Customer Reviews for

Remembrance

Average Rating 4.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Amazing YA Romance

There were things I needed to while I was reading Remembrance-like eat breakfast-but I kept telling myself I would get things done after one more chapter. Lizzie and Drew have so much chemistry, even though it was sometimes hard to tell because Drew was so hot and cold....
There were things I needed to while I was reading Remembrance-like eat breakfast-but I kept telling myself I would get things done after one more chapter. Lizzie and Drew have so much chemistry, even though it was sometimes hard to tell because Drew was so hot and cold. Michelle Madow's engaging writing style really sucks you into Remembrance. The character development in this book is fabulous. I loved and hated things about every single character-sometimes they were sympathetic and sometimes they were so selfish or self-absorbed that I just wondered what was wrong with them.

The emotions and imagery just leap off the pages of Remembrance. During Lizzie's flashbacks I felt like I was being transported to the regency era. I could also feel Jeremy's rage pulsating out of the novel whenever he got angry. My favorite character is probably Keelie because she never did anything to hurt anyone else, and she was clearly just a nice person. Jeremy was definitely my least favorite character because he was so obnoxious-even when I felt bad for him I still didn't like him.

Overall, Remembrance is perfect for anyone who loves romance and appreciates life-like characters. I can't wait until the rest of Michelle Madow's works are published!

posted by TAshmawy on July 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Cute love story

I'll admit that romance and YA aren't really my forte, but this was a really cute story. Lizzie is your average high school girl. She does happen to be dating a star soccer player who is uber popular, and is of course gorgeous, but other than that is your average teen g...
I'll admit that romance and YA aren't really my forte, but this was a really cute story. Lizzie is your average high school girl. She does happen to be dating a star soccer player who is uber popular, and is of course gorgeous, but other than that is your average teen girl. She begins yet another mundane year of school, expecting the same old same old. Then, in walks Drew Carmichael. This scene almost reminded me of the scene in Twilight when Bella walks into class for the first time and Edward wants to eat her. In this case it is Lizzie sitting down and Drew who walks in. When she sees him, its as if she's known him forever, and yet she can't place him. She finds herself irresistibly drawn to Drew, even though she has a boyfriend and Drew starts dating her best friend. Then there's the fact that Drew is downright mean to her for most of the story.

The supernatural element of the past lives was cute and not overly done. It was almost believable. There were times in the book that I really wanted Lizzie to stand up for herself and stop worrying about what others thought. Then I remembered how much I cared about what others thought when I was her age. I really liked this book, and I gave it 3.5 stars. I think if I was more of a fan of YA and romance, it would have gotten a 4.5. So if YA and romance are your thing, you will love this story.

posted by munkyluver18 on December 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Highly recommended!

    Remembrance was kindly provided to me by the author Michelle Madow.

    **Contains possible spoilers**

    Lizzie Davenport is a junior in high school and has been in a long-term relationship with the newly appointed co-captain of the football team, Jeremy Williams. They have been together for a number of years but after summer break the differences between them are starting to become apparent.

    When Drew Carmichael moves to town, there is an instant connection between him and Lizzie but he continues to push her away and treat her badly he then begins to date her best friend Chelsea Givens all the while giving Lizzie mixed signals with sidelong glances and helping her with her French studies etc.

    Persistent Lizzie never gave up though and starts to question unusual memories of her and Drew from the Regency Era, England. There is a pull between them that she can't ignore and all she wants to know is why she feels she knows him from another time.

    When it is soon revealed they were a couple in a past life, now reincarnated I was fascinated by this storyline and was eager to know more about their previous life together, it is a wonderfully woven and complex love story that kept me turning the pages to find out more.

    The story flowed well, I enjoyed the tangled, complicated love story Ms Madow has created and felt for each of the characters and the predicament they were in.

    The scenes between Drew and Lizzie are wonderfully romantic; especially the dance they share when there is a flashback of their shared past, this is when I felt they were truly meant to be together despite all of the obstacles in their way.

    I enjoyed the main characters but felt the way in which Lizzie was treated by Jeremy and Chelsea was terrible, they walked over her and she seemed to let them; Drew initially wasn't any better but his reasoning made more sense - he was trying to push her away. I enjoyed the inclusion of Alistair from the mask store and how he subtly tried to give hints to Lizzie; I also liked the Pride and Prejudice references, I thought it was a nice touch.

