Customer Reviews for

Remember Why You Play: Faith, Football, and a Season to Believe

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    This is a compassionate piece of writing that describes one Texa

    This is a compassionate piece of writing that describes one Texas high school football team's successes and disappointments throughout a 2008 season that entails much more than just The Faith Christian Lion's pursuit of a state championship. The head coach, Kris Hogan, teaches his players about love, teamwork, faith, and not just faith in God, but also faith in each other. They learn to trust each other and form a tight knit family. One of the team’s mottos was "sell out". This demanded the players to sell out and commit to each other and their coach. I really thought that this was an interesting aspect of the team's chemistry. The coach created an atmosphere for the players to be successful and that’s exactly why they were. Another important detail that struck my attention was how Coach Hogan held his players to such high standards despite the situation. In the Lion's season opener game, their star defensive back made a big play and immediately got in the opposing player's face and gloated. Hogan caught wind of this and made the player sit the bench the rest of the game to teach the player that no matter what; he always needed to conduct himself in a classy and respectful manner. This really defined what Hogan stood for, as far as behavioral standards. Every athlete that has a relationship with God, and every athlete in general should read this book. It's a story that speaks volumes to what a high school football coach can teach his player's about life and living graciously. The book keeps readers coming back because of its emotional appeal. It grips you and won't let go until you feel like you are apart of the team. The book does lack action despite all of its positives, and sometimes the story leads away from the main points. I loved the style and the familiarity of the writing, and how I could really put myself into the situations. I would give this book a 5 out of 5 stars, because of it’s inviting themes and personal messages that lots of other books lack. Reviewed by:  (Kevin Meadows) 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    A Must-Have for all Athletes

    The author, David Thomas, did a stellar job of describing the story of the love, persistence, compassion, and determination of one Texas football team. Throughout the football season, the Faith Christian Lions won all of their regular season games and were a favorite in the State tournament; however, it was not their athletic success that got them publicity. The actions of the Faith Christian football team in their sportsmanship and drive during their season and, most importantly, during the game against Gainsville State are what made them stars. As a reader, I felt as if I was actually a part of the team, and at times I could not put the book down. Through the leadership of Coach Hogan and the coaching staff, the Faith Christian Lions have inspired many, and their story is one that is likely to touch each reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Faith+and+Football

    One+of+the+best+books+I+have+ever+read+detailing+how+a+great+coach+uses+his+faith+in+God+to+teach+life+lessons+through+football.+Fantastic+read.+I+recommend+it+to+all+my+players%2C+coaches+and+friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    8 out of 10 stars

    Blurb: In November 2008, the Faith Christian Lions closed their regular season by playing the Gainesville State Tornadoes. Faith had already secured its slot in the playoffs. The Tornadoes were winless in eight games and had scored only two touchdowns all season.
    The game should have meant nothing. It turned out to mean everything.

    What Stephanie Thought: Remember Why You Play is one of the few books I've read that really make me stop and think about my life and count my blessings. David Thomas's page-turning prose has the ability to both make me cry, but also keep me at the edge of my seat. As a lover of football, I really sympathized with all of the players in this unbelievable memoir.

    Stephanie Loves: "He cried on the field as he waited for the cart that would take him to an ambulance. That night he lay in his hospital bed, asking God, 'Why me? Why would You do that to me?' He later recalled, 'I was distraught because I felt like everything had worked out and God had just slammed me back to reality. I guess I had been getting too big of a head. God tends to do that.'"

    Where Stephanie Got It: Tyndale Media Center for review.

    Radical Rating: 8 hearts- Would recommend to lots of really good friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Disappointing!

    Based on the back of the book (which had me tearing up within minutes of getting the book out of the mailbox!), I expected this book to be about an amazing high school football team with an amazing coach who was ultimately trying to teach kids life lessons and biblical truths that were more important than just playing sports. The back of the book describes an incredible game against a team of boys from a youth detention center. With no one to cheer them on, the coach asked parents of his players to "switch sides" for the night and cheer by name for the other team's players. The author, however, spends the majority of the book talking about the games leading up to a much-deserved championship game. It's obvious that the coach understands that there are greater things in life than football and uses his opportunity to influence his players to develop godly character. While I enjoy watching sports, the writing is a bit technical for my taste - talking about all the ins and outs of different plays and practice techniques. As much as I wanted to like this book, it fell a little flat for me. It was just different than I expected and only gave one chapter at the end to the story described on the book jacket.

