Customer Reviews for

Requiem (Delirium Series #3)

Average Rating 3.5
( 374 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(91)

2 Star

(71)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

I had a significant number of worries coming into Requiem. This

I had a significant number of worries coming into Requiem. This book was easily my most anticipated read of 2013; I've invested so much emotion and energy into this story and its characters. Delirium easily stands as one of my favourite books ever.




But there was so ...
I had a significant number of worries coming into Requiem. This book was easily my most anticipated read of 2013; I've invested so much emotion and energy into this story and its characters. Delirium easily stands as one of my favourite books ever.




But there was so much riding on this one little book! I'd say that Alex, rather than Lena, is my favourite character of the bunch and Pandemonium just didn't seem to set things up for the ending I wanted to see. And there's always something heartbreaking about the ending of a series; bittersweet, like saying goodbye to old, familiar friends.




I'll say right away that I was not nearly as disappointed or as devastated as most other readers seemed to be by Requiem. It made me look at the trilogy from a whole new light, and I'm curious to see how I'll feel after re-reading the three books. Also: this review is the hardest one I've ever written, hands down.




Reasons to Read: 




1. A story about love that's about more than romance:




One thing I've noticed is how easy it is for us readers to get caught up in the Julian/Alex debate. But while reading Requiem, I soon became aware that this was not the biggest focus of the book or even the series. I'm so appreciative that Lauren Oliver took the chance to explore other avenues of love, from the relationship between Lena and her mother, to her best friend Hana, to the deep, life-altering friendships she makes in The Wilds and within the resistance. I think it's easy for us to focus so much on these swoon-worthy boys that we miss some of the other heartbreaking moments; for me, it was notably the deterioration of Lena and Hana's friendship and Lena's lack of a relationship with her mother, Annabel. And you know what? I was honestly & pleasantly surprised by how much Requiem didn't focus on the romance. That's a blessing in YA these days and really great for those who want to see more from a book than just romance. Yet it still has some of the best romance I've ever read about (in the series, as a whole).




2. Lena's epic character transformation:




I'd hate to call this "character development" because it's much more than that - rather, it's more like an evolution. When you compare the old Lena from Delirium to the changing Lena in Pandemonium with the new Lena in Requiem, it becomes apparent how drastic these changes have been. Yet, one thing I noticed re-reading Delirium is that the seeds of change were already planted in Lena before Alex ever came along. I might even say that she's more like her mother than she may ever realize. But I believe it is entirely consistent with her character and who she is for this transformation to take place.




3. A world falling apart:




One of my favourite parts of this series is that Lauren has so much attention on the world she's created, and really works to bring it to life through her stories. I found Requiem to have a bit more of an emphasis on this, and we really get to see a society that's crumbling apart. I'm incredibly curious to know what happens in the future, but I think it's clear that big changes are coming for society.




4. Hana offers a fresh perspective to the book:




Hana is easily one of the most interesting characters from the Delirium cast, and I think this is another reason in support of saying that by Requiem, it's very clear that the books are about so much more than a love triangle or even just Lena's life. While Lena is busy with the resistance, Hana is our insider view to Portland and the "upper class" of that community. I found Hana's story to have the potential to be just as heartbreaking as Lena's, and her voice stood out so much from Lena's narrative that it was a great way to freshen up the series. 




I'll also admit that it would take a lot for me to truly hate this book - I'm well aware that I'm biased (and maybe partially blinded?) by my love for these books. And I can understand why so many readers may be disappointed by how few plot elements are actually wrapped up. That is disappointing, but I can see how the open-endedness works well too. (For me, I'm happily convinced that Alex and Lena are together forever and have ten happy little babies and they spend a lot of time reading poetry and kissing. It doesn't matter what happens in these books, that has always been the ending I invented.) 




I was, however, a tad disappointed with Lena at a few points. I was surprised by her reactions a few times, particularly when it came to Alex and Julian because most of that felt so immature. While something so big is happening with the resistance, it didn't fit to have so much angst between a handful of characters about personal problems. Maybe it was the stress of it all that brought out their worst, but it largely felt out of character to me (and yes, I'm pointing my blame-finger at you too, Alex). 




ARC received from HarperCollins Canada for review; no other compensation was received. 

posted by EverAfterEsther on March 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Good Beginning, Bad Ending

If you like to have a solid conclusion without open ends, dont read this book. The first two books were AMAZING and to end the trilogy like this is an insult.

posted by 9562317 on March 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    I had a significant number of worries coming into Requiem. This

    I had a significant number of worries coming into Requiem. This book was easily my most anticipated read of 2013; I've invested so much emotion and energy into this story and its characters. Delirium easily stands as one of my favourite books ever.




    But there was so much riding on this one little book! I'd say that Alex, rather than Lena, is my favourite character of the bunch and Pandemonium just didn't seem to set things up for the ending I wanted to see. And there's always something heartbreaking about the ending of a series; bittersweet, like saying goodbye to old, familiar friends.




