Customer Reviews for

The Reluctant Vampire (Argeneau Vampire Series #15)

Average Rating 4.5
( 339 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(191)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

I loved reading this wonderful book! It has a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not the best one of the series

Alexandrina "Drina" Argenis is a rogue hunter. She has been sent to help protect Stephanie McGill who is a new turn with some amazing powers from Leonius, who wants her for breeding. The truth, however, is Marguerite knows that her life mate is at the house. Harpernus "...
Alexandrina "Drina" Argenis is a rogue hunter. She has been sent to help protect Stephanie McGill who is a new turn with some amazing powers from Leonius, who wants her for breeding. The truth, however, is Marguerite knows that her life mate is at the house. Harpernus "Harper" Stoyan is still reeling with the loss of his supposed life mate. He hasn't left the area but instead just tortures himself with the memories because he feels he doesn't deserve happiness ever again. Drina knows that she must tread carefully and ease Harper into this relationship.

Also during this time it is Tiny's time to make the change. Because of this there are several extra vamps around to help with protection. And now here comes the bad part. I didn't care for this story at all. I felt that everything was forced and redundant. The group is attacked several times but after each attack there is no reaction. They either reflect on who they think it was or Harper and Drina go off somewhere and get it on (in the weirdest places..hello.burned out building??) I felt that there wasn't much originality to set this book apart from the others. On the other side I liked that I didn't know who the attacker was until the end, but because there wasn't much content in the story besides Harper and Drina sharing their past to each other you don't have enough information to even make an assumption.

posted by kopsahl on June 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Another good Argeneau

    Our Review [by Michelle L Olson & Jennifer Vayda]:
    Drina has been sent by Lucian and Marguerite to Port Henry to help protect Stephanie from a jerk that looks like he’ll stop at nothing to get his grubby mits on her. Stephanie isn't the only vamp Drina is keeping her eye on though...
    After being picked up at the airport by tall, dark and rude (a.k.a Anders who not much for the talking), Drina meets Harper. After doing so, Drina notices that her appetite has returned and that she’s getting peeks into Harper’s thoughts—2 very important signs that indicate the two are lifemates. The problem is, Harper feels that he doesn’t deserve another chance at happiness, and so Drina is thrown into 2 fights, and she’s not willing to give up on either easily.
    Drina is warned ahead of time that she’ll have a hard time convincing Harper that he’s worthy and that he should give love a chance, and though he was a bit of a stick-in-the-mud in the beginning he wasn’t as difficult as everyone kept saying. A lot of that had to do with the fact that little Stephanie just could keep her nosy little match making thoughts out of the mix, and pretty much tied herself into knots trying to help Drina get Harper to realize what everyone else already knew…That he and Drina are meant for each other.
    Together, Drina and Harper’s relationship was “awww!” worthy, & there were several Sandstastic ‘naked and unconscious on the floor’ moments. Outside of the relationship I found Harper average, loveable but baseline. Drina was a big plus though. She is a a self assured female who knows what she wants and isn’t afraid to grab it. She’s also smart, sexy, deep and a warrior in more than 1 way.
    While The Reluctant Vampire wasn’t our favorite of the series thus far, it was still a thoroughly enjoyable read. Slightly more romance based than the previous Rogue Hunter installments, it’s great for those that got hooked on the Argeneau series because of that, and fans and followers of the series will be happy to reunite with some of their favorite cast members.
    While it could be read alone we would strongly suggest that you not.
    All in all, LITERAL ADDICTION Paranormal Book Club gives The Reluctant Vampire 4 Skulls and would recommend it to Lynsay Sands and Argeneau fans, and Paranormal Romance readers who like wit in their read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Cute couple....loved it

    I really enjoyed this story. It was nice seeing the Port Henry crowd again, and I enjoyed Harper and Drina's courtship. There was a lot of humor and some steamy romance in this book. The mix of both made for a sweet laid back romance with a hint of I love Lucy thrown in for good measure.

    Some of the antics might have been a little overboard...but they made the book fun. I really got a kick out of the way Stephanie tortured Harper at the Wal-Mart...although somehow I have never found the little black dress/thigh high boot/bustier aisle at my Wal-Mart. (Maybe it is hidden behind the granny panties/oversized sweatshirt/flip flop aisle.)