    I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my fair and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    More than just a book about football

    Now you know us Southerns LOVE football. it's sorta in our DNA.So any decent book about football is gonna be on our reading lists as well! I had heard about this story and was curious to read the book about the events leading up to the pivotal final game, where Faith Christian embraced the Gainesville State School (a maximum security juvenile correctional facility). When Faith Christian fans realized the Gainesville students had no fans, half switched sides and rooted for Gainesville.What lead up to this is where the coaching and parental instruction showed through.


    This book is more than just a book about football- it's a book about heart, and how a Christian act can have far reaching effects, much like a trail of toppled dominos. The book is a quick read and I recommend it for ALL team players in your household or among your family, as it teaches what it truly means to be a team (be it a football team, or god's team). It is a great book for family discussions as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Great Book! Recommend for Football fans!

    I just recently finished a book entitled: Remember Why You Play by David Thomas.

    This book is about a High School football team called the Faith Christian Lions. It begins with their 2007 season & how they make the goal to win the State title & come so very close to doing so, but all the while maintaining their christian based beliefs & showing it wherever they went. David then decides to follow the team throughout their 2008 season. Again the boys, make the goal to get the state title. They again come very close, but no cigar. But instead of the state title game being the most talked about game of the season, it was a game against the Gainesville State Tornadoes, a Maximum Security Correctional High School. The boys from Gainesville didn't have a following, they hadn't won a game all season, & they had very low confidence. Coach Hogan got parents & students from Faith Christian High School to not only make a spirit tunnel for the tornadoes, but also sit on their side of the field and cheer them on. You had parents cheering boys to tackle their own sons! It was a great way to show that there were people who cared about them. Also a great way to show the true christian compassion for others.

    I loved this book being a football fan myself. I loved how all through the season , The coaches wanted the boys to focus on getting the state title, but Coach Kris Hogan also never let the boys forget their true christian roots & beliefs. I love how he instilled those beliefs when he coached. The book was wonderfully written & very inspiring.

    I think this book would be a great gift for any football fan or a young football player who believes in true Christan compassion for others.

    *I got this book free from Tyndale for their blog network.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    Faith and Football at it's Best!

    I recently signed on to review books for Tyndale Publishing. They sent me a free copy of this book and after I finshed it, I agreed to post reivews about the book. The best thing is I am free to post my opinion about the books even if I don't like them. Well, so far it hasn't been a problem. Remember Why You Play is an excellent read. If you or someone you know enjoys football then I would recommend this book. Actually, even if you don't like football, you would still enjoy this story. The story is very moving and encouraging. It follows the Faith Christian football team through the 2007 season game by game. That was very interesting for me. It literally took you game by game of their undefeated season all the way to the championship game. At first it was difficult for me to follow the play by play. But then it became exciting. It was as if I was watching a fast paced game in person. Even though almost the entire book centers around that one season, it's the final chapter that is the main purpose of the book. The Faith Christian 2008 season ended with a game against Gainsville State School which is a maximum security correctional facility. The students at that facility didn't have anyone on their side. Faith Christian changed that. The people of Faith Christian embraced the Gainsville team in a way that is rarely seen today. And because of what they did, it has had an effect not only on the students of Gainsfill State, but across the world. This book really shows how simple acts of love and kindness can be life changing. It also shows that anything can be used to show people God, even something like football.
    Definately get this for any man in your life who is a football fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    Great book

    Remember WHY You Play By: David Thomas
    "The game should have meant nothing. It turned out to mean everything."
    "'Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.' " Matthew 25:40 (NIV)
    After reading Remember WHY You Play By: David Thomas, I'm not sure I will ever view sports in the same way. Not being a sports fan, I started this book with a bit of trepidation, however, even for a non-sports fan it was a very interesting book. The coach, especially, strove to impart more than good football skills. His goal was to impart lessons of faith. Seeing the development of the team, as they learned and grew both physically and spiritually was uplifting. The lessons learned were life lessons that will carry them far and beyond the football field. The lessons also spilled out into the whole school's student body as well as the student's families and ultimately into the whole community and beyond.
    If you are wondering what doing something seeming small really accomplishes, read this book. It will open your eyes, hearts and minds to look beyond the simple and on to what that simple act accomplishes in the long run.

    This book was provided by Tyndale House Publishing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1