Customer Reviews for

Remnant Population

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A thought-provoking delight!

When her husband Humberto died, Ofelia became her son's dependent in the eyes of Sims Bancorp. Forty years after she helped to found Colony 3245.12, all of her children but Barto are dead along with their father; and Ofelia tolerates her domineering daughter-in-law Rosa...
When her husband Humberto died, Ofelia became her son's dependent in the eyes of Sims Bancorp. Forty years after she helped to found Colony 3245.12, all of her children but Barto are dead along with their father; and Ofelia tolerates her domineering daughter-in-law Rosara as best she can. When Sims Bancorp sends a ship to withdrew the colonists, after deciding to abandon its unprofitable colony and cede its license to the world that Ofelia now considers her home, the company demands extra payment for relocating the useless old woman who will probably die in cryosleep, anyway. Luckily for Ofelia, though, she's scheduled for a later shuttle than Barto and Rosara. When she slips away from the village to hide in the nearby, still untouched alien forest, the only two people who would protest her absence are already in the cryotanks. Soon the ship is gone, leaving Ofelia alone. And that's just fine with her. The old woman revels in her solitude, because this is the first time in her long life that she's been free from the demands and restrictions placed on her by others. She tends her garden, competently maintains the village's power plant, and laughs when she throws her last pair of detested shoes into the recycler. Then another company's ship enters orbit, and starts to insert a colony at a location thousands of miles from Ofelia's village. At which time she, and the newly arrived colonists, find out that this world has indigenous intelligent life after all. The friend who recommended this book to me was right. Ofelia, a person who had little worth to start with in her society's eyes - a housewife and mother, educated no more than necessary to perform her expected tasks - has no value at all now, in age and physical infirmity. But what she does have, a naturally intelligent old woman's experience and wisdom and insight, turn out to be exactly what the unexpected and dangerous first contact situation on her adopted world requires. Grumpy and no longer willing to suffer fools gladly - still savoring life, but no longer reluctant to risk leaving it behind if that's the price of being free at last to make her own choices - Ofelia is at once a fully realized individual, and a worthy representative of all the other wise and salty old women whose value too few Human societies appreciate. Or even comprehend. A thought-provoking delight!

posted by Anonymous on February 3, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not up to Elizabeth Moon's usual standard.

Predictable plot that is slow at the start but gains speed and readability as you progress through the book. The story ends so that follow-on books can be written, but I hope Elizabeth Moon will focus on some of her other series. If I read another from this series it ...
Predictable plot that is slow at the start but gains speed and readability as you progress through the book. The story ends so that follow-on books can be written, but I hope Elizabeth Moon will focus on some of her other series. If I read another from this series it will be from the public library.

posted by A_Reader_For_Pleasure on July 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2005

    A thought-provoking delight!

    When her husband Humberto died, Ofelia became her son's dependent in the eyes of Sims Bancorp. Forty years after she helped to found Colony 3245.12, all of her children but Barto are dead along with their father; and Ofelia tolerates her domineering daughter-in-law Rosara as best she can. When Sims Bancorp sends a ship to withdrew the colonists, after deciding to abandon its unprofitable colony and cede its license to the world that Ofelia now considers her home, the company demands extra payment for relocating the useless old woman who will probably die in cryosleep, anyway. Luckily for Ofelia, though, she's scheduled for a later shuttle than Barto and Rosara. When she slips away from the village to hide in the nearby, still untouched alien forest, the only two people who would protest her absence are already in the cryotanks. Soon the ship is gone, leaving Ofelia alone. And that's just fine with her. The old woman revels in her solitude, because this is the first time in her long life that she's been free from the demands and restrictions placed on her by others. She tends her garden, competently maintains the village's power plant, and laughs when she throws her last pair of detested shoes into the recycler. Then another company's ship enters orbit, and starts to insert a colony at a location thousands of miles from Ofelia's village. At which time she, and the newly arrived colonists, find out that this world has indigenous intelligent life after all. The friend who recommended this book to me was right. Ofelia, a person who had little worth to start with in her society's eyes - a housewife and mother, educated no more than necessary to perform her expected tasks - has no value at all now, in age and physical infirmity. But what she does have, a naturally intelligent old woman's experience and wisdom and insight, turn out to be exactly what the unexpected and dangerous first contact situation on her adopted world requires. Grumpy and no longer willing to suffer fools gladly - still savoring life, but no longer reluctant to risk leaving it behind if that's the price of being free at last to make her own choices - Ofelia is at once a fully realized individual, and a worthy representative of all the other wise and salty old women whose value too few Human societies appreciate. Or even comprehend. A thought-provoking delight!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my Favorite Books

