BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Report Card

Average Rating 4.5
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

We love this book!!!!!

This book was an excellent experience. My teacher likes it because of all the juicy vocabulary it uses. This story is about two kids who get in double trouble. Their names are Nora and Stephen. Nora gets a bad report card and their parents are mad at him. After this pro...
This book was an excellent experience. My teacher likes it because of all the juicy vocabulary it uses. This story is about two kids who get in double trouble. Their names are Nora and Stephen. Nora gets a bad report card and their parents are mad at him. After this problem, Nora makes a bigger problem that's out of control! You never know what is gonna to happen next. I'd recommend this book for grades 3 or higher. This book was great and I hope you read this book also.

Parker, from Ms. Edwards class

posted by Edwards on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Promotes underachievement

I did not think this was a good read for my gifted child or any child. The message seemed to be - Don't do your best, try to be "normal".

posted by 6975431 on February 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    We love this book!!!!!

    This book was an excellent experience. My teacher likes it because of all the juicy vocabulary it uses. This story is about two kids who get in double trouble. Their names are Nora and Stephen. Nora gets a bad report card and their parents are mad at him. After this problem, Nora makes a bigger problem that's out of control! You never know what is gonna to happen next. I'd recommend this book for grades 3 or higher. This book was great and I hope you read this book also.

    Parker, from Ms. Edwards class

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    The Report Card

    I think this book was really good. It says that you should jst do your best and show what god gave you.It showed Me that grades are inportant and always do your best and work hard. It shows how people are unaware of what might happen if you fail. My teacher in 4th grade gave retests. Altough if you get retest it doesn't mean not to study it just means that you try your hardest the first time and if you fail it is good to have second chances. If you are smart don't be afraid to show it be happy all the time and don't take things for granted. This was a great book and i hope you read it soon.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    5/15/12

    Love it! It has a great lesson!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    A Great Read!

    I'm 12 and in the 6th grade. Mr. Clements books are great to read. I'm not really into reading but I like his books a lot. My mom recently purchased 4 more of his books. I give The Report Card 5 stars.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2004

    The Report Card

    I think that this book was really good. It proved that grades aren't everything and bad grades don't make you stupid; and good grades don't make you especially smart. This book showed how tests can affect self-esteem and your life. It also showed how un-aware teachers are of 'geniuses.' It also showed how one just pleases to be normal and just fit in and not be a weirdo. The Report Card shows how one wishes not to be different in a gifted program, but to just be normal. This book I could relate to. It is recommended.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    This dook is amazing

    This book is my favorite book ever !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2004

    Pretty Good!

    It was funny at points and suspenseful; it turned out to be a pretty good read. I would recommend it for seventh or eighth graders if they like books that are both funny and serious at the same time! There were times when I couldn't put it down...

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Uggg

    This book is terible. So the lessen is to act dumb. The cover makes it looks like it a great book but really it is not. Don't waise your money. It is about a girl named Nora who is a genis but hides that skill and instead fails school and gets C's and D's on her report card. She does that to prove that people take grades and tests way to serious. Good job, Nora. Smart. But all and all this book does have some suprises. But all of that is just my opinion. Get the preview before you get the book and see what you think........

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    Promotes underachievement

    I did not think this was a good read for my gifted child or any child. The message seemed to be - Don't do your best, try to be "normal".

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Wow

    You all probably read this book because you all got the same grades, and u wanted to know how that girl survived

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Jj

    I dont like because i kinda didnt get it alittle

    So i guess i liked it a little

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    The Report Card

    This book is about a young girl who is very smart and who tries to be normal by not doing well in school, by making D¿s in her classes. This causes problems for her at home and at school. She is trying to get the point across that there is too much pressure and miss use for test and grades. Read this book to find out what happens at the end when the teachers have a meeting with the entire school. This book would be a good book for children to read and be able to relate to, they may feel the same way she did, just wanting to be normal. Clements, Andrew. The Report Card. New York: Simon and Schuster BFYR, 2005.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Truth

    I loved this book when I was in third grade I didn't really care about the message. I wanted to be as smart as Nora. I really wanted to read as much as Nora and understand things like Nora does in the book. All in all this is a geat book and don't take the message to seriously, kids won't and besides its really well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Great this book

    Hello agin if u r looking for the best book ever read this one if is really good hope u get it if u like it write it thanks for reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    To person who said ANSWER THIS PLEASE

    173 pages. I read half the book. Its good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Really good book....haven't finished it yet....seems promising...

    The Report Card is a very good book so far. I have really enjoyed it. I disagree with the people who say that it delivers a bad mesage. I can't wait to finish it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    To Gossiper

    I would like you to put an ad for TwilightClan at 'Lanrete' all results. We need more warriors to mentor the apprentices!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is horrible. It makes it seem like kids who get good grades and actually try in school are cruel and should try to get c's and d's on purpose like Nora instead. Well, that's just why I hate Andrew Clements so much. His books are always about student trying to rebel against adults for every little thing, even if the thing they are rebelling for makes sense. Well, I do not think that anyone should read this book since it teaches you nothing. Instead, it makes you feel bad if you get good grades. And if Nora were really a genius, she would think more about her actions. She is very annoying, and brags a lot.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Love it

    I never had read most of the andrew clements books but now that i have,i will read more! Strongly reccomend for kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    :)

    Great book. :D loved it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8