Customer Reviews for

The Reluctant Suitor

Average Rating 3.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Charming romance

I must admit I was reluctant to read this book after reading all of the negative reviews on this site. I had checked it out at the library and then read the reviews. Almost turned it back in without reading it which would have been a mistake.
I read it last night all i...
I must admit I was reluctant to read this book after reading all of the negative reviews on this site. I had checked it out at the library and then read the reviews. Almost turned it back in without reading it which would have been a mistake.
I read it last night all in one sitting I didn't want to put it down. I don't understand why there was such a dislike of this book. I thought it was a very charming yet dramatic romance. I really enjoyed reading it and would probably read it again.
People criticized this book, but then loved I think it was flame and the flower where the hero rapes the heroine at the beginning of the book. I don't understand this. I haven't read that book so maybe it gets better.
I have decided no matter what we read there are going to be many varying opinions we like what we like or what we don't like. Read it make your own decision.

posted by janeeyre01 on August 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Is zero an option?

I adore Woodiwiss, Loved Shanna, Wolf and the Dove, etc. But this book was AWFUL! EVERYTHING had to be justified to the reader again and again as though even she knew it was unbelievable. The entire time I was reading I could not find a conflict between the main charact...
I adore Woodiwiss, Loved Shanna, Wolf and the Dove, etc. But this book was AWFUL! EVERYTHING had to be justified to the reader again and again as though even she knew it was unbelievable. The entire time I was reading I could not find a conflict between the main characters. In fact, their repetitive explanations of the reasons they were wary of getting together just made them seem melodramatic. This book got on my nerves. And Roger Elton. We are constantly informed of what a wit Adriana has and how all of the men in town are after her, was she really so stupid about Roger? It seems like should have had the intelligence or even enough experience to think his stalkerish behavior was just a mite out of ordinary. If anyone raced me up the stairs to my friend's house after I had told him to bugger off I would call the police. Even the plot twists were not so much twists as sharp but highly predictable about faces. Read anything else by her.

posted by Anonymous on March 2, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Charming romance

    I must admit I was reluctant to read this book after reading all of the negative reviews on this site. I had checked it out at the library and then read the reviews. Almost turned it back in without reading it which would have been a mistake.
    I read it last night all in one sitting I didn't want to put it down. I don't understand why there was such a dislike of this book. I thought it was a very charming yet dramatic romance. I really enjoyed reading it and would probably read it again.
    People criticized this book, but then loved I think it was flame and the flower where the hero rapes the heroine at the beginning of the book. I don't understand this. I haven't read that book so maybe it gets better.
    I have decided no matter what we read there are going to be many varying opinions we like what we like or what we don't like. Read it make your own decision.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2007

    Is zero an option?

    I adore Woodiwiss, Loved Shanna, Wolf and the Dove, etc. But this book was AWFUL! EVERYTHING had to be justified to the reader again and again as though even she knew it was unbelievable. The entire time I was reading I could not find a conflict between the main characters. In fact, their repetitive explanations of the reasons they were wary of getting together just made them seem melodramatic. This book got on my nerves. And Roger Elton. We are constantly informed of what a wit Adriana has and how all of the men in town are after her, was she really so stupid about Roger? It seems like should have had the intelligence or even enough experience to think his stalkerish behavior was just a mite out of ordinary. If anyone raced me up the stairs to my friend's house after I had told him to bugger off I would call the police. Even the plot twists were not so much twists as sharp but highly predictable about faces. Read anything else by her.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    I have been reading and falling in love with her books from the

    I have been reading and falling in love with her books from the very beginning. I have read several of them many times. And I enjoy them each and every time I read them. I just reread A Rose in Winter for probably the 12th time. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    very long book but good read

    i liked this book alot. it has many unexpected twist thats keeps you guessing what will happen next. a little long but its worth it. would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    it was so touching.

    This book had my heart about to bulge out of my chest from the very beginning. I love Kathleen E. Woodiwiss she is my favorite author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    My Favorite of Her

    LOVED it, definetly my fav of all her books, although she does use the word 'orb' many many times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2007

    Absolutely 'Orbful'

