Customer Reviews for

Remarkable Creatures

Average Rating 3.5
( 185 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Remarkable Find

Mary Anning has been a unique girl ever since she survived being struck by lightning as a baby. She has a special knack for finding rare fossils of unknown creatures on the beaches near her home. Elizabeth Philpot is a young spinster when she meets Mary, instantly takin...
Mary Anning has been a unique girl ever since she survived being struck by lightning as a baby. She has a special knack for finding rare fossils of unknown creatures on the beaches near her home. Elizabeth Philpot is a young spinster when she meets Mary, instantly taking an interest in fossils herself. From this moment, we watch the friendship grow between these two different women as they navigate family, love, society, and the male dominated world of Fossils.

Chevalier has a uncommon ability to make people from a very specific time and place come alive once more. I had to pause a few times to remind myself that these characters lived long ago, as they felt so real and tangible to me. She has a writing style full of prose so beautiful and soft, it will make the vision at the edges of your sight blur until the only thing in focus is the page in front of you.

Unusual side effect: reading this book made me want to go scour the beaches for my own fossil finds!

posted by ChelseaW on December 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Yawnfest

It is a shame to see such a beautifully written novel fall short to entertain. There was no plot, no height to the story, and no entertainment factor. It was extremely boring. I did finish it, however, by the time I reached the end I wish I wouldn't have. I was upset th...
It is a shame to see such a beautifully written novel fall short to entertain. There was no plot, no height to the story, and no entertainment factor. It was extremely boring. I did finish it, however, by the time I reached the end I wish I wouldn't have. I was upset that I devoted so much time to read it. There were several times the story would reach the point of wondering what's going to happen next and than nothing did. For instance, when bones of a woman were discovered on the the shore, there was no great mystery behind it. It is basically a story about the relationship of two woman who have fossil hunting in common. It is one long boring story about their lives intertwined. It was well written, but that is all I can say good about it.

posted by DodieND on January 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted December 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Remarkable Find

    Mary Anning has been a unique girl ever since she survived being struck by lightning as a baby. She has a special knack for finding rare fossils of unknown creatures on the beaches near her home. Elizabeth Philpot is a young spinster when she meets Mary, instantly taking an interest in fossils herself. From this moment, we watch the friendship grow between these two different women as they navigate family, love, society, and the male dominated world of Fossils.

    Chevalier has a uncommon ability to make people from a very specific time and place come alive once more. I had to pause a few times to remind myself that these characters lived long ago, as they felt so real and tangible to me. She has a writing style full of prose so beautiful and soft, it will make the vision at the edges of your sight blur until the only thing in focus is the page in front of you.

    Unusual side effect: reading this book made me want to go scour the beaches for my own fossil finds!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Yawnfest

    It is a shame to see such a beautifully written novel fall short to entertain. There was no plot, no height to the story, and no entertainment factor. It was extremely boring. I did finish it, however, by the time I reached the end I wish I wouldn't have. I was upset that I devoted so much time to read it. There were several times the story would reach the point of wondering what's going to happen next and than nothing did. For instance, when bones of a woman were discovered on the the shore, there was no great mystery behind it. It is basically a story about the relationship of two woman who have fossil hunting in common. It is one long boring story about their lives intertwined. It was well written, but that is all I can say good about it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Newest Tracy Chevalier

    My mother and I have read all of Tracy Chevalier's books and the last few we have been rather disappointed, but this one makes up for it! It's quite gripping and compelling, on par with Girl with a Pearl Earring and The Lady and the Unicorn.
    Absolutely wonderful! Such a good book to just sit down and read the whole thing!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    Why is the ebook more $$ than the paper copy?

