BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Report from Engine Co. 82

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Great read.

    Any firefighter can relate to this excellent book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2002

    Excellent Read

    As an ex Fire Fighter, from the early eighties, in Auckland New Zealand I thought this book was wonderful. I was sad when I finshed it as I could have read these stories for ever. It brought back so many memories for me. I am now a Police Detective in Perth Western Australia but I will never forget what I still say were the best years of my life, this book just brought them back for me, thankyou Dennis.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2000

    shocked

    I am not a person who likes to read very much. This book kept me in it though. I never wanted to put it down. When I got done reading it I was hoping there would be more accounts of his times. I would tell firefighters and nonfirefighters to read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    "Report from Engine Company 82" is a must-read for any

    "Report from Engine Company 82" is a must-read for anyone considering fire-rescue or EMS as a career. It's also an incredibly poignant read for anyone, who has the slightest interest in what goes on after the fire engine passes them on the street. Set in the early 70's, when nearly every city in America was burning, it was firefighter and author Dennis Smith who first brought the deadly firefight to citizens and firefighters alike. For me, a probationary firefighter, Smith made sure I was the bug was under my skin with his incredibly detailed, sometimes brutal account of life and death in the busiest fire district in the world, the South Bronx. It's safe to say that every fire station in North America has a copy or two on the training room bookshelf...with millions of other copies in the collections of individuals from all walks of life. But don't bother to ask to borrow a copy...Engine 82 is one of those novels that folks won't let out of their site. Following its release, Dennis Smith quickly became known as the firefighters' storyteller, as he wrote 8 more novels, screenplays, and served as Editor of Firehouse Magazine. I can't think of a better spokesman or advocate for our profession.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    One of the Best Books

    This book is one of the best books that Denis Smith has ever written because it has a lot of drama, and its very suspenceful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2004

    Inspiration: ones testomony as a fireman

    I thought this book was AMAZING and so TRUE! i enjoyed the part when Mr. Smith talks about the chief yelling at the other firemen at calls. i thought it was ONLY our squad! I read this book in two days and did NOTHING else. I reccomended it to ALL of the guys on my squad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2002

    Simply the best

    Thirty years later, Report From Engine Company 82 is still the greatest firefighting book ever written. It set the standard against which all similar attempts have been compared. None even come close, because it comes from the very backbone of the FDNY, from a regular-guy fireman who tried to suck the air out of cracks in the floor while he humped the hose down a superheated and smoky hallway, not by a big-picture guy with a white helmet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2001

    A true look at New York's Bravest.

    This book has action, suspense and drama but most of all it tells the story of those behind the headlines; New York's Bravest, The men of Engine Co. 82.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2001

    Memorable book

    I read this book in 1973 and I still remember almost every detail. This is a great book, much better than many I have read since then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2000

    The Big House

    This book is excellent for Fire Fighters and non Fire Fighters. This book makes you understand how things really are and were in the fire capitol of the world. I have read it twice already!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2000

    Now I really know first-hand what my father's job was like at Engine Co. 82

    My father was a NYC Fireman for 28 years, and passed away at age 52 in 1984 after several years at Engine Co. 70 in City Island (in the northeast Bronx). However, he worked with Dennis Smith in the early years of his career as a fireman at Engine Co. 82 on Intervale Avenue in the South Bronx. He had an original hardcover copy of this book, signed by author Dennis Smith, which I remember seeing as a child but never read. I am now 34 years old, and I decided to read this book which I have heard so much about. I heard many stories about how these firefighters would spend hour after hour fighting fires, answering countless false alarms, and basically killing themselves as the South Bronx burned. Dennis Smith paints a very vivid portrait of what it was like to fight, among other things, fires in the South Bronx. He shows that these men were, and are, 'New York's Bravest.' You can see the soot on their faces, feel the intense heat, smell the smoke and sense the frustration these men endured on a daily basis while they put their lives on the line every time they left the confines of Engine Co. 82. This book is a permanent record of the constant uphill battle the firefighters of Engine Co. 82 (including my father) fought in order to save lives while raising families at the same time. Reading this book will show you the effect being part of Engine Co. 82 and the firefighting community had on these husbands, fathers, sons and brothers. It also reveals what developed - a sense of loyalty, dedication, friendships and above all - lives saved. I am very proud that my father was a part of such an elite group of men.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2000

    true to life

    I read this book years ago as a volunteer just starting out in what has turned out to be a 13 year career. I was glued to my seat as I read it. I felt like I was fighting the fires with dennis smith. Very true to life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2000

    Excellent book on the many ups, and downs, of being a firefighter in N.Y.C.

    I read this book while I was a senior in high school, and that was back in 1974. It wasn't because I had to. It was because I wanted to. It is an excellent book filled with action of on scene firefighters and what they go through in thier day to day lifes, both on duty as well as off. You'll laugh with them and you will definately cry with them as they go about thier hazardous duties.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1