Customer Reviews for

Republic, Lost: How Money Corrupts Congress--and a Plan to Stop It

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A must-read for anyone concerned about the problems facing America

This is a must-read for anyone, conservative or liberal, concerned about the problems facing America. The author starts by showing that many of the issues we face today such as lack of free and efficient markets, lack of successful schools, and the financial crisis of 2...
This is a must-read for anyone, conservative or liberal, concerned about the problems facing America. The author starts by showing that many of the issues we face today such as lack of free and efficient markets, lack of successful schools, and the financial crisis of 2008 can be traced to campaign contributions from special interest groups. The corrupting influence of this money is the core problem because it blocks effective action on these other problems. There are more subtle effects as well: Besides Congressional action (or inaction) going against the will and interests of the general public, Congress people spend too much time fund raising and not enough time studying the issues and focusing on priorities. All that leads to public mistrust, which leads to a lack of participation in our democracy.

Although the author is a self-described former Reagan-ite who is now a liberal/libertarian, several chapters are devoted to showing that large Congressional contributions defeat the agendas of both conservatives and liberals. For example, conservative Congress people vote against free markets when it benefits their contributors. Liberal Congress people vote against needed reform when it benefits their contributors. The book is not a diatribe against Congress people. The author believes that most go in with good intentions, but get quickly caught up in the system and are soon focused on the interests of their large contributors.

The book ends with four strategies to end the corruption.

posted by Walter_A on November 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

As a school board member with 20 years of experience, I was espe

As a school board member with 20 years of experience, I was especially interested in knowing what Lessing had to say about public education. After reading the chapter on the status of public education, I decided two things: 1) He didnt have the slightest idea what he w...
As a school board member with 20 years of experience, I was especially interested in knowing what Lessing had to say about public education. After reading the chapter on the status of public education, I decided two things: 1) He didnt have the slightest idea what he was talking about and 2) If he didnt know what he was talking about regarding public education, then it probably was not worth finishing the book. I wouldnt recommend it.

posted by Rosevilleguy on May 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    A must-read for anyone concerned about the problems facing America

    This is a must-read for anyone, conservative or liberal, concerned about the problems facing America. The author starts by showing that many of the issues we face today such as lack of free and efficient markets, lack of successful schools, and the financial crisis of 2008 can be traced to campaign contributions from special interest groups. The corrupting influence of this money is the core problem because it blocks effective action on these other problems. There are more subtle effects as well: Besides Congressional action (or inaction) going against the will and interests of the general public, Congress people spend too much time fund raising and not enough time studying the issues and focusing on priorities. All that leads to public mistrust, which leads to a lack of participation in our democracy.

    Although the author is a self-described former Reagan-ite who is now a liberal/libertarian, several chapters are devoted to showing that large Congressional contributions defeat the agendas of both conservatives and liberals. For example, conservative Congress people vote against free markets when it benefits their contributors. Liberal Congress people vote against needed reform when it benefits their contributors. The book is not a diatribe against Congress people. The author believes that most go in with good intentions, but get quickly caught up in the system and are soon focused on the interests of their large contributors.

    The book ends with four strategies to end the corruption.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Should be required reading...

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite

    "Listening to Republic: How Money Corrupts Congress-and a Plan to Stop It" by Lawrence Lessig reminded me of the importance of staying informed, staying pro-active, and getting involved. This is our nation and yet we as citizens have become lazy, contrite and apathetic. When a person runs for congress they tout their best intentions. They will cut the budget, they will make a difference, and they will be different from the other members of congress or candidates. Once elected they are seduced by money, power and prestige. What congress and all elected officials have forgotten is that they are responsible to us the citizens of this wonderful country. The citizens are not here to serve and fund the congress. It is time every citizen stands up and lets their voice be heard. Our government is filled with dishonesty, greed, and immorality. Do we elect and pay them so that they can sell their votes to the highest bidder? Is it too late? No Lessig offers several options we should consider. He offers suggestions that each of us, no matter who we are, can do to make changes. We do not have to be satisfied. We do not have to be disheartened. We can take back our country.

    Lessig explains in laymen terms what is happening in our government. I commend the author for educating us. This book is well-organized and well-written. Lessig does not write this to discourage or to negate but to wake us up. This book is not a difficult read. This book should be required reading in both high school and college classes.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    As a school board member with 20 years of experience, I was espe

    As a school board member with 20 years of experience, I was especially interested in knowing what Lessing had to say about public education. After reading the chapter on the status of public education, I decided two things: 1) He didnt have the slightest idea what he was talking about and 2) If he didnt know what he was talking about regarding public education, then it probably was not worth finishing the book. I wouldnt recommend it.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Excellent

    Fact based and very good read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    Enjoyed this book. If you know something is wrong with big busi

    Enjoyed this book. If you know something is wrong with big business or elections or government or politicians or justice dept., but can't figure out the how & why, this book is very good at explaining how it all fits together. The chapter on the Supreme Court was eye-opening. And one of my favorite quotes is Congress is just the Farm team for K Street. There's more change needed than we even dreamed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Read this book NOW!!

    If you want a fast, in-your-face understanding, macro view of just how Un-level the playing field is, begin reading this book now. This man is giving us a lifetime of study and analysis.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This is a very well-researched and written book. I have learned much about the way our Congress works and the history of its decline into a rubber stamp for special interests. Everyone should read this...only an informed electorate can change this and return the Congress to what it should be, a representative body.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    wow

    read

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Lessig is right, "Throwing the bums out" is not a solu

    Lessig is right, "Throwing the bums out" is not a solution. New bums take their place. Structural change is the answer. He neglects mentioning the age of the problem, which dates from the beginning. 70 years later, the confederate constitution addressed many of the failings Lessig wants addressed. (Minus legalizing slavery, of course) He also neglects to mention Public Choice Theory, which explains the problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Not bad

    Lots of good information.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Lessig being brilliant as always

    Compelling arguments, well written and easy to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Novel approaches to the root problem

    Very well researched and well written. One of the best books to address our political system in recent memory.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2