Customer Reviews for

Renegade's Magic (Soldier Son Series #3)

Average Rating 3.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

entertaining fantasy

Renegade¿s Magic Robin Hobb Eos, Feb 2008, $25.95 ISBN 9780060757649 His lover, Lisana enabled Gernian soldier Nevare Burvelle to escape incarceration when she split his soul enabling him to become a Speck mage Soldier¿s Boy. However as a nasty by-product, two pe...
Renegade¿s Magic Robin Hobb Eos, Feb 2008, $25.95 ISBN 9780060757649 His lover, Lisana enabled Gernian soldier Nevare Burvelle to escape incarceration when she split his soul enabling him to become a Speck mage Soldier¿s Boy. However as a nasty by-product, two personalities conflict over who controls the host body. His Soldier¿s Boy¿s mage skills lead Nevare to try to destroy the Gernian road that has begun to devastate the Specks¿ woodlands. His failed efforts leave him near death, but Speck female Olikea uses her healing skills to save his life as is her duty. As he recovers he finds his two sides in conflict as each has a demand. Nevare knows that he must prevent the Gernia from demolishing the Specks¿ forest while at the same time he also must stop the Specks from distributing their deadly plague that has slaughtered the Gernians. He begins to believe that to succeed he must unite his warring split personalities. --- The final Soldier Son tale (see FOREST MAGE and SHAMAN¿S CROSSING) is an entertaining fantasy that looks deep at the issue of development vs. environment. The story line is fun to follow although the pace at times is turtle like especially when the complicated Hobbs magical structure is logically but boringly elucidated (only a fool would read this entry before the previous two books). Still this is a fine trilogy that showcases the importance of finding win-win solutions to complex social issues as the two sides seem to only employ lose-lose methods. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

3rd book in Forest Mage series falls short

I enjoyed the other 2 books in the series. And although I was never fully engaged in the Forest Mage series, I was interested in seeing it through to the end. This book however, fell short for me. I lost interest about 1/3 of the way into the book and had to force mys...
I enjoyed the other 2 books in the series. And although I was never fully engaged in the Forest Mage series, I was interested in seeing it through to the end. This book however, fell short for me. I lost interest about 1/3 of the way into the book and had to force myself to make it through the middle third. Although Ms Hobb ties everything together nicely in the end, the journey was not as enjoyable as i had hoped.

posted by Barry_Kottler on July 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining fantasy

    Renegade¿s Magic Robin Hobb Eos, Feb 2008, $25.95 ISBN 9780060757649 His lover, Lisana enabled Gernian soldier Nevare Burvelle to escape incarceration when she split his soul enabling him to become a Speck mage Soldier¿s Boy. However as a nasty by-product, two personalities conflict over who controls the host body. His Soldier¿s Boy¿s mage skills lead Nevare to try to destroy the Gernian road that has begun to devastate the Specks¿ woodlands. His failed efforts leave him near death, but Speck female Olikea uses her healing skills to save his life as is her duty. As he recovers he finds his two sides in conflict as each has a demand. Nevare knows that he must prevent the Gernia from demolishing the Specks¿ forest while at the same time he also must stop the Specks from distributing their deadly plague that has slaughtered the Gernians. He begins to believe that to succeed he must unite his warring split personalities. --- The final Soldier Son tale (see FOREST MAGE and SHAMAN¿S CROSSING) is an entertaining fantasy that looks deep at the issue of development vs. environment. The story line is fun to follow although the pace at times is turtle like especially when the complicated Hobbs magical structure is logically but boringly elucidated (only a fool would read this entry before the previous two books). Still this is a fine trilogy that showcases the importance of finding win-win solutions to complex social issues as the two sides seem to only employ lose-lose methods. --- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    3rd book in Forest Mage series falls short

    I enjoyed the other 2 books in the series. And although I was never fully engaged in the Forest Mage series, I was interested in seeing it through to the end. This book however, fell short for me. I lost interest about 1/3 of the way into the book and had to force myself to make it through the middle third. Although Ms Hobb ties everything together nicely in the end, the journey was not as enjoyable as i had hoped.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Bad

    I despised the Specks and didn't care for Hobbs partisanship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    Sure to Please!

    I have become a hardcore Robin Hobb fan. She writes like Van Gogh paints or Emeril Lagasse cooks. You will be sure to experience all of the subtle nuances and rich vivid details as she weaves her stories. I love reading fantasy and I thought that I had read the best, but where as Gabaldon and Paolini are exceptional, Robin Hobb is 'the master'. You will not be disappointed with this or any of her other books. The ultimate experience of course will be to be sure to read any of her trilogy or series books in the proper order as they just continue to build in detail and intensity as they go. Check it out, you won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Ok but not great

    If you need a book to read to kill time then this one is ok. If you are looking for a good story that will keep your attention then this is not it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    amazinv

    Love it! one of the bestest books and authors that has ever existed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Read book one all down hill from there.

    The pace of this book was slow, never ending, and depressing. I made it through but only because the first book was good and i had hope. I could have just skipped to the last 10 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    Dissapointingly Tiresome and Annoying

    I've read and usually enjoyed Ms. Hobb's fantasy trilogies. I wasn't able to finish this third soldier son book, so my review should be taken accordingly. The only other books I've failed to finish were Donaldson's self-pitying super-leper series. And for similar reasons!

    Throughout the trilogy, our 'hero' has not only had trouble learning his mistakes, but remembering the solutions has been totally beyond him. I want character growth - I'll only wait just so long for it.

    Like another reader, I found the first third of the book slow and boring, but I hoped for more and persevered. The second third was too much (or too little) and I couldn't give more of my remaining life to such a futile effort with such an unsympathetic lead character. On reflection, that describes my reaction to the series; the first book was slow, the second book I barely got through, and the third was just beyond my patience and interest.

    This trilogy might have made a decent novel, but the story was poorly stretched over three books -- shades of Jordan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    Life as a Speck Great One

    The conclusion as Nevare / Soldier Boy is caught up in the Speck magic. He learns more about the Speck way of life and magic. He must find a way to deal with being two halves of a whole. Soldier Boy now in control of Nevare's lifes moves through Speck life as a Great One. He must still stop the Gernian road from going through the Vale of Ancestor trees. Conflict arises from the tension between other Great Ones and how to use the magic. The story is entertaining and has some small surprises. Overall a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    Overall a very good reading experience

    The whole trilogy explored a new and original look at the 'magic' side of fiction and how different cultures might view the sources of their 'power'. The characters are well developed and the story line is very strong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3