    Remembrance is a beautiful love story with a unique and original spin on reincarnation and I really liked Ms Madow's writing style and enjoyable dialogue.

    The only small complaint I have was why Drew & Lizzie felt the need to immediately announce their relationship, I wish they had of allowed their respective break-ups to settle a while before being together taking into consideration who they were hurting; I was hoping there would be a friendship mend between Chelsea and Lizzie considering their history.

    All in all, I really enjoyed Remembrance and I look forward to reading more books written by this wonderful author.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Awesome!

    this book was really good but slow at the beginning. It was also kinda confusing but at the end it was really good! Cant wait to read the second!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I thought Remembrance sounded intriguing, but I didn't expect to

    I thought Remembrance sounded intriguing, but I didn't expect to love it as much as I did!
    I really liked Lizzie. She was cute and sweet. Not exactly my favorite heroine of all time, but still up there. She had some serious indecisiveness going on, and that kind of things grates on me personally. But happily, in the end I knew I really liked her. It was her relatability that made her stand out and be special.
    I really like the name Andrew, so I was somewhat upset that he goes by Drew. This is, however, a totally minor thing. Drew is probably my favorite character from Remembrance. I love how he's so protective of Lizzie--it goes to show that he really does love and care about her. The mistakes he makes make him seem stronger and all the more real.
    Jeremy was a layered character. I completely wrote him off at first, but he surprised me. I didn't expect to find out some things about him that I did, and I most certainly didn't expect him to have such an important role in the story. I found myself pitying him but also admiring him in a strange way.
    Ah, Chelsea. I really didn't like Chelsea. I kind of hated her, if I'm honest. But I can't love every character ever, and I didn't love her. For most of the book I kind of wanted to slap her upside the head. She was annoying and far more selfish than any three people put together should be.
    I'm usually not a fan of reincarnation or soul mates, because it doesn't make a whole lot of sense to me. But for some reason, Michelle managed to make me accept the idea. Everything clicks into place flawlessly. The past lives meld with the present in a way that somehow manages to work. It is understandable--I didn't feel lost or confused more than I should have. Things that weren't stated outright were clear enough to see. In general, I liked the plot. It kept me interested. That's how good and intriguing the plot of this book was. I almost never felt bored, and when I was bored the action quickly picked back up.
    There were a few things I didn't like, like how Lizzie's single mother doesn't care where she is or what she does. There's too much of this in YA, and I don't like these mysteriously absent-or-don't-give-a-damn parents. It's just too unrealistic.
    Oh, the romance here was so sweet. Unfortunately, it was a little underdeveloped, but this didn't take away from its beauty at all. The moments between Drew and Lizzie are just so sweet. The love triangles worked in this story as well--there are times when they don't, but in this case they needed to be ere exactly as they were. There's an especially tender moment near the end of the book that I really loved, and Drew and Lizzie's first "date" is going to always be one of my favorite romantic moments in the books. I found it completely gorgeous and absolutely lovely--the chemistry between them was undeniable.
    Michelle has excellent writing! Lizzie's voice is contemporary and easy--it flows and sounds natural, not forced. She sounds like any normal high school girl would, but with her own distinct little something. Overall, Remembrance was well-written.
    The ending of Remembrance was so sweet! The ending was pleasant to read. It is redeemed in the last few lines, which are a bit sappy but so sweet I couldn't mind. I genuinely liked this ending, and it definitely left me wanting more.
    Remembrance has left me aching in a good way. Reading the next books will be no chore.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A story as good as its cover!

    The story within REMEMBRANCE by Michelle Madow is as striking as the novel's cover. Best of all, the e-book is going for a mere $2.99 (though also available in paperback). If you like books involving past lives, this one is for you, especially if you want one with a unique spin that isn't quite so predictable. I also like the fact that the characters are reincarnated from Regency times rather than feature soul mates re-awakening again and again and again. Been there, done that. But a one-time rebirth that refers back to the time period of PRIDE AND PREJUDICE? Yes, please. Madow was inspired to write REMEMBRANCE after hearing "Love Story" by Taylor Swift; after reading the novel, it's easy to see the song's influence on the story.