    Why is the ebook more $$ than the paper copy?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Less saucy than The Girl with a Pearl Earring

    If you are a Jane Austen fan, this book would make a great companion piece. Where those books are lovely in their wit and tidy endings, Chevalier shines in portraying a different type of woman living in that same time, whose stories do not always go the way we wish for them. I was thrown off by the lightning element at the start of the book, thinking that this story would veer off into magical realism (it didn't). This isn't the type of book that will keep you up at night for 'just one more chapter' but if you are a fan of historical fiction you'll be happy with the details on location, time, gender, and class.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Remarkable Creatures a book by Tracy Chevalier

    Tracy Chevalier once again managed a little miracle by bringing back to life Mary Anning and Ms. Elizabeth Philpot who have long been dust themselves back on the beaches of Lyme's coastal cliffs. She once again made people from a very specific time and place come alive once more. I felt I was right there, walking along the beach of Lyme Regis with them in search of fossils, ammonites and crocs! Her writing style of prose so beautiful and soft, just flows gently and slowly sips in you until all you can think of, even when you put the book down, is fossil hunting on the beaches of Lyme. Remarkable Creatures is indeed about these two remarkable ladies, who little did they know at the time, contributed with their simple lives, their curiosity, perseverance, endurance and inner strength to how the scientific world begun "considering" the idea of extinction, regardless of how shocking this idea was in the early 19th century...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    an entertaining historical fiction novel

    Born in 1799 in Lyme Regis, England, her father gave his daughter quite an education to search for the "curies" of life that can be found by the beach so they can sell their catch to wealthy tourists. This was Mary Anning's training at paleontology fossil hunting. She became one of the best and hr research led to her belief that the age of the earth was much older than that of the Old Testament as proof of an age with gigantic creatures before humanity (and Darwin) existed.

    Elizabeth Philpot and her family come to coastal England for their brother's marriage. She meets Mary and enjoys the fossil hunter's tales. They become friends and partners searching for the bones of pre mankind. When Mary discovers fully intact dinosaur remains, Elizabeth speaks for both of them in front of the science community that detests females in their business and several try to rip off the find as theirs. However their BFF is tested when Colonel Thomas Birch arrives in Lyme Regis to ask Mary to help him on his fossil hunt.

    Based on real people who made incredible contributions to paleontology before Darwin, Remarkable Creatures is an entertaining historical fiction that showcases the strength of conviction a woman had to have to do anything outside the accepted limited roles. We come more than just a long way, try light years, from the Regency-Victorian eras. Fans will enjoy Tracy Chevalier's spotlight on two women who made a difference as their work is still on display in Oxford.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    fantastic read!

    Tracy Chevalier does an outstanding job of showing you raw, realistic history while compelling you to turn the page. An unlikely friendship in an age where women do not have equality, this is a superb example of the rise of great women. I love every book of Ms. Chevalier's because they are all different in genre and are never repititious. Can't wait for the next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    eBook more than paperback

    Come on, B&N - your pricing on Nook books should be lower than the paperback copies.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Good read

    I thought this was one of Chevalier's better ones. An enjoyable read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Another Solidly good story by Tracy Chevalier...

    Loved it. Chevalier's characters are ALWAYS interesting and alive. I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    Chevalier's Best

    I am a huge Chevalier fan, and this book is her best yet. She has such a talent for picking topics that would seem mundane, yet she makes them fascinating and intricate with feminist themes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another beautiful novel from Tracy Chevalier

    As with all of Tracy Chevalier's novels, you are transported into a another time and place and learn a little of history as you go. I actually liked this novel better than her last. This was my first e-book purchase and it was really easy and a bargain. I used my iPhone B&N app to quickly find Tracy's latest novel, clicked a few buttons and I was reading her new book without leaving home. I highly recommend both the book and the format.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Recognizing women's contribution to science.

    I suppose the book was written the only way possible. It turns out to be suitable for young readers as well as their elders. Personally, I would have enjoyed a side story delving into the philosophical struggles of early paleontology reconciling biblical history with natural history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Forest

    Here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Loved it!

    Fantastic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Remarkable Creatures, remarkably well written

    Chevalier develops her characters thoroughly, reflecting the class distinctions of the times with two women's enduring friendship and devotion despite such barriers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Nancy

    Do not waste your time. It helps that this is a real woman, but this is one boring book. I finished it for my book club only. A giant waste of time!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Excellent

    I think this was a wonderfull womans friendship story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Saphira

    LOOKS:silver fur and striking emerald eyes slim and swift PERSONALITY:undefined wild free loyal trusting brave MATE:None GENDER:Female DEN: 6th result FAMILY:None

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10