BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Reptile Room: Book the Second (A Series of Unfortunate Events)

Average Rating 4.5
( 565 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(396)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Reptile room

THIS SERIES IS THE BEST BOOK EVER IF I COULD RATE IT 1,000,000,000 STARS I WOULD.
THIS ONE IS MY 2ND FAVORITE IN THE SERIES EVEN THOUGH I AM ON BOOK 9? NUMBER 8 IS MY FAVORITE!!!!
THESE BOOKS ARE AWESOME I WOULD RECOMENED THIS TO EVERYONE IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!
I LOVE IT!!...
THIS SERIES IS THE BEST BOOK EVER IF I COULD RATE IT 1,000,000,000 STARS I WOULD.
THIS ONE IS MY 2ND FAVORITE IN THE SERIES EVEN THOUGH I AM ON BOOK 9? NUMBER 8 IS MY FAVORITE!!!!
THESE BOOKS ARE AWESOME I WOULD RECOMENED THIS TO EVERYONE IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!
I LOVE IT!!!
I STARTED THIS SERIES AT LIKE THE END OF 1ST GRADE OR BEGINING OF 2ND AND AM NOW IN 4TH GRADE I HAVE BEEN READING THEM SINCE AND CAN NOT STOP!!!!!! YOU HAVE TO READ IT!!
IT IS THE BEST BOOK IN THE WORLD!!!!!
IT IS MY FAVORITE BOOK EVER!!!!!!
I AM A HUGE FAN OF LEMONY SNICKET!!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Reptile Room

This is a very good book. I recomend it but at some parts it gets kinda confusing

posted by Anonymous on July 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 568 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Reptile room

    THIS SERIES IS THE BEST BOOK EVER IF I COULD RATE IT 1,000,000,000 STARS I WOULD.
    THIS ONE IS MY 2ND FAVORITE IN THE SERIES EVEN THOUGH I AM ON BOOK 9? NUMBER 8 IS MY FAVORITE!!!!
    THESE BOOKS ARE AWESOME I WOULD RECOMENED THIS TO EVERYONE IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!
    I LOVE IT!!!
    I STARTED THIS SERIES AT LIKE THE END OF 1ST GRADE OR BEGINING OF 2ND AND AM NOW IN 4TH GRADE I HAVE BEEN READING THEM SINCE AND CAN NOT STOP!!!!!! YOU HAVE TO READ IT!!
    IT IS THE BEST BOOK IN THE WORLD!!!!!
    IT IS MY FAVORITE BOOK EVER!!!!!!
    I AM A HUGE FAN OF LEMONY SNICKET!!!!!!!!

    26 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Very good book

    I love this series. Its very addicting to read. You have been warned.

    18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Grea

    Lemony Snicket is a great author. He is creative in ways I can only imagine.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Five stars

    If only there were fifty stars,then i would rate that.

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Great book

    Really good book! But it has 2 bad words in it so if you are an immature 10 year old or younger then it might be too explict. But if you are a mature 10 year old and older read it!!!!!!!!!! They r not really bad words though so...read it

    12 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Anthony Was here

    I really like it!!!!!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    To:its alright

    This it the best book ever rate it better next time!!!!!! I mean come on

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    I love his storys

    I have read almost all his books there all fantastic. I love the way he writes and then explains it but to be honest i already understand whats going on anyways. One thing i do find quite annoying is when he keeps repeating how sad the orphans are , and to be honest i know count olaf is bad but they really should be gratful they have a house. Anyways i love these books

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    awesome

    This+book+was+amazing.+It+had+so+much+adventure+and+scary+parts+in+it.+I+would+recommend+this+book+to+anyone+who+likes+creepy+and+good+books.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Amazing

    This book is so good i could not put it down once i started reading it it is just such a wonderful book and i read it in about a day it is so good and it is an east read!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Amazing series

    My friends told me about this series and now im addicted to it. Definetly 5 star series keep up the good work Lemoney Snicket!!! : )

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2000

    The Unfortunate Events Scores Fortunate Rates!

    Before I begin my review I would just like everyone to know that this artical is from the opinion of a child. I am eleven years old I read the Unfortunate Events Series almost everyday. I'm writing a review on the Reptile Room because it was on of my top two favorites. (The other is the Bad Beggining.) I give this book a five star rating because I think it's an outstanding book. When I first bought the first book of these series into school after I finished reading it I let a friend borrow it. Then I bought in the Reptile Room when it was first realesed I let another friend borrow it and it began a trend. Now everyone wants to get their hands on these great books. I liked the Reptile Room becasue I thought having doctor Lucafont being the hook-handed man was a very good twist. I also like that even though the story started out very pleasent for Violet, Klaus and Sunny Count Olaf still appeared in their lives again. I give all the books in his Lemony Snicket's series a five star review.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Yay

    So far this has been the best 1 yet!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Love

    I love the series. See the first story is about these three children. Their parnets died in a fire and a man named Mr.Poe took them in under his wing and raised them till he found a relative. The relative is Count Olaff and he demands that Violet marry him so that he can get the Baudelaire fortune. And if Violet doesnt marry him he will drop their litte sister, Sunny off of a tower. So Violet's brother, Klaus reads a book and tells Violet a plan to sign the paper with her left hand insteed of her right hand so that they arent leagally married. I thank my best friend Bethany for getting me into these series.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Awsome book

    Best series ever

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Awsome

    I read this book in two days!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    I love it

    This is the best book ever i love them so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    :'(

    I didnt like when Sunny and the viper got seperated!!! Sorry for spoilling! :'(

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Dear Problem

    How does the last book end?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Love it

    Best book ever this is best series ever

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 568 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29