    I would recommend this book, but if you have not read her previous books in this series, it might take you a bit to catch up with past events.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    I just reread this

    Since i did not remember it. Two vamps trying to make it work, one teenager hiding from the bad guy, old friends from previous books and more. Humor, romance and those fainting spells. I enjoyed this. Need to see if I have The Gift to read, then on to books 16 & 17. Shelley K.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Love, Mystery, and Vampires....

    Love, mystery, and vampires...what else do you need???? I couldn't put it down, and I never guessed what happened in the end....I would have totally failed that game of Clue. The book will keep you guessing and surprise you in the end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Not the best,but still good

    I love all the Argeneau stories. This was not one of the best ones but it was still an enjoyable read. I loved the character of Stephanie and hope we see more of her in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    Drina was definitely one fiery Spanish immortal, extremely indep

    Drina was definitely one fiery Spanish immortal, extremely independent, a and controlling. Until meeting Harper, who was recovering
    from the loss of a life mate. I do have to say Drina meeting Anders was one of the most comical parts of the book. Teenage Stephanie
    also played a big part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read

    I can't say enough about Lynsay Sands. She is one of my favorite authors. She writes a great story that makes you want to bare you throat and become a vampire. She adds so much humor to her books that you can read them over and over and find something else to laugh about. This story is about Drina Argenis who is a Argeneau and Hrper Stoyan. They are so perfect together. I will tell you that I feel you should read this series in order because it will make the book more enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Love this series

    I havent read on i didnt like

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Good Quick Read

    Of all of Lynsay Sands' books, I like the Argeneau Series the best. This book follows in her typical humorous style, while maintaining the depth that is hard to consistently achieve in series novels. Over all: a good, quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    THE RELUCTANT VAMPIRE IS AN EXPLOSIVE READ!

    New York Times bestseller, Lynsay Sands latest in her beloved paranormal romance series, An Argeneau Novel, "THE RELUCATANT VAMPIRE just released by Avon Books this past May is a supernova of a read. It's entertaining and engaging fleshed out characters with their wit and charm just explode into a million stars of excitement that I could not help myself but read through the night. Even a Vampire gets the blues. Harper Stoyan still blames himself for his lifemates death. Thankful that his friends Tiny and Mirabeau have brought Stephanie McGill is, a young newly turned immortal in need of protection from a mad-no-fanger named Leonus is just the distraction he needs. Things are work pretty well when Anders and Drina Argenis (Argeneau) show up to help protect the vamp in training. Harper finds himself attracted to the beautiful Spanish hunter. Bored and a little home sick Stephanie decides to play match maker for Drina and the reluctant Harper. But, really how hard can it be with one newly turned teenage vampire and a crazed no-fanger on the hunt and someone out to kill the sparks that have suddenly ignited between Drina and Harper. Stephanie McGill is the reason I loved THE RELUCTANT VAMPIRE. She is spunky and fire. Stephanie is a newly turned vampire. Add in the fact that she is a teenager, had to leave her family and is now being hidden away in a secluded area in Canada and she hasn't lost her mind---or thrown a tantrum say loads about this character. I adored the fact that Ms. Sands didn't make her a bratty teenager but one that was so full of pep and energy. Readers are going to enjoy watching all the antics this little cupid pulls out from her arsenal to bring these two lifemates together. There are so many laugh out loud moments with this character that I recommend you have a box of Kleenex hands to wipe the tears away. For the legions of fans that are very familiar with Ms. Sand's Argeneau series, THE RELUCTANT VAMPIRE will be like a big family reunion with Tiny, Maribeau, Anders, Lucien and Marguerite. But the characters that you will fall-head-over fangs for are the happy reluctant couple themselves..or at least Harper is the reluctant one of this half-crazy in love-lust couple. Oh well reader, you have to love a man who torments himself over something he had no control over (just like a man). I love fiction more than fact. Sad, but true. The thing I learn most from reading fiction like a THE RELUCTANT VAMPIRE is to have strength. The strong family values-even in a paranormal setting-touch a reader's heart. This is why we keep coming back for more. Yes Ms. Sand's is a pro at writing drop-dead fleshed to the bone characters that we wouldn't mind sharing a pint of blood with. But if you were to strip that all away what you have is a damn intense good story about a loving family that takes care of their own, protects their young and will move heaven and earth to prove they love you. As a reader I could not ask for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5