Customer Reviews for

Rendezvous with Rama (Rama Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    One of the Greatest Series I Have Ever Read

    The Rama series shows how truly exceptional Clarke is. This is one of the most thought provoking and enjoyable reads I have experienced. The story kept me on the edge of my seat and if it had not been the middle of the night, I wouldn't have slept at all because I would have ran out and bought the next one immediately. This is a must read for anyone who even remotely enjoys sci/fi.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2004

    Redezvous With Rama

    'Redezvous with Rama' provided for me an excellent choice in science fiction literature. After reading many reviews from many different sites and locations I came to the conclusion that I needed to indulge myself in another one of Arthur C. Clarke's legendary writings. I won't bother to go into any details, as those are easily accessible elsewhere on the web, however I will state my opinion for this novel. It is one of joy, speculation, and cautionary delight. 'Rendezvous with Rama' provided a somewhat lengthy read, even though the page count would show otherwise. In different areas throughout the book I found myself not only confused, but bewildered at the extreme redundancy at which the novel plays itself through. There are times in which the story seems to come to a standstill, only to suddenly ignite with an unexpected twist (and that isn't necessarily a good thing). Many times I was left in the dark (no pun intended) during the course of the read. I would somehow fall behind in the events preceding my current position in the novel's furtherance. The development of the plot was lackluster, and it seemed to me that Clarke's vision slipped away as the pages continued to turn. The suspense encountered earlier in the novel was no longer as apprehensive as I would have thought it to be. Character development during the course of the novel, as it has been written before by other reviewers may seem equally as lacking, but I hold no grudge towards this. I was more inclined to pay closer attention to Rama itself, and not the invasive crew that had the fortunate opportunity to come before it. The ending, writ with careful precision by Clarke was just that, an ending. Fortunately for us who can't bear to leave questions unanswered additional volumes of this series are here for our indulgence. Although I would not agree with most reviewers or critics about the significance of this novel as a science fiction classic, I would still not hesitate to recommend this novel to anyone who wishes to stray themselves from conventional literature, whether it be fiction, non-fiction, drama, or any other conceivable variation between as a possible reference to future titles in the science fiction genre. A good deal of work has gone into the creation of this novel, and as though I feel it lacks what might be apparent to any other reader I still believe that its praise is worthy of any fondness it may happen to in the years to come. Above all, I would suggest that a strong adherence to this title be undertook after the initial turn of a page. I have yet to read any of the other works in this series as I have only just completed the first, however I do plan on reading the remaining three installations of the Rama series. I plan to write more reviews as each novel is concluded before me. I hope this review was helpful to those of you looking to purchase 'Rendezvous with Rama,' and once more I highly recommend this novel to those with a fresh frame-of-mind to bear.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Rendezvous With Rama is by far one of the greatest Si-Fi Books I

    Rendezvous With Rama is by far one of the greatest Si-Fi Books I've ever read. I've never have read a book written by Author C. Clarke before, but after reading this book I definitely know that I'm going to read several more of his works. The plot of this story is that in the distant future humans has expanded their reach across the solar system. One day, out of nowhere, a mysterious Space craft is discovered traveling towards our solar system. Mankind has sent a lone spaceship out to meet this strange ship, and explore what's inside. The idea of how humanity would react to a unknown spacecraft arriving in our solar system raised several key questions that may need to be asked by humans in the future. Would we destroy this ship before it got near us, or would we try to board it? Also seeing how humans would attempted to find explanations about a completely unknown civilization also presented some interesting question as well. Most of the story displays how the Endeavor crew explores this strange alien world. The descriptions Arthur used to help visualize the interior of Rama was a very enjoyable experience. I definitely loved the development of Commander Norton as he's faced with several moral challenged not faced by mankind before. There were several moments where Norton would need to make a difficult decision in a very limited amount of time, and reading about how Norton solved these problems was exciting. While I enjoyed most of the story there were a few problems I had with the book. For starters, besides Norton, the characters were very bland and straight forward. This isn't a huge problem since most of these characters only tend to only have one job in the story, but I would have enjoyed some development to happen to a few characters. There were also several moments in the book where the plot sort of stopped and then pick right back up with a plot twist and then shrink right back down again. While I'm fine with some slow points in a story, I start to become bored when it happens more than once. My final issue with the book is that it confused with how sudden some problems arose. There were a few moments where a had to look back a couple of pages to make sure I understood everything. Despite my complaints, I overall enjoyed this book. It was not only fun to read, but it was also insightful as well, and will keep the reader wanting more. I greatly recommend it to anyone who is a Si-Fi fan or is just looking for a fun book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Arthur C. Clarke's "Rendezvous with Rama" reads like a

