Customer Reviews for

Replication: The Jason Experiment

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    Thought-Provoking Suspense

    Replication is a fast, absorbing read. It poses the question, “What if unscrupulous scientists have already been secretly cloning human beings to be used as organ donors and drug testers?”

    The two main characters are Jason 3:3 or “Martyr,” one of the 56 clones, and Abby Goyer, whose widowed father has just been hired by the secret clone lab. They meet when Martyr escapes the underground lab/habitat a couple of days before his planned “expiration” because he wants to see the sky.

    Martyr (later shortened to Marty) is a smart, caring kid who has been sheltered from just about everything during his years in the underground clone habitat. He is naïve and pure and trusting. He finds himself thrust into a world he knows nothing about, while on the run for his life. Abby tries to help him while keeping it a secret from her father and trying to evade Marty’s lookalike, JD Kane, who pursues her relentlessly at school.

    Marty’s predicament causes several characters to examine their own moral choices and it also challenges and deepens Abby’s faith. Both main characters are likeable, but Marty’s trusting simplicity won me over. The pace of the story is fast and the suspense almost continuous, with a few little comic relief moments. There is ongoing tension between Abby and her father, who has taken a job that he knows is unethical, but seems too spineless to do anything about it.

    There was one thing about the story that bothered me a lot. There is no explanation given for how Dr. Kane managed to build a huge underground lab complex without anyone in the nearby small town catching on. My logical mind tells me that a construction project that size would be the talk of the town—but no one knows anything about it. If you are willing to suspend disbelief on that one issue, the book is a great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Perfection!!!

    This book is AMAZING! I was already a huge Jill Williamson fan from her previous books (¿The Blood of Kings Trilogy¿, which I also highly recommend) and I simply could NOT wait to get my hands on this book! It does not disappoint.

    When Abby Goyer's father is hired as a scientist at a highly secretive lab, her curiosity kicks into high gear and she goes sleuthing. Abby discovers (with the help of Martyr, a bald, seventeen year old boy whom Abby found in her bedroom and seems to know nothing of the world) that the head scientist of this lab has successfully created functional clones for an evil purpose. She knows she needs to do something, but what? As more and more comes into the light, both Abby and Martyr know that it won't be long until it all explodes and the world changes forever.

    This book is a clean fiction novel for teens, but anyone of any age could read this and truly enjoy it. I HIGHLY recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2013

    I absolutely loved Replication! It was really weird in the begi

    I absolutely loved Replication!

    It was really weird in the beginning and I was unsure how I would like the overall book, but it was filled with such a wonderful message that I thoroughly enjoyed it!

    Seeing Martyr come from Jason Farms and having never seen the upper world it was amazing to see how entranced he was with everything. It really humbled me to change my perspective of the world because God created all these wonderful colors for us, but yet some days we hardly notice it. We don't fully appreciate it like Martyr did, but after reading this I want that to change!

    The book really challenged me in being grateful for all the beautiful things that surround us as well as the uniqueness that each person has! Also the book challenged me in that not only has God given me a purpose that He has revealed to me, but He can reveal everyone's purpose through His Word (Martyr gives a fine example of this at the end)! I was so amazed at how Martyr took God's Word straight to his heart and applied it with Dr. Kane! I was brought to shame like Abby was concerning that we can know all the Scriptures, but yet forget to apply them to our life.

    One of the funniest parts about this book is the innocent questions that Martyr has concerning marriage, pregnancy, and love in general! It was so cute to see the way he approached Abby and the youth pastor about love! The ending was definitely perfect and made me smile!

    Overall I was really surprised how I liked this novel! Jill did such a wonderful job with this story and gave such a powerful underlining message of appreciating God's creation around us! Not only that but she was so awesome in flat out preaching the message of Christ and how we get saved!

    Well done Jill!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Brilliant!

    I read it in two days.... couldnt put it down. This is great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    Don't you just love it when you start a book and absolutely MUST

    Don't you just love it when you start a book and absolutely MUST keep going back to it, even when you have other things to do? If so, add Replication to your reading list! Within these pages, author Jill Williamson takes an out-of-this-world premise for a story and plants it into the life of a totally believable 17-year-old girl. The result is an incredible tale that mingles sci-fi with real life in a such a way that you can actually believe these events happening and stunning the world when they hit the headlines. Novels come and go; you'll read many that you'll forget. But I suspect you'll never forget about Jason Farms and what grows there! An adventure that's definitely worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    Some, including myself, would like to pretend that cloning is ju

    Some, including myself, would like to pretend that cloning is just an idea thought up in science fiction to show the pros and cons of man playing God. The idea of cloning a human being is no longer a matter of how it can be done, but when. Replication explores the desire of man to create a carbon copy of himself, but what develops from there is beyond his understanding. Martyr is just another clone, a Jason 3:3 living at a secret lab known only as Jason’s Farm, and he’s about to expire. Though he cowers to the abusive discipline readily given, it doesn’t stop him from knowing right and wrong and trying to protect those of the Jason’s (fellow clones) that are weaker than he. Martyr hungers for knowledge which keeps his curiosity ever reaching for the next experience, so much so that his desire to see the sky before he dies causes him to throw caution to the side and risk everything. He discovers a world that isn’t dying, but very much a live, full of color and nothing like he was told.

