Customer Reviews for

Remembering Whitney: My Story of Love, Loss, and the Night the Music Stopped

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Thank you Cissy for sharing YOUR personal memories ( the good ti

Thank you Cissy for sharing YOUR personal memories ( the good times, the bad, and the ugly). Your book has made me have an even greater respect for you and your daughter. God Bless

posted by BscBlaque on January 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

I truly loved the book . Its so sad to see such a beautiful girl pass away my thoughts are with you R.I.P but i loved the book it was the best book i have ever read i could read this over and over . But heres something i wanna say - whitney you had the voice off an ...
I truly loved the book . Its so sad to see such a beautiful girl pass away my thoughts are with you R.I.P but i loved the book it was the best book i have ever read i could read this over and over . But heres something i wanna say - whitney you had the voice off an angel & still do

posted by Anonymous on December 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Great read!! The book gives you a true idea of the family and their struggles!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Compelling

    You will find this a memoir, a love story, ahistory of the black music world.I am so honored to have read this book. Cissy tells it like it was for her, a mom, friend,teacher. She doesnt take no crap. What a genuine woman. Whitney god love you and Cissy. A MUST READ!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Lunar

    Sure

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Reminder to Eclipse

    HEY! YOURE A DUMB AS<3>S MOTHER FUC<3>KER WHO CAN'T DO SH<3>IT! GOOD LUCK KILLING ME YOU DUMB FU<3>CKING CU<3>NT! NO ONE LIKES YOUR MAN WHO<3>RE SELF!!!! ~Ice.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Swift

    *licks silencers cheek* thanks. *pads away*

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Fireshard

    Fireshard felt his breathing quicken with anticipation. "Okay, Eclipse," he mewed. "I can't wait!"

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    All true fans must check this out!!!!

    Great book, good job Ms. Cissy! You've shown us a side of your daughter we would otherwise have never known. I also, have been corrected on some misgivings about Bobby for which I am regretful. Thank you for a job well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Good book

    Such a unbelevable story awesome job cissy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    I loved this book. It made me laugh and I really appreciate Whi

    I loved this book. It made me laugh and I really appreciate Whitney's mom for being so upfront and candid about her life, Whitney's life, and everyone that come in contact with her. Thanks for sharing your voice with us Whitney, and Cissy, thanks for sharing your daughter with us. We will never forget her. This book alone has inspired me to read again. Thanks again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    I found myself sharing many hilarious instances in the book w




    I found myself sharing many hilarious instances in the book with my son and husband and they also laughed. The humorous moments does provide some buffer in a book which is so melancholy.
    I was left feeling that Bobby was given this precious gift in the form of Whitney but in fact he did not realise what he had nor the meaning and value of the gift. It was not surprising that he failed to look after her, protect her etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    2-9-2012

    I loved this book It was well written Cissy was honest I undersrood Whitney more after reading this book I also feel for Cissy because you do the best you can for your kids and the world can still get a hold of them I always loved Whitney from her first cd I was crying at the end when Cissy told about Whitney singing to her I was watching that live She said "YOU STAYED YOU NEVER LEFT" CISSY, Whitney loved you. Mother daughter relationships are hard. THANK YOU FOR SHARING HER AND WRITING THIS BOOK.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    This book was incredably personal and I appreciate you sharing y

    This book was incredably personal and I appreciate you sharing your story not only about your beautifully daughter but a look into your tallented life as well, there will never be another singer that will compare to Nippy's beautiful voice. I am so very sad that we can not look forward to any future songs from her... RIP whitney
    -Love from a forever fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    ):

    The death of Mrs. Houston is unbearable. Every time I listen to her sing it makes me cry, in fact the world has lost a big chunk of itself Whitney Houston has my respect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3