    Kathleen Woodiwiss generally produces enjoyable, intricate romances with interesting details about the timeframe in which she is writing. The Reluctant Suitor is not one of those. Cheese, all the way. From the moment we are introduced to all the main characters (which takes a whopping 80 pages or so) to the moment the evil impediment to their romance is finally (Finally) vanquished, the book is artificial and overdone. Plus, there is an absolutely teeth-grinding overusage of the word 'orbs.' This book is just not good. The characters are not compelling in the least--they all come straight out of the 'perfect hero,' 'perfect heroine,' 'evil guy,' or 'evil girl' molds. The plot is overly contrived, the incidence in the bath and the whole falling over the cane and getting wrapped around Colton are just plain unbelievable. The aftermath of the attempted rape scene is also highly unbelievable. And how many plot twists are really necessary? Not only do we have the man who's intent on standing in the way of the relationship, we also have some random actress and her slovenly assistant trying to break things up. I'm amazed that a publishing company would release a book that only made it through one edit. This could have been cut by a couple hundred pages and been a much more satisfactory read. This typically strong author has definitely missed the mark with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    Wonderful

    If I had skip chapters, I think I would've done injustice to this story and rated it less than it deserves. Yes, it can be a bit difficult to get into, but a few chapters in and I was hooked by the characters and the plot. Be patient with this story because it will be worthwhile in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2006

    Wow!! This is the first book of hers that I read!

    I enjoyed reading this book. I took more time reading this book than I usually do. I love the characters, especially Adriana and Colton. I recommend this book to anyone who love historical romances like I do. Its just a bit under 4 stars for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2006

    I only read half......

    I loved that book because it was the first romance novel my older sister had had me read and I liked the book until she took it from me. I currently own about 4 romance novels and am enjoying reading them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2005

    Where is all the usual excitement?

    I have long been an avid Woodiwiss fan, but found this book difficult to get into. Ended up just skim reading the most of it, and agree that it is very different from her usual level of delighful reading. Would not particularly recommend this, unless you needed help for insomnia!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2005

    A Little Disappointing

    Although the book was overall pretty good, the Woodiwiss magic was missing. I just didn't connect with this book like her other books. The characters were kind of flat and there was a lot of editing errors. Hopefully, she will come out with another book to win her fans back!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2003

    The Reluctant Reader

    The overall book was entertaining, but started off quite slow. I was somewhat dissapointed with the book, but not all of MS Woodiwiss's books can be 'Ashes in the Wind' or 'Shanna'. The prose became boring and repititious, and I thought the first scene would never end. But I would still recommend the book as good entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2005

    I really liked this book!

    I just wanted to say that this is my first book I have read of Mrs. Woodiwiss'and I found it charming and entertaining! I now want to continue to purchase her books just because of this one! Good Job, I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    Unacceptable !!!

    Kathleen Woodiwis is my favorite author indeed. I measure all others by the standard she has set. With that being said, I find it hard to believe that this book was written by Kathleen. It is just torture. NOTHING is the same. The style of writing is not the same, the depth of character is not the same. The scences are incredibly long, pages after pages. Moreover, the feel, the essence of Woodiwiss is absent. NO, I refuse to believe that this book was written by Kathleen. It was only marketed under her name but it is not the genuine work from the author of 'The Flame and the Flower', 'Shanna', 'The Wolf and the Dove' to name a few.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2004

    A Kathleen Woodiwiss fan

    I agree with most of the other reviewers... this book is not to the standard of the writings of Kathleen's former books. There is little depth to these characters and the dialogue is rather shallow. I am disappointed in this novel, but it's an okay read. KATHLEEN... PLEASE go back to the writing styles of your previous novels... 'Shanna', 'Ashes in the Wind', 'The Elusive Flame', etc. I keep check of the BN website to see if you have a new novel coming out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2004

    BORING

    This book was awful - I tried to read it on 2 separate occassions, and couldn't make it past page 50. Woodiwiss uses uneccessarily large words and long complicated sentences to say the simplest things - I felt like I was reading a bad textbook. The only good thing about this book was that I received it as a gift and didn't waste my own money on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2004

    Disappointing

    I was an avid Kathleen Woodiwiss fan. This story was so poorly written that it is hard for me to believe it was written by the same author who wrote 'A Rose in Winter' and 'The Wolf and the Dove'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2004

    Not the Kathleen Woodiwiss I Knew and Read Over the Years

    The last Kathleen Woodiwiss book I read was Shanna. Had read all prior books and loved every one. This one was not up to the standard and enjoyment level of her past works. Plotting was so convoluted with long drawn out descriptions that were revisited again and again. After 85 pages I almost put it aside but decided to perservere. Was not worth the effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2004

    Send it back

    I agree with most of the reviews here, in particular the ones who didn't like the book.. I have read all of her books, and read Shanna twice, and waited with bated breath for this one. I got through the first 75 pages and not only closed it, but sent it back to the publisher. Couldn't stand his ebony eyes anymore. Kathleen, where are you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4