    The novel centers around Lizzie Davenport, a teenager who has been dating her longtime boyfriend for years. When a new student, Drew Carmichael, transfers to her school, her life begins to slowly unravel. She can't deny the weird connection and pulsing energy whenever Drew is around, but she has a boyfriend. Granted, she's begun to pull away from Jeremy ever since he became co-captain of the varsity soccer team. Then there's the fact that Drew has begun dating Chelsea, Lizzie's best friend. The two try to interact with each other as little as possible. Part of this is because Drew has memories of Lizzie and a time when something horrible happens. Lizzie doesn't realize she's been reincarnated from a past life until after she's known Drew for quite a while. I like the fact that there's nothing immortal about their relationship. No character is a supernatural being watching his/her loved one be reincarnated again and again, like the FALLEN series by Lauren Kate or MY NAME IS MEMORY by Ann Brashares. The way everything unfolded felt very natural.

    Madow's characterization worked well. Characters were flawed, never perfect. They made bad decisions. Readers will truly feel for Lizzie and Drew as they attempt to ignore the chemistry between them in this time period despite their circumstances. At times, I didn't care for the way Jeremy and Drew treated Lizzie, but can see why the author developed them the way she did. There was also one minor character that I would have liked to see a lot more of since he had such an interesting storyline himself. Madow creates her own mythology regarding reincarnation that I could see cropping up in other books by her.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enchanting!

    When I first read that Taylor Swift's 'Love Story' video was was inspired Michelle Madow to write 'Remembrance' I knew I had to pick it up. The whole concept of past lives and past loves sounded absolutely wonderful as well, and who can resist that cover?

    I'm so happy I decided to read 'Remembrance' because it was incredibly enjoyable. It's funny, because usually I hate books about fated lovers and the like because it totally goes against my views of free will and choice, but in this book it just didn't bother me as much. Maybe because despite the draw between Drew and Elizabeth both of them grew to learn that things can be changed.

    I love the semi-'Pride and Prejudice' vibe and connection to the story. It was there in some areas but it wasn't supposed to be a direct reinterpretation which I also appreciated. For some reason one element of the story that stood out for me (in a good way) in this book is that the kids actually attend school and talk about their classes, etc. Somehow this tends to be rare in any book that has a paranormal/fantasy aspect to it, so it was cool to read a book that bucks the trend.

    I thought perhaps the ending came together a bit too easily, but overall it was really satisfying. Normally anything within the realm of insta-love completely irritates me, but 'Remembrance' totally sold me on the connection between Lizzie and Drew. Maybe it was appealing because despite Drew being good looking Lizzie didn't go on and on about his looks. I could have used a bit more relationship development to make their relationship seem real instead of just a product of their past lives, but I was still rooting for them as a couple, which I think says something.

    I definitely enjoyed Michelle Madow's writing style and I'm positive that she has a bright future ahead of her as a YA author. I would absolutely read more of her books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Lizzie is your plain teenager. She loves to read, has a boyfrien

    Lizzie is your plain teenager. She loves to read, has a boyfriend who is moving into bigger social circles that she just doesn't fit into, a best friend Chelsea and thinks her life is kinda simple. That is until Drew comes to town and she feels an instant connection to him. The main problems are Chelsea sets her sights on him as well and Jeremy her boyfriend. While she tries to hide her attraction to Drew she begins to have flash backs to a previous life were Drew seems to play a big part of and he also seems to know all about her past life.

    First off this cover is simply beautiful! I love it and when you read the book you will see it fits it perfect. Now as for these characters some of them I liked and some not so much. Lizzie is a good character she tries to hide what she feels cause she knows it is wrong for so many reasons. Lets face it she is a booknerd. Hello Instant love a booknerd character. Jeremy her boyfriend is a controlling jerk in my opinion. He gets a big head when he gets into the cool crowd. Chelsea is a good friend but at times got on my nerves with her boy crazy things she does. She is the type of friend you love even if you want to smack some sense into her. Drew what can you say about Drew. He is charming, good looking and does try to stay away from Lizzie for her own good. There is many other characters that play a part in this book to many to mention but I will make a mention of Lizzie's mom. She got on my nerves. She has Lizzie's life all planned out not really caring what Lizzie wants.

