Customer Reviews for

Remote Control

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    Funny and charming!

    I was captivated by the main character's wondrous journey from the physical world to the spiritual world. Polansky's style of writing is both funny and inspirational. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2008

    Must read!

    Could not put this book down- at once funny and suspenseful. In Remote Control you are introduced to a remarkable woman, Judith McBride, who dies and learns and gets a chance to start again. Beautifully written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    soaring beyond

    Remote Control is still with me weeks after reading the book. The concept of soaring to different levels after death grabbed my imagination. What a wonderful concept and what a delightful story to go with it. But true to good literature, there is a lesson to be learned as well and that, I feel, is why this story has stayed with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    This is an inviting and eye opening storyline

    An intriguing and emotional outlook of the other side. Tastefully written and keeps you wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    Cynthia Polansky does it again

    This book was a delight to read. The writing is easy to follow and characters are very fun. Join Judith McBride on her journey through the afterlife as she tries to save her still alive husband from potential ruin. Remote Control is a fun book that deals with the dilemmas of life and death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    Hope there will be a sequil

    I loved this book. It left me with so many things to think about - and how we all treat each other. the humor was unexpected and delightful. I can only hope there will be a sequel. I could not put this book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2008

    a successful mix of humor, paranormal fantasy, chick lit, thriller and inspiration

    When you pick up a new book and discover that the first sentence of Chapter One is ¿I died on a Tuesday when I was thirty-one years old,¿ you know that you¿re in for an interesting read. Cynthia Polansky¿s 'Remote Control' is that and more. This book isn't about the main character Judith's life. It's about her afterlife. After her horrifically embarrassing -- but hilarious -- death, Judith ignores and disobeys her spirit guide and spends her time snooping on her grieving husband and best friend. She soon learns, however, that rules are rules, no matter what astral plane you're on. Polansky continually takes the book in new, exciting directions. After many twists and turns and ups and downs, you wind up in a completely different place at the end of 'Remote Control' from where you started, but you had fun getting there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    More than I expected

    Fast-paced story, rich characters-a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2008

    A delightful glimpse into the Afterlife

    Ms. Polansky's book, 'Remote Control' is a rich, and thought provoking look into life, death, and relationships in the 'here and now' as well as in the 'there and beyond.' The writing crackles with humor and honesty, yet never lets you forget this is the escape that truly satisfying fiction is all about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    is an enchanting and spiritual book

    Due to a medical mishap Judith McBride dies at the age of thirty one and she is immediately released from the corpse that no longer contains her spirit. In death, she still has a body and looks better than ever. She attends her own funeral and sees her beloved husband still coping with her death. After that she is transported to the astral plane where she meets her spirit guide. Ashraf. He tells her she has reincarnated forty-nine times before.----------------- She is assigned to Level Seven but can visit the lower levels. While there she is offered a job to care of pets waiting for their owners just as Judith was reunited with her late dogs. She visits Saul and sees he is with their accountant Mary Lynn. Although she is told she can¿t get involved in changing anyone¿s destiny, when Mary Jane convinces Saul to go to bungee jumping in New Zealand Judith knows if he goes he will die. She sends messages to him and her friend Michaela through dreams that warns him not to go. Judith has yet to learn that instead of dealing with someone else¿s karma she should be working on her own spiritual growth.--------------- Mindful of Albert Brooks¿ Defending Your Life, REMOTE CONTROL is one woman¿s experiences in the afterlife and her determination to save her husband from harm which is more important to her than her spiritual growth. Readers will like her in spite of her hubris in believing she can meddle in someone¿s destiny even out of love. The afterlife is fabulously described by Cynthia Polansky and readers are treated to see five levels of that realm. This is an enchanting and spiritual book that will appeal to readers of all religions.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1