    Martyr finds an ally in the strangest of places, a daughter of one of the scientists that works at the Farm. At first Abby Goyer doesn’t believe Martyr to be who he says he is, because he looks exactly like a hormone crazed boy from school with his own connections to the Farm. She quickly puts the pieces together and finds herself fighting for a cause--to take down the Farm and bring the scientists behind the cloning to justice. Her strength lies in her faith in God, knowing right and wrong. She feels more in control looking at life in black and white--pros and cons. Abby is surprised to meet a clone who not only has a mind of his own, but is curious to know more about the God. Can something that is synthetically made have a soul…a desire to seek God’s love and accept his salvation. Can a clone be saved?

    The amazing twist to this story is that no matter how life begins, free will and a desire for something more is always possible. Martyr discovers a strength he never new existed and Abby finds her world could use a little more gray area. She starts out to save Martyr from a fate worse than death only to learn something she didn’t realize was lacking from her life…Mercy.

    Replication is a great new twist on an old idea. Just when you think they get away, they are caught, and just when you think there’s no hope, something happens to tip the scale. You have no idea how it will end until it finally does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    Fast paced and surprisingly tender

    I had never read a book about cloning and had no idea what to expect, but I love Jill Williamson's fantasy series and was eager to read this. I expected it to be full of adventure - which it was - but I was caught off guard by the sweetness of the story. I really loved Martyr's world view. His character tugged my heart strings. Abby is a wonderful heroine, feisty and tough, but also big hearted. I loved how she cared for Martyr. I finished this book satisfied, but the characters have stuck with me and I can't help hoping for a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    “Life isn’t how many days I live, but how I live the

    “Life isn’t how many days I live, but how I live the days I have”

    “Listen, Dad, you spent your marriage trying to find a cure for Mom and you missed out on what little life she had. You took her joy, Dad, and yours, trying to save her”--- “Now you work for more people with that same philosophy. They want to take the lives of others because of their fear. They don’t understand, so they try to find a way to control things. But God will always get His way. No scientist can change that. The only way to really live is to give up fear and trust God.”

    This is one excerpt that made me pause and realize life deeper.

    Replication is a book about human cloning and how inhuman it could be. Giving life to someone just to kill them someday for other’s benefit is strictly not a good thing.

    When I was younger :), I heard about animal cloning and the sheep clone Dolly. At that time, I heard too about the issue of human cloning, and I was in favor of it. But after reading this book, I realize that life could only be given and taken by God. No man should try to control it. I realize that even though, let’s just say human cloning exist, clones breath, they have lives and so, they’re not as far to being human no matter what reasoning any scientist could give.

    Jill Williamson weaved another wonderful story of a clone- Martyr/J:3:3, who found out, what his purpose really is. What God’s purpose for him is. It’s a journey and an adventure to grow closer to God and to help his fellow clones escape the fate the scientists thrust into them.

    I was grip right from the beginning until the very end. Sci-fi this might be, but I didn’t feel the heavy terms of science this kind of book usually has. Replication is very understandable and engaging. There’s no boring part of the book, every turn of the page, something unexpected happens.

    The best part I love in this book, are the subtle inspiring messages about love, life and God. I also love all of the characters, whether villain or not. Williamson has this technique of turning a supposedly evil man into someone a reader could sympathize. And of course, the main characters are lovable and have their own unique personalities.

    Replication is a book I’d give up a night of sleep for. I laugh, cried and feel for the characters all throughout the end. A real page-turner, this action-packed book would leave you breathless and blessed!