    The plot of this book is good. Teenagers from todays time being reincarnated from a past time. The author did a good job with this aspect. You really get a feel for Lizzie as you read this book. Her thoughts and feelings are well shown through the great writing. I was surprised towards the end when more of their past lives were revealed. The only reason this is a 4 instead of a 5 is I wanted more into Lizzie and Drew's past, but I am hoping the next book has that. It did get a bit of a slow read at times but the ending more than made up for it. I would recommend this to anyone who loves a YA love story, Reincarnation story or just a great book to dive into. I don't give spoilers so I try to write my reviews in a way that doesn't give them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Yes! I have finally read the wonderfully talked about Remembranc

    Yes! I have finally read the wonderfully talked about Remembrance by the lovely Michelle Madow. I know, I know. It’s about time. I can’t believe I waited so long, but I am so glad that I finally read it.

    I immediately fell in love Lizzie. She was a character that I felt finally represented a real teen. Most YA romance novels center around a brunette, average looking, and very insecure. But here, we have a pretty blonde, not very popular, but not invisible either. And yes, she has her insecure moments, but underneath it all, I felt like she is a lot stronger than people give her credit for.

    My biggest problem with Lizzie was the fact that she stayed with Jeremy, her boyfriend of three years, for so long in this book. The very first interaction with him made me want to punch him in the face. He is cocky, arrogant, and way too demanding of Lizzie. I feel like there was a lot of emotional bullying going on.

    Chelsea, the best friend, I initially loved. Then towards the end, not so much. I won’t give it away, but their friendship is definitely tested and it’s pretty catastrophic. She is the beauty of the school. Every boy loves her, every girl wants to be her. Lizzie and Chelsea have such a great friendship and I was really sad to see it put under pressure.

    Drew. I still am not sure how I feel about him. I have seen in some reviews that he is likened to Edward from Twilight, but I found Drew to not be near as dramatic. Yes, Drew had his warm and cold days, but he was trying to let Lizzie figure out how she felt and figure out their past. He didn’t want a repeat and didn’t want to hurt her.

    My only issue when reading this book was trying to remind myself that this is not an insta-love book. There is a real reason why they are so connected from the moment they see each other. And you do have to read a bit of it to understand it.(Unless you’ve read other detailed reviews and the synopsis, then you can catch on quickly) So, as I began to accept this is not insta-love, I loved it so much more.

    I really and truly love this book and the concept. Michelle Madow did a brilliant job and I could tell she did a lot of research to make sure it came across as realistically as possible. The ending left me happy and sad at the same time. I am eager to read the novella in the Transcend Time saga, Vengeance.

    By the way, isn’t that cover stunning?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cute, just a little bit Corny

    ^i say what i mean

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    check it out!

    From "perfectly" inked!

    Remembrance is a love story that transcends time literally!

    The characters where realistic and fun. Lizzie is a sweetheart, with an amazing artistic ability. Drew's the big city boy who just moved into town, capturing everyone's attention. Even Lizzie, who has Jeremy. As problems arise, Lizzie starts to question her relationship, and some new found ability's. As Drew and Lizzie become close, she soon discovers a past unlike any other.

    I enjoyed the concept of reincarnation, its something you don't read about often. But as I read into the book, I became rather disappointed. Remembrance only lingered on the topic and didn't truly focus on the past life aspect of the story. Or clued you in much, it more focuses on the present time period. But, I did enjoy what was revealed to us through out the story.

    Remembrance still had its good points, it was a quick read and flowed evenly. Characters were realistic with believable problems. It had just the right amount of romance and drama to go around, with a straight forward style.

    All in all Remembrance had its good and bad points. I enjoyed the reincarnation aspect of the story, and the references to Pride and Prejudice. Michelle has a great writing style that flows evenly. I cant wait to see were the series goes.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Teen Love Story!

    I don't typically read current day love stories. OK. I never do. But I saw the cover. Can we all take a moment to look at this cover? *Stares lovingly* ENCHANTING! I had to get a copy. I emailed Michelle, got the copy, and started reading.