    I'll say right away that I was not nearly as disappointed or as devastated as most other readers seemed to be by Requiem. It made me look at the trilogy from a whole new light, and I'm curious to see how I'll feel after re-reading the three books. Also: this review is the hardest one I've ever written, hands down.




    Reasons to Read: 




    1. A story about love that's about more than romance:




    One thing I've noticed is how easy it is for us readers to get caught up in the Julian/Alex debate. But while reading Requiem, I soon became aware that this was not the biggest focus of the book or even the series. I'm so appreciative that Lauren Oliver took the chance to explore other avenues of love, from the relationship between Lena and her mother, to her best friend Hana, to the deep, life-altering friendships she makes in The Wilds and within the resistance. I think it's easy for us to focus so much on these swoon-worthy boys that we miss some of the other heartbreaking moments; for me, it was notably the deterioration of Lena and Hana's friendship and Lena's lack of a relationship with her mother, Annabel. And you know what? I was honestly & pleasantly surprised by how much Requiem didn't focus on the romance. That's a blessing in YA these days and really great for those who want to see more from a book than just romance. Yet it still has some of the best romance I've ever read about (in the series, as a whole).




    2. Lena's epic character transformation:




    I'd hate to call this "character development" because it's much more than that - rather, it's more like an evolution. When you compare the old Lena from Delirium to the changing Lena in Pandemonium with the new Lena in Requiem, it becomes apparent how drastic these changes have been. Yet, one thing I noticed re-reading Delirium is that the seeds of change were already planted in Lena before Alex ever came along. I might even say that she's more like her mother than she may ever realize. But I believe it is entirely consistent with her character and who she is for this transformation to take place.




    3. A world falling apart:




    One of my favourite parts of this series is that Lauren has so much attention on the world she's created, and really works to bring it to life through her stories. I found Requiem to have a bit more of an emphasis on this, and we really get to see a society that's crumbling apart. I'm incredibly curious to know what happens in the future, but I think it's clear that big changes are coming for society.




    4. Hana offers a fresh perspective to the book:




    Hana is easily one of the most interesting characters from the Delirium cast, and I think this is another reason in support of saying that by Requiem, it's very clear that the books are about so much more than a love triangle or even just Lena's life. While Lena is busy with the resistance, Hana is our insider view to Portland and the "upper class" of that community. I found Hana's story to have the potential to be just as heartbreaking as Lena's, and her voice stood out so much from Lena's narrative that it was a great way to freshen up the series. 




    I'll also admit that it would take a lot for me to truly hate this book - I'm well aware that I'm biased (and maybe partially blinded?) by my love for these books. And I can understand why so many readers may be disappointed by how few plot elements are actually wrapped up. That is disappointing, but I can see how the open-endedness works well too. (For me, I'm happily convinced that Alex and Lena are together forever and have ten happy little babies and they spend a lot of time reading poetry and kissing. It doesn't matter what happens in these books, that has always been the ending I invented.) 




    I was, however, a tad disappointed with Lena at a few points. I was surprised by her reactions a few times, particularly when it came to Alex and Julian because most of that felt so immature. While something so big is happening with the resistance, it didn't fit to have so much angst between a handful of characters about personal problems. Maybe it was the stress of it all that brought out their worst, but it largely felt out of character to me (and yes, I'm pointing my blame-finger at you too, Alex). 




    ARC received from HarperCollins Canada for review; no other compensation was received. 

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Just as good as first two!

    I really don't get all the whiny reviews regarding this book. U read a book for the author's writing, not to see if what you want to happen, happens. The writing in this book was just as good as the other two. The points of view are Hannah and Lena, the author did a fabulous job with them. It continued to develop the characters flawlessly. The action was so well described it was easy to imagine. As far as leaving questions unanswered,I disagree, I think it left us in a really good place. I fully recommend it!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Keep in Mind...

    Keep in mind that if you purchase this ebook you are missing a few pages in the end that consist a part of Alex's story. Go to Barnes and Noble and read it! Although I wish the author wrote a longer pov of Alex, readers should still check it out... Author does not dissapoint with her beautiful style of metaphors. I really wanted to feel fulfilled and reassured of Lena and Alex's love like in Delirium. However, I felt like both characters were reaching for one another and either one couldn't grasp. It's still a good read but sadly you will have a lot of unanswered questions at the end... Keep in mind that author stated in an interview that she doesn't beleive in happy endings and i'm like man that's cruel. Would i read her future books just learning this?? ... her writing is beautiful so yes, i would.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    I cried

    In the end i cried because it was so beautiful! But i also wanted to know what happend between Alex and lenas future and Grace too. What happed to the wilds resistance after the war? Did they tske over the other cities or did Alex and Lena run awsy together forever???

    HOW DID JULIAN TURN OUT!!!
    WHAT HAPPEND TO HANA!!!

    I wish there was a 4th book that equally finnished the book and what happend to Alex while he was in crytus? This wss ny favorite trilogy ever in books sometimes i wish i had someone like Alex in my life!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Well....

