Customer Reviews for

Rendezvous with Rama (Rama Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    One of the Greatest Series I Have Ever Read

    The Rama series shows how truly exceptional Clarke is. This is one of the most thought provoking and enjoyable reads I have experienced. The story kept me on the edge of my seat and if it had not been the middle of the night, I wouldn't have slept at all because I would have ran out and bought the next one immediately. This is a must read for anyone who even remotely enjoys sci/fi.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was a great book. I absolutely fell in love. A very intrigu

    This was a great book. I absolutely fell in love. A very intriguing story told in an excellent way. I felt like I was was there with the characters, living over one hundred years in the future and experiencing the adventure first hand. I didn't want to bring the book back to the library. A definite buy for all sci-fi fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    I love all 4 books of this series. well written characters and a

    I love all 4 books of this series. well written characters and an interesting storyline. by far my favorite scifi series. i recommend these books highly! i just wish they were released for nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    The Best SCI-FI Series

    This by far equals in value to that of the Foundation series. I would also step out and say it is better than that of the foundation series. Any SCI-FI beginner should utilize this series as your first attempt to the addiction that is known as the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW

    this is the best science fiction book i have ever read. i had to force myself to stop reading because it was 2:00 in the morning and even after that i couldnt fall asleep. it is an amazing work of sci fi and i reccoment it to all

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Why us?

    Excellent story of a 'galactic bus'. Intriguing ideas and plot unfold told only as A.C.C. can tell it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2006

    Best sci-fi novel ever

    Clarke introduces us into an utterly alien landscape the way it would actually be perceived by humans- with alot of awe and bewilderment. Each chapter is a new revelation, and each element of the story is descibed in a way that makes you feel as if you're actually one of the cosmonauts. THE BEST science fiction novel I have ever read- had to start Rama II the same day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2003

    One of the best 'First Contact' books ever written.

    Good old ACC proves once again that he is one of the GREATS of science fiction. He made the alien world of Rama so real that as I read it for the second time recently I found that I remembered it almost perfectly from the first time I read it over 20 years ago. I have read hundreds of science fiction books during that time span, and this book is still one of my favorites. A word of caution, the following books in the series are nowhere near as good as this one, as most of the writting was done by another author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2003

    Great Novel!

    I would recommend this novel to anyone with a great imagination and an interest in contact with aliens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2002

    One of the best Sci-Fi books ever written

    If you like Arthur C. Clarke, then you will love this book. It is easily one of the best books he has ever written, if not simply the best one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2001

    Addictive sci-fi

    This is an excellent book. One of the most addicting that I have ever read. While it does not have as good of plot as some books, it more than makes up for it through mesmorizing speculating and intriguing mystery. An excellent book from cover to cover. A must read for any true fan of science fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2