BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Renee Olstead

Average Rating 5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Music of My Life

    Such a pleasure!. This voice as it matures should go down with the greats such as Nancy Wilson, Dakota Staton and others of that era. It's hard to believe that this 14 year old voice can project that kind of emotion. Meet Me, Midnight, amazing. Who knew that a 14 year old knew what scat was, much less lay down a scat line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Renee Olstead's cd was a very wise purchase!!!

    I first heard Renee sing on Still Standing and I could not tell if it was her singing or not, but the voice stayed wth me. Then I was watching Princess Diaries 2 a few years ago and heard A Love That Will Last and I could not get the song out of my head. One day I googled the movie's sound track and played the song, then I googled Renee. I had no idea it was the same person until I played Summertime and then it hit me. She's AWESOME!!! Her voice is so soulful and rich. It's hard to believe that she is so young. Renee took classic music that she probably heard her parents play and made then her own and she did a great job. I think what a like the most about Renee's music is you can tell she feels what she singing, it's soulful so in turn I feel what she's singing. That is so important to me when I listen to music and there are only a handful of singers that I can say that about. I mostly listen to jazz (instrumental) but Renee has definetly been added to my list of greats. I can't wait to see what she does next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Little Lady w/ BIG Jazz Voice

    Ms Olstead has one of the most amazing voices I have heard in ages. I never tire of listening to the exquisite range and control this young lady has. I am looking forward to more from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A BEAUTIFUL AND BRIGHT STAR

    I watch Renee' on Still Standing and enjoy her acting as well as the show itself..Her voice is unbelievable and I know she has a great future ahead of her.I wish her the very best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Next Big Star

    Just discovered Renee' Olstead! Why isn't everyone talking about Renee' Olstead? Awesome voice, style & wonderful feeling for the music. Would like to see more of her & eager for the next CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    INCREDIBLE

    OUTSTANDING!! TERRIFIC..I NEVER TIRE OF LISTENING TO HER INCREDIBLE VOICE!!!! A WINNER, AND A MUST HAVE FOR JAZZ FANS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Finally....return to real music!

    Awesome, she makes beautiful music. So relaxing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding

    At age 14, Renee is a vocal masterpiece. She redefines the classic jazz standards with a style that is all her own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely Gifted

    Renee Olstead is absolutely gifted. I love every single song on her CD. This is what Mariah Carey should be doing. I'm willing to bet that Renee Olstead is on her way to becoming a big star. I can't wait 'til she puts out her next CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Can't get enough

    Love her voice...I have to play it over and over again...I keep watching for her next CD..hope to see more of her on TV!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful Easy Listening of a future grammy winner

    I listened to the entire CD collection online (Renee's website) and fell in love with her voice. She is truly a wonderful singer, especially for her age! I plan to go out and get the CD for my own collection. It is truly wonderful to hear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sentimental Journey -- so nice!

    I first heard this CD while in a Barnes and Noble store. I bought it on the spot. This CD is geat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome!

    Renee Olstead's CD is really great. Jazz with a twist, I give this CD two thumbs up and would suggest buying it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Everything Steve said is true!

    She is totally amazing. Her appeal will be to all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It doesn't get more amazing!

    If ever there were a debut album to set the bar ridiculously high for other young singers it's gotta be Renee Olstead's self-titled CD. To get an idea how amazing Olstead's talent is, take the soaring voice of Eva Cassidy, mix it with the sultry sound of Norah Jones, add in the sweetness of Doris Day and top it with the verve of Christina Aguilera ... and that's just where Renee's exceptionally nuanced style begins. Though she's still in high school (!) her singing career is about to take off like a rocket. She's already been pegged for superstardom by savvy music industry insiders who know a phenomenal talent when they hear one. Several of the songs will be break-out hits if given adequate airplay, especially her captivating remake of Maria Muldaur's "Midnight at the Oasis." If "Renee Olstead" doesn't collect an armful of Grammies I will be flabbergasted!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely Wonderful - A Must-Have!

    This is an absolutely amazing collection of music from a singer who will be HUGE in the very near future. I bought one for my own collection and three more for gifts (two for Father's Day). Miss Olstead's voice is rich, sultry, and intoxicating. I'm a fan from way back!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1