Customer Reviews for

Rent [Original Broadway Cast Recording]

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This show changed my life

    I saw this show a few years after it opened and it genuinely changed my life. The story and the sounds of Rent will stay with many who've seen it forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    just got home from seeing it in awe

    Just made the treck to nyc today to see it special before it closed and in awe. The music is perfect beyond words and await the cd. These songs can stand up to none other. The movie is different and a disappointment when seeing the real show since movie veered off coarse. Enjoy this and hear what a real broadway show should sound like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No Words Could Describe How Awesome "Rent" Really Is!

    "RENT" is the best musical of all time to ever hit Broadway. This groundbreaking, history-making, box office breaking, smash hit musical has changed the face of the Great White Way by touching the heart of millions and creating a new era that will have captivated Broadway into the most enjoyable place in the world. This show is electrifying and powerful, and one of the few shows on Broadway that is "true". It has defined the generation by telling the truth of AIDS and those who are ill with the deadly disease and trying to make the best of the rest of their lives. Many people can watch this show and see the similarities between themselves and those acting on stage. I saw this show on tour last Thanksgiving with my sister (us both being Rent Heads), and we were both moved by it. I have seen quite a few Broadway shows on tour before, but none of them compared to "Rent". This show has not only had an impact on my life, but one on millions of people across the world. It's so sad that the show's creator, Jonathon Larson, could not see how the show turned out over the past 12 years. I recommend anyone who loves musicals to add this CD to their collection immediately. "RENT" ROCKS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful!Stands the test of time!

    I have been in love with RENT since its inception. The most powerful ballads and singing are contained in this two disc set. I love both this version as well as the movie version. Incredible to see and to listen to!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this is love!

    I love this soundtrack with all my heart! I listen to it everyday...both the movie and the original broadway score. I love Daphne Rubin and I thought she was a great Mimi...but I think Rosario Dawson brought a breath of freash air into the part and really made the character of Mimi more personal to where people could relate with her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    RENT is awsome

    Rent is an inspiring musical taking place in 89 - 90 don't miss this album with famous songs like "seasons of love", "La vie bohem",and "Tango Maureen" The Charecters include ROGER, MIMI, BENNY, MARK JO-ANN, ANGEL, COLLINS, and MAUREEN Buy Today YOU WON"T REGRET IT!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Interesting

    The first "Rent" show I saw was the movie version and then I recently saw the Broadway version. I own both the movie soundtrack and the OBCA. To choose between the two, I would choose the new recordings, but, the Broadway show. Rosaria Dawson breathed new life into the role of Mimi versus Daphne Rubin. Also, after listening to the new recordings, the original star's voice have become better trained (?) and more developed. They also seemed more comfortable with their roles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    RENT is a must-see

    I saw Rent on Broadway a couple of weeks ago. I love Broadway and have season tickets here in AZ, but nothing beats seeing it on Broadway, NY. This show was riveting, funny, sad and just totally awesome. See it when you can and before you see the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Didn't win the Pulitzer Prize for nothing

    I've never heard ANYTHING like this! Jonathan Larson was a pure unrated genius. Even through singing he's somehow made everyone so human, and the story is so shamelessly raw and gritty. I've never seen the broadway, but after listening to this I was immediately transformed into a Renthead. You can tell the music was written in the 70s but it's got something timelessly charismatic. Reallyreallyreally good stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Rent [Original Broadway Cast]

    I wish I could have given it more stars. this is like the best music ever it gets stuck in your head and can't get out. It is a real adiction. I've never seen the show live but the movie is G-R-E-A-T GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!! I would recomnd it to any one who likes music I think people who don't even like theater would like this. the music has a wouderful flow. It is so catchy that I can hardly go a whole day without listening to it. Get it and you will never ever ever ever ever regret. Go on press add to cart what are you wating for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Rent [Original Broadway Cast]

    I really injoyed listening to this music. I love how all the songs flow together but don't all sound the same. there a lot of swaring though. If I could change one thing that would be it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely Amazing

    I have seen RENT two times and I absolutely love it. The music is amazing and timeless. The message is real, raw and moving. Everyone should see this show, and hear this music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Rent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! What More Can I Say?!

