Customer Reviews for

The Reluctant Vampire (Argeneau Vampire Series #15)

Average Rating 4.5
( 338 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(191)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

I loved reading this wonderful book! It has a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not the best one of the series

Alexandrina "Drina" Argenis is a rogue hunter. She has been sent to help protect Stephanie McGill who is a new turn with some amazing powers from Leonius, who wants her for breeding. The truth, however, is Marguerite knows that her life mate is at the house. Harpernus "...
Alexandrina "Drina" Argenis is a rogue hunter. She has been sent to help protect Stephanie McGill who is a new turn with some amazing powers from Leonius, who wants her for breeding. The truth, however, is Marguerite knows that her life mate is at the house. Harpernus "Harper" Stoyan is still reeling with the loss of his supposed life mate. He hasn't left the area but instead just tortures himself with the memories because he feels he doesn't deserve happiness ever again. Drina knows that she must tread carefully and ease Harper into this relationship.

Also during this time it is Tiny's time to make the change. Because of this there are several extra vamps around to help with protection. And now here comes the bad part. I didn't care for this story at all. I felt that everything was forced and redundant. The group is attacked several times but after each attack there is no reaction. They either reflect on who they think it was or Harper and Drina go off somewhere and get it on (in the weirdest places..hello.burned out building??) I felt that there wasn't much originality to set this book apart from the others. On the other side I liked that I didn't know who the attacker was until the end, but because there wasn't much content in the story besides Harper and Drina sharing their past to each other you don't have enough information to even make an assumption.

posted by kopsahl on June 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 191 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It has a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a terrific entry in the Argeneau saga

    In spite of her objection against babysitting the new teen vampire Stephanie, Marguerite assigns protection of the tyro to rogue hunter Drina Argenis. Knowing her leader never does anything without a secret agenda, Drina wonders why her when she only does field cleansing.

    Marguerite believes her niece Drina and Harper Stoyan are life mates, but knows the latter will be in denial as his life mate Jenny died under eighteen months ago when he tried to turn her. Drina has no problem with Harper being hers, but knows he cannot accept the concept of two life mates so shortly apart. However, the pair better focus on living because someone wants Stephanie dead and killing two other vampires is acceptable to this unknown renegade.

    This is a terrific entry in the Argeneau saga (see Born to Bite) as Lynsay Sands deftly adds humor starting with Drina's descriptions of Tall, dark and doorstop, and includes self deprecating commentary mostly by Harper to a taut suspense thriller. The fast-paced story line hooks the audience from the moment the heroine lands in cold Canada for the first time and never slows down as Ms. Sands provides a fabulous tale that hooks us grateful throughout.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    &#12820

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Hey i know a vampire spell

    If u want to know it let me know and say to:gothic vampire girl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    To haley

    Hello

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Before purchasing the first book in the series, I had read many reviews. Several had stated that they did not like the way the books were written. I very much enjoyed every book in the Argeneau Vampire Series. There was just the right amount of funny parts and hot and steamy parts. After the first book I could not waite to start the next one and then the next one and the next one. My husband made fun of me because he could tell what was going on in the books by my face and me laughing out loud. I hope that there will be more books in the series. Looking forward to seeing who the next life mates are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Kala

    Walks in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    highly recommend

    This is an awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Connie to tori

    (Go to next result since youre locked out.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Loved it

    Stephi is adoreable bad ass..andthe smelly cat is too funny...funny and fun..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Love this series of book

    This is one of the best series of book i have ever read. These books have everything from adventure to humor and even mystery. Best of all they are love storys. I wouldnt recomend this book if you like reading yourself to sleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Happy for Harper!

    This is #14 in the Argeneau series. Harper thought he had found his lifemate in Port Henry a year and a half ago... but he lost her during the turn... more is revealed in the story! But Margerite is up to her matchmaking all sparks fly! This book is one of my favorites in the series. Stephanie shows the older immortals some surprising traits and then there's even a bigger mystery afoot! Enjoy this one, it's great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I have read the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    Loved it!!

    Im a big fan of the Argeneau series, and this addition did not disappoint! One of my favorites of hers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Cant get enough

    Just love this series. I so cant wait for the next one to come out. Can read this in less than 24 hours. She know how to keep the reader into the book and keep it going. Love the romance, comedy and everything

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Delightful Read.

    The Reluctant Vampire by Lynsay Sands is another witty and clever story about the Argeneau family.

    Drina Argenis is a very skilled and talented rogue hunter. Her latest assignment is to protect a newly turned teenage vampire, Stephanie McGill. As an added incentive her Aunt Marguerite knows Drina live mate will be there as well. Harper Stoyan will be sharing the protective detail with Drina. But Drina has her life mate work cut out for her, Harper has already lost one life mate and is in no hurry to ever have another.

    Harper Stoyan lost his beloved Jenny when he tried to turn her. He has resigned himself to be alone forever. He is shocked to find himself drawn to their newest rogue hunter. Drina is unlike any woman he has ever met. He fights his attraction to Drina but their teenage vamp is playing matchmaker and he doesn't stand a chance.

    Harper and Drina passion explodes every time they are near each other. Its hard to keep their focus on protecting Stephanie when they feel so strongly about each other. But there is danger lurking close to them that may destroy their chance of surviving.

    The Reluctant Vampire is a delight from page one. Its funny, sexy and a joy to read. I love revisiting with old friends every time I pick up an Argeneau Novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    Love this series!!!

    This is a very hot and heavy story with a few twists. I love this entire series and how each story has characters from the others in the series. Can not wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    Love the Argeneau Vampires!!!

    you have to read all all of them!! love them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great!

    I really really enjoyed this book and all of the others. I like the twist Lynsay Sands puts on "Vampires" which is not your typical view of vampires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must read

    I have read all these books starting and the begining they are really good. Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 191 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10