Customer Reviews for

Remembering Whitney: My Story of Love, Loss, and the Night the Music Stopped

Average Rating 4
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Thank you Cissy for sharing YOUR personal memories ( the good ti

Thank you Cissy for sharing YOUR personal memories ( the good times, the bad, and the ugly). Your book has made me have an even greater respect for you and your daughter. God Bless

posted by BscBlaque on January 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

I truly loved the book . Its so sad to see such a beautiful girl pass away my thoughts are with you R.I.P but i loved the book it was the best book i have ever read i could read this over and over . But heres something i wanna say - whitney you had the voice off an ...
I truly loved the book . Its so sad to see such a beautiful girl pass away my thoughts are with you R.I.P but i loved the book it was the best book i have ever read i could read this over and over . But heres something i wanna say - whitney you had the voice off an angel & still do

posted by Anonymous on December 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Gh

    Is this a biography

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    This was one of the most depressing books i have ever read.. cis

    This was one of the most depressing books i have ever read.. cissy spoke too much about herself. she also left out a lot of information that the public was aware of.. i do understand that parents don't always know what or how their children are doing but she was in complete denial until she went to Atlanta and saw the eyes on the wall.. She was a mother that lead with an iron hand and that is perfectly fine but it seemed as if none of children were happy under her roof and when left to find their own piece of happiness, they found it in drugs!.. apparenlty whitney was on drugs before she met bobby but seems as if cissy wants to blame him even though she mentioned whitney was grown and made her own decisions.. entering into the entertainment industry at such a young age apparently is rough on any child but whitney never belonged to whitney. she seemed to never have a moment or place to call her own.. i do admire cissy for writing about such a privat subject and it may have been theraputic for her but to me it was just depressing..

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Although the book does explain Cissy's views of her daughter, it

    Although the book does explain Cissy's views of her daughter, it leaves so much unsaid and explained. I think most telling is Cissy's distance to the drug use of her children. Let's be honest a mother who sees all three of her children become addicts should have shown more concern. It is obvious that Cissy was a distant mother to her children. I can only imagine the depth of Mrs. Houston's pain at the loss of her child and only daughter, but her revelations seem self-centered and for some reason masked. It seems that once fame and fortune hit, Cissy was at a loss for words regarding her daughter's obvious pain and excalating drug use, but the only thing Cissy can admit to is she "did not understand." She didn't not know. She did not want to say anything negative in fear of pushing Whitney further away. My question is why say anything now? This book coupled with the Oprah interview leaves more questions than answers but it brings to light the sad frustration of so called Christian living. It is okay to come between a man and his wife and child, shack up with that man and have two children BEFORE marriage as Cissy did with John Houston. On the other hand the thought that her daughter may have been gay or bisexual is unacceptable. Cissy was in an industry known for drug use and the loss of great performers to addiction, but Cissy claims to be in the dark about drugs. How? Cissy lost a niece DeeDee Warwick to herion addiction. This book comes off as an attempt to excuse and explain a mother's distance from her own children as well as an attempt to turn the tide of the negative impact of Whitney's death and last 20-years of her life on the icon's legacy. To sum up the book; Cissy Houston knew nothing about her daughter's pain, longings, hurts, depth of addictions, marriage, friends, rumored lesbian lover (other than she didn't like her for some strange reason), where "Nippy" was in the house at any given time. What Cissy does claim to know is that she taught Whitney Houston everything. Except of course, how to leave bad relationships, be true to herself, and survive drug-free.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    I was surprised how much hof the book was about Cissy and not Wh

    I was surprised how much hof the book was about Cissy and not Whitney. She didn't really even know what was going on in Whitney's life until it was extremely evident Whitney had a drug problem. I also didn't like how Cissy listed all of her own music at the end of the book, it seemed like this was promotional for Cissy more than Whitney.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Whitney

    My heart truly goes out to Cissy Houston. Anyone who has a child never wants to imagine having to bury them. People who want the "story" of Whitney's life may be disappointed. Alot of the book is about Cissy, times she shared with her daughter and things she believed to be happening in Whitney's life. Many people can share their memories of Whitney but the only one who knows the whole story is sadly gone. May she rest in peace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1