Customer Reviews for

Rena's Promise: A Story of Sisters in Auschwitz

Average Rating 5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The best book I've read so far

this book was awesome. I may only be 14, but this book just showed amazing courage, outstanding hope, and powerful will.Rena and Danka had the most powerful sisterly love that showed through the whole novel. If either of them would have died, I would have been mad becau...
this book was awesome. I may only be 14, but this book just showed amazing courage, outstanding hope, and powerful will.Rena and Danka had the most powerful sisterly love that showed through the whole novel. If either of them would have died, I would have been mad because of the amazing people they are and what futures they had ahead of them. I just wish more of the Holocaust victims were that lucky.

posted by Anonymous on July 29, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Rena's Promise: A Story of Sisters in Auschwitz

Well Rena¿s Promise is not for you Rena¿s Promise by Rena Kornreich Gelisson and Heather Dune Macadam I have come to the conclusion that this is a story for those people looking for a invigorating story of survival. The authors give an account of life in the Concentrati...
Well Rena¿s Promise is not for you Rena¿s Promise by Rena Kornreich Gelisson and Heather Dune Macadam I have come to the conclusion that this is a story for those people looking for a invigorating story of survival. The authors give an account of life in the Concentration camps. This book was written from a first person¿s point of view. The story is of a young girl and her sister as they try to survive through the concentration camps. This book focuses on life as a Polish citizen in Auschwitz during World War two and Hitler¿s anti-Semitism in Germany. This is done by using a primary source which was Rena who was one of the survivors of Auschwitz. Overall I would give this book a three an a half out of five simply because of the somber tone. However it is still an excellent piece of literature.

posted by Anonymous on December 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    This book is amazing. I have read many books from Holocaust surv

    This book is amazing. I have read many books from Holocaust survivors, but never one from a FEMALE survivor. This book was powerfully heartbreaking and uplifting at the same time. I also enjoyed the "closure" given o the readers t the end where it shares updates and further information about the major players in this story (good and evil). Rena's Promise is a true treasure and I'd recommend it to anyone interested in reading a true survivor's story!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    Rena's Promise: A Story of Sisters in Auschwitz

    Rena¿s Promise is an excellent story that brings the reader back to the Nazi concentration camps to witness the atrocities prisoners faced. Rena¿s Promise is an inspiring account urging the reader to keep his faith in life. It is not a regular book on the Holocaust it is an inside story on the Nazi camps. I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in knowing more about the Holocaust or just simply wants to read an exceptional book like no other. Rena¿s Promise will change the reader¿s views on the Holocaust because its content reveals information about the camps that is not taught in many schools. The book is factual, even though it is very emotional, and agrees with historical records. In a scale of 1 through 10, Rena¿s Promise deserves a 10.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2006

    'I do not have room in my heart to hate. To hate is to let Hitler win.' -- Rena

    For those fans of Rena, who have not heard, she passed away on August 8, 2006. Among those sending condolences, The Museum of Women at Auscwitz, Poland, wrote, 'Our historians still feel this is one of the most historically accurate and important book on Auschwitz ever written.' Over the years your reviews have meant much to her and we continue to monitor the voices of our readers. Sadly, it is up to you now to carry her voice and her story to the world. You can learn more about Rena's Promise, where a study guide is available for teachers and book clubs at our website heatherdune.com

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2002

    The best book I've read so far

    this book was awesome. I may only be 14, but this book just showed amazing courage, outstanding hope, and powerful will.Rena and Danka had the most powerful sisterly love that showed through the whole novel. If either of them would have died, I would have been mad because of the amazing people they are and what futures they had ahead of them. I just wish more of the Holocaust victims were that lucky.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2002

    An Extraordinarily True Written Account of a Concentration Camp Survivor

    This is by far one of the best and detailed description of what life was really like in the camps. I literally could not put this book down when I started reading it. I really felt for Rena and Danka, there was such a true sisterly love here and determination for survival.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2001

    Absolutely moving

    I could not put this story down. Rena and the other prisoners courage was amazing. I was astonished that people (the Nazis) could be so in-human. The story is wonderfully written and very graphic, descpibing every event that happened to Rena.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Omg

    This book makes u cry ...it grasp ur attetion from the vary begining..it also is great for students in schoo...it gives u a history lesson everyone can get in touch with...love it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    G Amazing

    This book is the best book i have ever read in my life

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2005

    Amazing

    I can't go into too much detail about the story since it has been about 4 years since I read it. It just popped in my head and was looking online to where I could buy it and read it again! It was truly amazing and I will remember it forever.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!

    im 12 yrs old and really interested in the holocaust. when i read this book it was really inspiring to me. rena shows that she will do anything so her and her sister can survive. it really touched me the way rena thought of little ways to survive! also i could NOT put this book down..i have read it 6 TIMES IN A ROW!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2001

    A MUST read!

    I agree with Jessica. I could not put this book down from the secod I opened it. If you want a very detailed account of what Aushwitz was really like, this is it. What an amazing story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2001

    An absolutely moving novel!!!!!

    I read this book in 4 days, I could not put it down!!! I was intrigued by Rena and Danka's strength, and courage!!! I can't explain how much I loved to read this novel, even though it was about a horrible event. Rena, Danka, and all the other young women and men were unbelievable, I don't know how they did it. I was in awe, I was depressed, but I was proud of Rena for her strength to survive and her responsibility of her sister.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    Wise Bear Books Reviews Rena's Promise by Rena¿s Promise by Rena

    Wise Bear Books Reviews Rena's Promise by Rena’s Promise by Rena Kornreich Gelissen and Heather Dune Macadam -- 5 Paws!