    I liked Lizzie immediately. I think it was because I related to her and her dwindling feelings for Jeremy. Most people have been there. You create this life where the other is a major part, but then you change or he changes, but you still care for them, just not in the same way, and you don't know how to say goodbye. I did feel bad for Jeremy multiple times in this book. I think he loved Lizzie and thought she would always be there and then he was blind sided - bc he didn't see the signs.

    Chelsea is a great friend and though I really am happy for Drew and Lizzie - I think she got the raw end of the deal on this one. She was a good friend of Lizzie's. She was crazy about Drew. Nobody is honest with her.

    All sad things aside. I love the boy that is cold one minute and then hot the next in books. It doesn't matter the genre. That is Drew. He sends Lizzie on a roller coaster alone without having "memories" of their old life together.

    To give a little of the premise - Lizzie and Drew both remember being in the early 1800's. They remember faces, names, places, outfits, actions - and these things slowly come out over the course of the book, leading up to a big reveal that explains a lot about Drew's behavior.

    I think the sweetest thing about this book is the pull that Lizzie shows, you as a character, towards Drew. She doesn't want to bc of Chelsea but it is undeniable. She must be near him and I think that is something that teenagers go through and as an adult, something I miss. This was a great read. It was a great change of pace for me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    A Quick Romance That'll Have You Eager to Read More

    I was incredibly curious to dive into Michelle Madow's debut title after discovering where her inspiration for "Remembrance" came from. Though exceptionally uncommon among muses, Michelle was actually inspired to write Remembrance after watching the music video to Taylor Swift's Love Story. With that mentioned, I was exceptionally curious to see where Michelle would take us and what interesting world and tale she'd created. Was I surprised? Definitely!

    A Quick Romance That'll Have You Eager to Read More

    Though I'm typically not a fan of tales about "soul mates" or "destined love that transcends time", Remembrance by Michelle Madow worked for me. It was a wonderful fit, the characters were low key, down to earth and real. With that and the destined love twist, I found it very enjoyable. The premise, itself, grabbed my attention. It mentioned protagonist Lizzie, an average high school junior with a past life that she wasn't even presently aware of, not to mention the incredible twists that would occur with new transfer student Drew's appearance, who she instantly feels a connection. To be honest, I was quite skeptical in seeing how Drew would fit in the puzzle that was Lizzie and her past life and romance, but I was pleased to see how easily it connected.

    Lizzie, though eager and passionate, was a little hard to enjoy. I found it a little difficult to grasp her uneasy decision making. Drew was something different altogether. I didn't really enjoy his "pushy" attitude but his romantic and sweet moments shone bright. With that said, Remembrance by Michelle Madow read like a teen drama with a twinge of mystery, to which wasn't quite made clear in regards to Lizzie and Drew's relationship until around the last chunk of the novel.

    Despite that, though, Remembrance by Michelle Madow was a wonderfully entertaining read, one that I'd recommend to young adult readers interested in diving into a quick romance that'll have them eager to read more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Amazing Romantic Read!

    I was lucky enough to be contacted by Michelle Madow to review her debut novel, Remembrance. I was so excited, as Remembrance had been on my TBR list for a while! Getting a copy for review was very lucky indeed (especially since I am nervous about contacting authors directly! Still a little newbie!). And let me tell you, I was sucked in immediately. The story was inspired by Taylor Swift's music video for "Love Story", and the beauty of the video is definitely represented within Remembrance. I think that the plot is the strongest part of the story. It is so intriguing to go on this journey with Lizzie as she finds out who she was and who she is. the juxtaposition of the modern world, and the flashbacks to Regency England is fantastic. While there have been changes in Lizzie and Drew's lives, the connection is still prevalent, strengthening the believability of this seemingly impossible feat. My favorite character, besides Lizzie (we share a name, AND a love of Jane Austen!), is Drew. I am Team Drew all the way, even when he's being a jerk. Of course once you learn why, you can forgive him for it. But he's a modern Mr. Darcy, and I can't get enough. Once some problems get resolved the love between Drew and Lizzie is ridiculous, but never over the top. And that is what sets Remembrance apart from just another "true love" story. It's not instant, and it's not without problems, and they both have to fight their way back to each other. It is really beautiful. Another aspect that adds a layer of realism to the story, are all the secondary characters. Many times I feel that secondary characters could be cut from a story, but in the case of Remembrance the reader needs them to help round off Lizzie and Drew's story. Jeremy is used as a great foil to Drew, for no matter how much Drew might be a jerk at times, Jeremy is so much worse in his disregard for Lizzie. Chelsea also is a great foil for Lizzie. Their friendship is strong, but Chelsea's personality can be overpowering, highlighting the quiet beauty of Lizzie. Remembrance is a great and quick read, full of romance spanning across time. It is also the first book in a series, so I am really, really excited for the next one. If you haven't read Remembrance go, pick up a copy! You're going to fall in love, I promise!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Good quick read!

