. Although the Greybeck subplot feels contrived, fans will enjoy the latest ¿reluctant¿ tale wondering if Desi will make it out of Mexico alive and in time to wed Tony.----------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1