    Rena's Promise: A Story of Sisters in Auschwitz, co-authored by Rena Kornreich Gelissen and Heather Dune Macadam, is a life-changing story not just for the women who lived to share the horrors of their experience, but for anyone who reads this personal account of the most heinous genocide of the 20th century.  Many books have been written about the holocaust, Auschwitz and other Nazi death camps, and each story has its own personal perspective of the inhumanities European Jews were forced to endure during World War II.  What make's Rena's story unique is she was one of the first admitted into Auschwitz's gates during the initial gatherings of Jews.   In fact, as number 716 she was on the first transport, yet managed to live to tell her story, albeit much later in life.

    The process of creating Rena's story is an interesting side note as well.  Rena and writer Heather Dune Macadam's collaboration came about as a chance meeting.  A friend-of-a-friend type referral is the basis for their first introduction.  Macadam does a superb job of painting their tentative encounter.  There is an easy conversational style to the author's writing that some might feel crosses literary lines, but we found this approach created an authentic observational technique as if we as readers are sitting in the room personally involved in their discussion.

    There's a profound emotion in this book and not just because of its sensitive subject matter.  There is a depth of connection between the writing partners, the Kornriech sisters, and many of the women who have the shared experience of bearing the burden of their memories.

    Rena's Promise begins with a good background story about Rena and her family's happy life prior to Rena's decision to comply with the Nazi's edict for Jews to surrender themselves to the nearest occupation camp for labor.  Her preemptive move was at first shocking, but makes sense as we come to understand that the Nazis’ atrocities were closely guarded secrets initially.  Rumors circulated, but little to no proof existed till much later in the war.  There's a lot you'll learn about the Holocaust by reading Rena's Promise that isn't taught in school or written in history books.

    There is a redundant quality to the author's storytelling, but this isn't a criticism.  The daily 4:00 a.m. wake up call of “Raus!  Raus!” meaning “Go!  Go!” was the only means of separating the drudgery of one day to the next.  It's an unconventional yet effective section break in the story telling which also helps to keep the story moving for readers.  By the end of the book it feels like a victorious battle cry, especially as momentum in the war shifts and the Jewish prisoners dare to hope for freedom from their captors.

    The defining quality of Rena, her sister Danka, and all these women who survived is courage.  Despite the constant traumas and heartbreak, Rena and Danka will each other to survive; the fact that they endure feels triumphant to us as readers, although it's not likely Rena would describe her and her sister's ultimate liberation from hell in such lofty terms.  You see, the scars of their experiences can never be erased—hence the decision to partner with Macadam in the cathartic telling of her personal first-hand knowledge.

    The joint authors don't hold back.  These are not easy remembrances to relate or to read, and yet they are essential to the collective consciousness of the human race.  Readers have a tremendous opportunity to learn, remember, and share books of such import.

    It's hard to imagine an all-knowing, loving God exists while reading Rena's Promise as we see Rena struggle with her faith, but it's also equally hard to believe that Rena and Danka could have survived such base depravity without some divine intervention.  Applying a label to an unknown deity isn't relevant to a book like Rena's Promise, but there is clearly something transcendent, even magical in the story of these two sisters.

    Rena's Promise is a well-written, thoughtful story that flows well and is a surprisingly fast read considering the intensity of the subject matter.  How Rena managed to maintain any level of gratitude or compassion for her tormentors' physical, mental, and emotional abuse is miraculous.  Probably the greatest teaching of her story is that it embodies a quintessential teaching of forgiveness, which is that it's not so much an act as an attitude.

    This book was reviewed as part of the Wise Bear Digital Book Awards competition. Entry fees associated with the contest are administrative in nature and do not influence our honest, unbiased book reviews.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    It was a quick read, for me, but will stay with me for a long t

    It was a quick read, for me, but will stay with me for a long time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Well written story of sisters who arrived on first Auschwitz Transport

    I read a lot of stories of Jewish survival during the holocaust. Some, like this read quick because the are well written and you find it hard to put down.
    EVERY story of holocaust survival - no matter the person's story is important and engrossing. Unfortunately, not all are written as well as this one.
    I found this amazing story of how two sisters survived Auschwitz-Birkenau from the very beginning (and yet were very slow to believe the gas chambers existed) very touching. I sometimes doubt I would love one of my sisters as much as Rena and Danka did. Because certainly one without the other would have meant death for both.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    Rena's Promise: A Story of Sisters in Auschwitz

    Well Rena¿s Promise is not for you Rena¿s Promise by Rena Kornreich Gelisson and Heather Dune Macadam I have come to the conclusion that this is a story for those people looking for a invigorating story of survival. The authors give an account of life in the Concentration camps. This book was written from a first person¿s point of view. The story is of a young girl and her sister as they try to survive through the concentration camps. This book focuses on life as a Polish citizen in Auschwitz during World War two and Hitler¿s anti-Semitism in Germany. This is done by using a primary source which was Rena who was one of the survivors of Auschwitz. Overall I would give this book a three an a half out of five simply because of the somber tone. However it is still an excellent piece of literature.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Alice

    Waitss patiently

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Lacy

    Waits for kira

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Kira

    Leans forward and wraps her hands aroind lacys boo<_>bs and kisses her nipples hungrily.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    I can do it with you~a guy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2