    I absolutely love this soundtrack! Sadly I have not yet seen the musical but I heard Seasons of Love on the radio, went and got the soundtrack the next day and completely fell in love with the entire thing. Rent is phenomenal and is a must have for anyone who likes music, especially Broadway. Hopefully I can get to New York soon to see Rent in it's full glory and if not I'll just have to wait for the Movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This left me speechless!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I LOVE this musical. see it on broadway if you have the chance. it was the most amazing thing I'd ever seen. there was so much emotion and love in it. I could cry right now just thinking about it. This is one of the best musicals ever written. R.I.P. Johnathan Larson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Wonderful Musical

    Rent is outstanding in many different ways. I'm still a teenager, and these problems are extremely real to me. AIDs, drugs, etc. After seeing Rent I was thinking about it for days after, the musical is thought-provoking and really makes you think. I like that in a musical, I don't like things such as the Music Man. Rent captures the true feelings and emotions in the minds of young adults in New York City. Not only does this musical make you think but it also grips you from the very first song, there's something in every character that you can relate to at any age, and there are funny moments as well. The complete sound track is wonderful, Rent is just about an operetta so you can really grasp the plot and characters just from the sound track. Some of the best songs include: "Glory", "Seasons of Love", and "Light my Candle".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No Day But Today for RENT

    If you feel strongly offended by harsh language, swearing, derogatory references, rock music, homosexuality, anarchy, or drugs, then stop reading this review right now. If that doesn't deter you, then please read more about this soundtrack. This is one of the most amazing soundtracks for a musical that I have ever heard. The backtrack consists of only a piano/keyboard, a pair of guitars, and drums. Yet it works against the beautiful voices of this cast. If you are ever planning on seeing this musical, I beg you to buy the soundtrack in advance. You will thank yourself later, for it will help you get acquainted with the characters and the story before you step into the theater. While the songs "RENT" and "Seasons of Love" have become famous, some of the best songs are simple songs with powerful lyrics. One of my personal favorites, "Halloween", gives you insight into Mark's mind: "Why am I the witness? And when I capture it on film, will it mean that it's the end and I'm alone?" "One Song Glory", on the other hand, gives you a window into Roger's misery over having AIDS, the loss of his girlfriend, his need to put his songs into the public eye, and his stark outlook on life, best represented in the final words of the song: "Time flies, and then no need to endure anymore. Time dies..." "Will I Lose My Dignity?" is another beautiful song. The creed of the Life Support Group sums up the message behind the musical: "No day but today".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredible Doesn't even describe...

    I had gone to NY back in 2002 with some friends and we had decided to go see a show.We had decided on Rent and I was so excited to see it..the cast included a few Jai Rodriguez from the show Queer Eye and also Joey Fatone of Nsync..needless to say I was totally blown away by the performances and RENT has now become my favorite Musical along with the likes of classical musicals like Les Miserables and Phantom of the Opera.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Even "BEYOND INCREDIBLE" doesn't do RENT Justice...

    Wow... I saw Rent at the Nederlander Theater on Broadway just five days ago. I was stunned. I had heard from friends and family that this musical was incredible, and they were right. I had had my heart set on seeing The Lion King (being a HUGE fan of that music), but I saw Rent instead because we couldn't get tickets to the LK. I'm so glad we couldn't. The new cast brought forth a whole new energy to the musical. (With the character of Mimi being played by Scary Spice, how can you go wrong, right?) Even when the cast was just lined up singing "Seasons of Love" on the stage... there was such a forceful energy radiating into the theater that words can't explain! I also LOVED other songs like "Rent", "What You Own", etc. This album represents the entire essence of Rent, even including the answering machine messages, which I thought were a hilarious contrast to the dark and gritty nature of the musical. Also, the story of Rent is just so true to life, everyone deserves to see it at LEAST once. I was in the car on the way home the day after seeing it and I was thinking back on it and it hit me that the story behind the play is so deep and true, but not many people notice this because they are so wrapped up in the wonderful music! (Which isn't a bad thing, of course.) ~FIVE STARS AND BRAVO TO THE ENTIRE CAST! I LOVE YOU GUYS!~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing!

    This was amazing. Idina Menzel is just great, I also loved her in Wicked. Adam Pascal was wonderful in Cabaret but was only there for a short time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Rent [Original Broadway Cast]

    I could not say anything that could do Rent justice. It is too wonderfull to possibly put into words! Rent is so true to real life, that even if you are typically not a musical fan, you will fall in love with rent (as MANY of us have)! The cast's talent amazes me everytime I listen to the CD! Jonathon Larson (RIP)was so wonderfull and his talent could also not be described. GET IT NOW or forever regret it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4