Customer Reviews for

Remembering Christmas: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Remembering Christmas!

Just in time for the holiday season, author Dan Walsh brings readers a heart-warming tale of family and forgiveness. Remembering Christmas is a book readers won't soon forget! With its compelling characters, humor and even a touch of romance this story will remind us of...
Just in time for the holiday season, author Dan Walsh brings readers a heart-warming tale of family and forgiveness. Remembering Christmas is a book readers won't soon forget! With its compelling characters, humor and even a touch of romance this story will remind us of the true spirit of Christmas, while taking us on a walk down memory lane. Christmas has become hectic. We travel from one place to another, always on the go, never taking time to savor the moments. It's all about who gets the biggest or most expensive gift. Who has best Christmas light display and who can cook the most extravagant meal. Dan Walsh reminds readers that there are often more important things afoot at this time of year than who can buy the most toys. In his latest book, Remembering Christmas, Walsh draws readers into Rick Denton's life. Rick is his own man. He does what he wants and he doesn't answer to anyone. Since his father abandoned him at age 12, and his mother moved on with life with another man, Rick has been on his own and he's happy with his life, so he thinks. Unexpectedly, his mother calls with the news that his stepfather has fallen ill and she needs him at home. Walsh portrays Rick as a man who has distanced himself from his family, because he was hurt and felt unloved and abandoned and he has made a life for himself which doesn't require him to get to close to anyone who could hurt him ever again. He is a complex character with a lot of layers and Walsh is able to bring him to life for the reader. He starts out hard and cold, but as Christmas draws closer he begins to melt a little. The walls around is heart start to soften, and I think readers will love his transformation. Walsh does a fantastic job of giving readers a character to root for. I sometimes have a hard time believing that men can write a good romance. There are however, a few exceptions to that rule, most notably Nicholas Sparks and in my opinion Dan Walsh. Walsh generally writes Christian fiction and does that very well. He isn't pushy and his message is subtle and not overwhelming. He does the same in this book, but he adds another dimension when he brings Rick and Andrea together, working side by side in his families book store, the Book Nook. Walsh is able to show this reawakening that Rick is having from the male perspective and I thought it was very interesting to see his take on how Rick was feeling as his relationship with Andrea becomes deeper and in a sense more complicated. I liked Walsh's easy, slow build up and found that this book had some twists and turns that even I didn't expect! Though this book is set during the holiday season, the story and the message are timeless. This is a book I would recommend to all of my readers not just the Christian fiction fans. Rick's journey back to love and hope is enchanting and heart warming. His relationships with all the characters including the homeless man who hangs out near the store is deep and full of meaning. A great holiday read or just one to remind us how important family truly is!

posted by Justpeachy1 on November 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good for the soul-Easy,relaxing read with a message.

I enjoyed reading Dan Walsh's fourth book as much as the other three. I thought it would be a predictable story but loved the suprise twist I didn't see coming!

posted by BJZ on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Remembering Christmas!

    Just in time for the holiday season, author Dan Walsh brings readers a heart-warming tale of family and forgiveness. Remembering Christmas is a book readers won't soon forget! With its compelling characters, humor and even a touch of romance this story will remind us of the true spirit of Christmas, while taking us on a walk down memory lane. Christmas has become hectic. We travel from one place to another, always on the go, never taking time to savor the moments. It's all about who gets the biggest or most expensive gift. Who has best Christmas light display and who can cook the most extravagant meal. Dan Walsh reminds readers that there are often more important things afoot at this time of year than who can buy the most toys. In his latest book, Remembering Christmas, Walsh draws readers into Rick Denton's life. Rick is his own man. He does what he wants and he doesn't answer to anyone. Since his father abandoned him at age 12, and his mother moved on with life with another man, Rick has been on his own and he's happy with his life, so he thinks. Unexpectedly, his mother calls with the news that his stepfather has fallen ill and she needs him at home. Walsh portrays Rick as a man who has distanced himself from his family, because he was hurt and felt unloved and abandoned and he has made a life for himself which doesn't require him to get to close to anyone who could hurt him ever again. He is a complex character with a lot of layers and Walsh is able to bring him to life for the reader. He starts out hard and cold, but as Christmas draws closer he begins to melt a little. The walls around is heart start to soften, and I think readers will love his transformation. Walsh does a fantastic job of giving readers a character to root for. I sometimes have a hard time believing that men can write a good romance. There are however, a few exceptions to that rule, most notably Nicholas Sparks and in my opinion Dan Walsh. Walsh generally writes Christian fiction and does that very well. He isn't pushy and his message is subtle and not overwhelming. He does the same in this book, but he adds another dimension when he brings Rick and Andrea together, working side by side in his families book store, the Book Nook. Walsh is able to show this reawakening that Rick is having from the male perspective and I thought it was very interesting to see his take on how Rick was feeling as his relationship with Andrea becomes deeper and in a sense more complicated. I liked Walsh's easy, slow build up and found that this book had some twists and turns that even I didn't expect! Though this book is set during the holiday season, the story and the message are timeless. This is a book I would recommend to all of my readers not just the Christian fiction fans. Rick's journey back to love and hope is enchanting and heart warming. His relationships with all the characters including the homeless man who hangs out near the store is deep and full of meaning. A great holiday read or just one to remind us how important family truly is!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    Just the book to get you in the mood for Christmas!

    Remembering Christmas is one of those books that though, simple in it's telling, packs a powerful punch emotionally. Dan Walsh proves yet again that he is a master storyteller, with his latest release of forgiveness and family.