    This book really brought the taylor swift video and pride and prejudice together in a well written story

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2014

    *I received a free copy of this book on Amazon Kindle* I've alwa

    *I received a free copy of this book on Amazon Kindle*
    I've always been a fan of Taylor Swift. She inspired me to pursue a music career, and she got me into singing in the first place. So when "Love Story" first came out, I was obsessed. But I was even more obsessed with the music video. I remember watching that video over and over, absolutely enthralled with it. So when I heard that it inspired someone to write a book, I knew that I needed to read it.
    Honestly, I have mixed feelings about this book. There are a lot of things that I do like about this book. I like the overall idea for the story; while it's not exactly a new idea, the author did a good job putting her own spin on it. I like most of the characters, even thought they make me want to rip my hair out sometimes. And I love the writing style! This book made me feel all of the emotions that the characters felt, and I love feeling like I'm a part of the story. It amazes me that Michelle was able to take a song and a music video and create a whole story based off it.
    That said, there are a few downfalls to this book. One is that the drama in this book is pretty cheesy. I feel like some parts are extremely unrealistic and overdramatic. However, I didn't mind it that much. It was easy for me to overlook while reading, because I was so engrossed in the story.
    Another is that while I like all of the characters, there were a few times when I wanted to scream at them. This mostly applies to Elizabeth (MC). Lizzy is very relatable to me, because of her slightly withdrawn and creative personality. I found myself particularly drawn towards her as a character, until about halfway through the book. It was then that I realized a terrible flaw in her character: she's spineless. I get when characters are shy, but it annoys me to no extent when they don't stand up for themselves. Lizzy lets everyone walk all over her. It got almost pathetic at some points. Although, I'm holding on to the hope that there is some serious character development in the next book.
    The reason I gave this book four stars is because I really enjoyed reading it. It left me excited for the next one and to find out what happens next to Lizzy and Drew. I just hope that some of the problems in this book are fixed in the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty good!

    Reincarnation books are hard to pull off, but I think this author did it well. I'll definitely be reading the sequels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    What I liked: The idea of the characters were reincarnations of

    What I liked: The idea of the characters were reincarnations of former Regency Era people fascinated me in large part because it sort of matched up with Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice characters(which is one of my favorite authors and books) so definitely got some points. Also the fact that I could relate to her to much was another point in her court (the french classes! takes me back a handful of years). There were a couple times where I wanted to shake her like I would any friend of mine in a similar situation. Reincarnation can be tricky so I rather appreciated the fact that Michelle made it easy to understand and didn't confuse me with the past and the present and swirling it all up like a chocolate cake, so yayy more points!




    What I didn't like: There wasn't too much I didn't like.Actually it was probably one or two things that bugged me and that was probably it. One: Girl, will you just dump the boyfriend! The boy is ridiculous and treats her so bad and yet she stays with him. Like I said earlier there are times where she gets to be a bit annoying about the situation with Drew and that grates on my nerves but it's high school drama (although this might be just a tad more dramatic than the norm) and what can we say, eh? Two: Her mum situation, how is the woman never there and only seems to stop by maybe once to giver her some "motherly advice" yeah a bit crazy.




    Overall, I would not mind picking up book two to see where it goes.Interesting plot, characters, and situations, what more could a girl ask for?! I recommend you go pick this one up because I'm pretty sure you're going to love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Great book !!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2