    This is one of Elizabeth Moon's best books. All of her books are easy to read, but this one just flows word after word, page after page. The main character is a 70-something year old settler. Uneducated, but brilliant in her understanding of living things. This book is, as other reviewers have said, very different from her other books. There are no great battles, no physically strong, or appealing lead characters. This one's appeal is her very ordinariness. I have loaned this book several times, and everyone who reads it, likes, even loves, it. I love this book for its respect for age, it's handling of the simple things. Anyone, even those who don't normally read SciFi or Fantasy can read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    Great Book, even for non-sci-fi fans

    This may be the best stand-alone science fiction book I've ever read, and I've read alot; it's definitely Moon's best book, and I've read most of her work. It's moving, memorable and brief, and the central character is tremendous. For those people who complain that sci-fi is all about plot and technology, and not characterization, Remnant Population provides a strong counter argument.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    Mirror mirror

    This is a completely refreshing shift away from a story of conquest and domination to an exploration of partnership. Ms. Moon's ability to paint as vivid an emotional as a physical landscape is a breath of fresh air. She captures the essence, tragedy and hope of what I belive is one of our most important struggles to become what we (humanity) are capable of.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Excellant book

    I have read and reread this book and read it aloud to my daughters. It is a wonderful story with a wonderful main character, one I hope I can emulate for her strength of character, wisdom, and independant spirit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    I got more than i expected

    I love her Paks books but i didn't expect much here. It didn't sound very interesting and the first part of the book was slow. Once the other settlers leave the book begins to pick up. When i got to the end I was very glad i didn't give up on it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    Not up to Elizabeth Moon's usual standard.

    Predictable plot that is slow at the start but gains speed and readability as you progress through the book. The story ends so that follow-on books can be written, but I hope Elizabeth Moon will focus on some of her other series. If I read another from this series it will be from the public library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is one of my favorite authors. Her books are all great.

    This book was very interesting but very different from her usual type of books. This is another author that I would pick up any book that she wrote without thinking twice about it. This one however, does have a very different style to it then her usual books and I enjoyed it very much if not more so, just because it was very different then I expected.

    I don't know where some of her idess come from, but she can write for me any time. I hope she writes a whole lot more books. I will be righ there when she has them ready to go. I enjoy her military style books also.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    Engrossing Read

    My first Moon book, Now am into all Moon books....she lives up to expectations!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2000

    engaging characters

    What a totally different perspective this story offers. It was great to see a senior portrayed as the main character with all her quirks and eccentricites displayed for everybody to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Good but

    I found Ofelia to be very selfish and unlikeable; I particularly disliked her behavior toward the stranded animals. As a result, I did not enjoy this book at all, although it is extremely well written and its exegesis of the main character fascinating, if distasteful. For me to give a book 5 stars, however, I must feel some sympathy for the characters, which I am never made to feel fir this extraordinarily self- centered old woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Great all around read!

    I would like to see manditory reading lists for all educators and that includes parents. This book would be on that list. I do disagree with one reviewers use of the discription of Ofelia as "eccentric". She is no more so then the rest of us allowed to express ourselves. Actually she does is in very mature and reasonable as well as polite way. Something going by the wayside in our society. Shame is the feeling she had when faced with the way "her people" dealt with others not like themselves, including elderly(which we warehouse) and the uneducated, both many dismiss. Pity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2