    I’m not so into sci-fi books but REPLICATION is another one of this genre that made me love sci-fi more..:) Very Highly Recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    I have to say, I loved this book. The characters were all remark

    I have to say, I loved this book. The characters were all remarkably well-developed - even Martyr, who naturally has some peculiarities from living in an underground laboratory his whole life. The plot was straightforward and clear-cut, another plus. (I occasionally get tired of plots with so many twists and turns that by the end you can't even remember what the initial point was.) The writing was very skillful, another huge plus.
    In this story, the author dealt with the highly controversial issue of cloning with skill, honesty, and grace, which I found highly refreshing. She doesn't mince words, and she calls things what they are, which I admire, but she did it all without sounding in the least 'preachy' or militant about it.
    One or two things that bothered me:
    First, there were several kiss scenes between teenagers. They were nothing humongous or grossly over-the-top, just straightforward kisses, but they still bothered me, since both characters were Christians.
    The only other thing is a pet-peeve annoyance for me, more than anything else. The character Abby - who has studied crime for years and should know better - lets herself get pushed around very easily by a guy from her school who follows her around uninvited and even ends up forcing his way into her house. Abby isn't happy about it, but she doesn't do anything about it. There were several instances in which she should have thrown the creep out of her house at knife-point and called the cops on him, but she did nothing. It made me highly irritated at her.

    Aside from those two little issues, though, I really, really enjoyed this book. I honestly couldn't put it down - and it takes a special book to captivate me that completely. I wouldn't recommend this book for younger readers, certainly. But for anyone 16 and up, this would make a fantastic read. I definitely recommend that you check it out at the first opportunity you get!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Page Turner

    Back Blurb:
    MARTYR--otherwise known as Jason 3:3--is one of many clones kept in a remote facility called Jason Farms. Told that he has been created to save humanity, Martyr has just one wish before he is scheduled to "expire" in less that a month. To see the sky.
    Abby Goyer may have just moved to Alaska, but she has the feeling something strange is going on at the farm where her father works. But even this smart, confident girl could never have imagined what lies beneath a simple barn. Or what would happen when a mysterious boy shows up at her door, asking about the stars.
    As the reality of the Jason Experiment comes to light, Martyr is caught between two futures--the one for which he was produced, and the one Abby believes God created him to have. Time is running out, and Martyr must decide if a life with Abby is worth leaving everything he's ever known.

    WHEN YOUR LIFE IS NOT YOUR OWN

    My Review:
    I really enjoyed (no, LOVED) Jill Williamson's book 'By Darkness Hid' so when I got the chance to review her book in my favorite genre (Science Fiction, btw) I was so happy! This book ROCKED! Follow Martyr a.k.a. Jason 3:3 and Abby Goyer as they try to thwart the evil scientists from creating (and killing) a whole race of clones made for one purpose. The Purpose? I can't tell you that. I give away to much. ;) But I will say this-you will NOT be disappointed. If you are a HUGE Sci-fi fan (like me) definitely check this book out! Jill Williamson is an AWESOME writer!!! (I hope there's a sequel...)
    ~B

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Amazing Story!

    Replication is a great story, full of exciting and dramatic twists. If you like suspenseful, meaningful stories, you will love this one.

    Abby Goyer is a high school student who is dealing with the death of her mother and also with the fact that her father has been involved in some unethical research practices at work. Now that he's moved them to Alaska, things really get weird. Especially when she discovers a kid who looks exactly like the creepy jock at her school. And then she finds out that he's a clone from a nearby lab, and there are many more of them. Why are the scientists creating these clones?

    I love the brilliant way the author shows that your DNA doesn't determine how nice a person you are. Each person chooses for him or herself whether to do the right thing, to be kind and compassionate or to be cruel and selfish. It was also really fascinating the way she explored what it would be like for a person to grow up without ever seeing the outside world, never being exposed to colors or even people of the opposite sex--and never knowing about their Creator God. It's a really thought-provoking read and also very exciting and entertaining. I highly recommend it for both adults and teens.

    And if you haven't seen the video trailers, search for them on YouTube. Just type in Replication: The Jason Experiment. Really great trailers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Replication: A Great Read!

    In the book, Replication, Jill Williamson has created an intriguing storyline. What if someone succeeded in the cloning of human beings? What then? How would science and society deal with these copies of a person? The author takes this topic and puts a very "human" touch to it by giving a face and soul to the character of the clone. J:3:3 or Martyr is one of many human clones who live in a bland, underground world. He accepts his one purpose in life: "To be a sacrifice for those who live outside." His one wish is to see the sky before he expires at the age of eighteen. Abby Goyer, still recovering from the loss of her mother, is uprooted from the busy pace of Washington D.C. and relocated to Fishhook, Alaska. Her scientist father has accepted a job at a secret facility called Jason Farms. As Abby searches to find out more about Dr. Goyer's new position, it leads her into unbelievable discoveries. She meets Martyr and seeks to free him from this underground prison. Through meeting Abby, Martyr learns that God has a different and greater purpose for his existence. I really enjoyed Replication. The storyline is packed with adventure, suspense, and even romance. The characters are varied and have depth. It's a well written book that kept me turning the pages. I didn't want to put it down. A great read! I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1