    What I love about Mr. Walsh's books is how deep all of his characters are, and there is always more than what first meets the eye. Every character is complex and miles deep, each with their own struggle, and yet Mr. Walsh weaves all the ends in beautifully (yet not painlessly) in such a way that though you might not have seen it coming you couldn't imagine it any other way.




    The story is well told, and the pages turn rapidly, though at times it's an inner battle between speeding through the book to find out what happens next, or slowing down and savoring every word.




    This was a book that I thoroughly enjoyed from cover to cover, and that doesn't happen often. With Christmas fast approaching this is the perfect book to get you in the mood, or to give as a gift. You could even give it to yourself!




    Overall, I would highly recommend this book to just about anyone, whether it's Christmastime or not, Remembering Christmas is a satisfying read, that will tug at your heartstrings :)




    Final Rating: 5 out of 5




    ISBN: 978-0-8007-1979-1

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Good for the soul-Easy,relaxing read with a message.

    I enjoyed reading Dan Walsh's fourth book as much as the other three. I thought it would be a predictable story but loved the suprise twist I didn't see coming!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    I truly enjoyed reading Walsh's story.   Dan Walsh is a Christia

    I truly enjoyed reading Walsh's story.   Dan Walsh is a Christian writer and writes about faith and miracles of a heart changing nature.   His are stories of fractured families in need of healing; poignant and timely for the world we live in.   His writing flows fluently and his characters are well developed and believable, somewhat flawed, but redeemable.   Within the story there is a bit of mystery, a bit of softness as a little girl shares her Christmas wishes, miraculous healing and subtle healing and a Christmas Memory is born.    I recommend this as one of the most charming stories I have read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2013

    Rick Denton is living the life of his dreams.  He has a great jo

    Rick Denton is living the life of his dreams.  He has a great job, a nice condo, and no one to get in the way of his vacation times on the ski slopes and the beaches.  Then one day he gets a call from his mom.  His strep-dad is in serious condition in the hospital.  Could he please come visit and help run their little Christian book store for a few days.  Much against his desires, he agrees.




    When he gets to the little town in Florida where he grew up, he begrudgingly takes care of the Book Nook, where he meets a beautiful single mother , and a very strange homeless man.  Everyone who shops in the store is just too smiley and friendly for Rick.  He just wants to keep the business going till he can go back to his own job. And the homeless man  makes him furious.  Then time and some interesting new knowledge makes changes in Rick. For good or for bad?  




    This is a charming and thought provoking Christmas book, speaking to the meaning of Christmas and important people in our lives.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Easy read

    This book is a real easy read and totally predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    This was an excellent book to read. It held my attention from be

    This was an excellent book to read. It held my attention from beginning to end.  It contains some romance (not garbage),yet  it showed
     real life situations of the characters involved. Dan's story  include a child's vivid imagination as well as the imagination of a mentally
    challenged man, elderly women's excitement of giving and sharing, the doctors and their work, the concerns of a loving wife and
    husband, and a Priest who did not look for recognition, but found ways to serve in the community.The self-centered so who had held on to his growing past  had  a heart changing experience because of a young woman and her
    daughter who showed love to others in spite of the not so good situation. Book was well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Great Book

    I absolutely loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    WALSH HAS BECOME ONE OF MY FAVORITE AUTHORS!!!!

    Another wonderful, heartwarming story!!!!!! This is a great Christmas story and so welcome this time of year!!! I truly encourage you to read all of his books!!! You won't be disappointed!!!

    MCELWOLF:o)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Anonyous

    I really enjoyed reading this Christmas book. It was a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Must read

    This book had me laughing and crying before the end. It was a refreshing book about a guy that had lost his way. It is amazing what others belief in you will do to your spirit and get you to belief in you self. And he found his path again around christmas time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Wonderful!

    I truly enjoyed this book! Perfect story for the Christmas holiday season.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Good book

    Good Christmas story..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Recommended

    This is my second Dan Walsh book. I will continue to read his books. This definitely makes you think aboit how you should treat those less fortunate and make you thankful for what you have been blessed with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Regrets turn to Healing and Reconciliation in this Inspiring Holiday Tale

    We all have regrets from our past but what we do with them determines our paths going forward. Rick finds this out the hard way in Walsh's holiday offering. However the holidays also find Rick accepting the past for what is and seeing the present more clearly so that he can move forward into a future of healing and reconciliation as well. You'll have to read the book to find out how he finds his way back. Along the way you'll meet Walsh's engaging characters and find yourself drawn into a story you'll be reticent to lay down before reaching the last page. Once you find yourself at that last page you'll be protesting that this story ends much too soon. I'm hoping there will soon be a chance to revisit Seabreeze via Walsh's books. Thanks to Revell for a review copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I like the way this guy writes!!

    Set in the 1980¿s this story is a little step back in time, before everyone was lost texting on their cell phones and becoming addicting to social media. People actually had to talk face to face, share stories with each other, communicate on a personal level. It is a wonderful story of a family coming together at a time of need and realizing they need to be involved in each others lives more than on holidays and a few telephone calls a year.

    The story has a wonderful message without being preachy. It is heartwarming and enlightening. A little twist brought a tear to my eye. I think it would make a great Hallmark holiday movie. This is my first experience with this author but it won¿t be my last. I love the way this guy writes!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Heart warming

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Recommend

    Loved this story. didn't want it to end. I want more from this author. Was a good christian read and not sappy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Fantastic

    Dan is a wonderful storyteller. This book restores faith and hope in mankind and brings hope to this reader. This was a fantastic story so glad that I found this . Have your tissues handy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3