    Arthur C. Clarke's "Rendezvous with Rama" reads like a cross between his classic "2001: A Space Odyssey" and Jules Vernes' "Jouney to the Centre of the Earth". Mix some speculative science with the exploration of new worlds, and biological first-contact; toss in a sprinkle of mystery, and you have a solid, if not a bit flat, "Rendezvous with Rama".




    A massive object cruises into our Solar System, aiming generally toward the Sun. A space-faring mankind must deal with its examination, and face a future that will never be the same. Clarke deals with a range of his typical themes including xenophobia, politics at a solar system-level, religion that looks beyond terra firma, and humanity's first contact with extraterrestrials.




    The story is solid, the writing is clean. But in typical Clarke fashion, the characters a one-dimensional. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was a great book. I absolutely fell in love. A very intrigu

    This was a great book. I absolutely fell in love. A very intriguing story told in an excellent way. I felt like I was was there with the characters, living over one hundred years in the future and experiencing the adventure first hand. I didn't want to bring the book back to the library. A definite buy for all sci-fi fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    I love all 4 books of this series. well written characters and a

    I love all 4 books of this series. well written characters and an interesting storyline. by far my favorite scifi series. i recommend these books highly! i just wish they were released for nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    The Best SCI-FI Series

    This by far equals in value to that of the Foundation series. I would also step out and say it is better than that of the foundation series. Any SCI-FI beginner should utilize this series as your first attempt to the addiction that is known as the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW

    this is the best science fiction book i have ever read. i had to force myself to stop reading because it was 2:00 in the morning and even after that i couldnt fall asleep. it is an amazing work of sci fi and i reccoment it to all

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Why us?

    Excellent story of a 'galactic bus'. Intriguing ideas and plot unfold told only as A.C.C. can tell it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2006

    Best sci-fi novel ever

    Clarke introduces us into an utterly alien landscape the way it would actually be perceived by humans- with alot of awe and bewilderment. Each chapter is a new revelation, and each element of the story is descibed in a way that makes you feel as if you're actually one of the cosmonauts. THE BEST science fiction novel I have ever read- had to start Rama II the same day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2003

    One of the best 'First Contact' books ever written.

    Good old ACC proves once again that he is one of the GREATS of science fiction. He made the alien world of Rama so real that as I read it for the second time recently I found that I remembered it almost perfectly from the first time I read it over 20 years ago. I have read hundreds of science fiction books during that time span, and this book is still one of my favorites. A word of caution, the following books in the series are nowhere near as good as this one, as most of the writting was done by another author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2003

    Great Novel!

    I would recommend this novel to anyone with a great imagination and an interest in contact with aliens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2003

    A Good Book

    A very good book based mostly on mystery and awe. Not much plot, but a must read for the later books in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2002

    One of the best Sci-Fi books ever written

    If you like Arthur C. Clarke, then you will love this book. It is easily one of the best books he has ever written, if not simply the best one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2001

    Addictive sci-fi

    This is an excellent book. One of the most addicting that I have ever read. While it does not have as good of plot as some books, it more than makes up for it through mesmorizing speculating and intriguing mystery. An excellent book from cover to cover. A must read for any true fan of science fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3