    Wow...just wow.....amazing sad but still amazing....the ending caught me by surprise....woah....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    I read a lot, and Lauren Oliver's novel captivated me. Yes I was

    I read a lot, and Lauren Oliver's novel captivated me. Yes I was infuriated with some parts, but we can't always get what we want. 
    The aspect of Alex "being a baby" was talked about, but that is how guys act. To be honest a lot of guys in his position make up lies and try to talk to other girls. A lot of people don't like the ending but I found it perfect. The author gives us just enough information to picture what is going to happen.
    I loved every second of it and I highly recommend people to read the Delirium series. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    WHAT MAKES A BABY?

    WHAT MAKES A BABY? IS IT LOVE? IS IT HATRED? NO!! IT IS NEITHER. WHAT MAKES A BABY IS CALLED INTERCOURSE SEX. WEN HAVUNG SEX, IF YOU DONT WANT TO GET PREGNANT USE A TROJAN BRAND CONDOM. IF YOU WANT TO BE 16 & PREGNANT DONT USE A CONDM AND LEAVE THE PENIS BARE. ONCE YOU START MOVING BACK AND FORTH WITH THE PENIS IN THE VAGINA THE SPERM WILL BE RELEASED AND FERTALIZE THE EGG(S) AND YOU BECOME PREGNANT. JUST REMEMBER TO STOP MOVING BACK AND FORTH OR YOU WILL GET HERPES THAT IS ALL FOR NOW ABOUT SEX FOLKS JUST REMEMBER TO USE A CONDOM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    After I read the reviews I was not sure if I wanted to read the

    After I read the reviews I was not sure if I wanted to read the book. I am glad that I did. I love the ending. Even though everything is not spelled out it is all there, you just have to think a little. I am glad that Lauren Oliver finished the series the way she did. It separates her from other writers who feel a need to tell the reader everything which is refreshing. If you have read the other books please read this one too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    Unlike the first 2 books, Delirium and Pandemonium, Requiem is t

    Unlike the first 2 books, Delirium and Pandemonium, Requiem is told from a dual personality from two different characters, Lena and Hana. As I have mentioned before, I love when stories are told from different point-of-views. However, at first, I was a bit disappointed that Hana was chosen. It didn't take long to realize that having Hana's side of the story and what was going on in her world was imperative and just as intriguing and intense as Lena's world.

    There isn't much that I can tell you about the actual plot without any spoilers. But I am going to do my best in telling you why I think that this is one of the best endings I have ever read... 

    In book one, we saw Lena on the inside being kept safe from the disease. She was doing what she had to do to just get to her surgery date so she wouldn't have to worry about what happened to her mother happening to her too. That is, until she met Alex. And learned that there is another way to live, as long as you have something worth fighting for. In book two, we watched Lena survive, learn and grow out in the wilds. She creates a new life, new friends become her family. And she meets Julian, who is sweet, safe and exactly what Lena needs at this moment in her life. She makes new discoveries about people she cares deeply about and we watch her reactions and the consequences to that. 
    Now, Lena has come to the ultimate battle. Where does her alliance stand? With whom? What does she want out of her life - to make a stand and live with new consequences? Even death? Or will she try to take the easy way out, travel far, away from all the fighting and hide for as long as she can? 
    And, what most of us have been waiting for... who will Lena choose? 

    But there is so much more to just Lena's story. And Lauren Oliver makes it loud and clear, no matter what life brings, you always have a choice. Don't hide from anything, no matter how scary it may be, or how hard, you have the right to do what you believe in. Follow your heart. Yes, at times you may choose wrong, you may fall down many, many times. But in the end, what truly counts, is that you are honest with yourself, with others. And don't let anyone ever stop you from doing what you want to do. 

    The last page of Requiem, page 391, will forever stay with me. I've told many people already - I want to get another copy of this book so I can tear the last page out and frame it. It's something that I want to remind myself of. It's something that I want my kids to know... 
    "Tear down the walls."
    Don't build barricades around yourself, or you'll always live in fear.

    I highly recommend this series to everyone. Love is not a disease. Fear is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    The conclusion to this series wa everything it should be. The e

    The conclusion to this series wa everything it should be. The ending was just right. Oliver writes beautifully and poetic. I loved
    how she showed that the ability to love and be loved should be experienced by all and that that meant more than whether or not Lena chose Alex or Julian. The story was bigger than that, and Oliver showed it in her novel. Now we are free to speculate what will happen next, but I have a feeling that all of my beloved characters will be just fine.



    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Amazing

    Needs to be A 4 OR MABY A post short story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    Stop reading the negative reviews now! They won't get you in a g

    Stop reading the negative reviews now! They won't get you in a good mindset to read this book.
    Yes, much is left unsaid. 
    Yes, you will be slightly disappointed.

    But not as much as you will be if you don't read it. Lena evolves beautifully throughout the third book.
    And Hana's character is well developed.
    The love triangle is slightly aggravating, but it's written in a way that reminds the reader that romantic love is not the only reason they fight. Oliver does a wonderful job reminding readers that her character fight for all forms of love and freedom.
    This book is worth reading! Heartbreak and all, you'll still love the characters because you see them grow and fight and you've walked the wilds with them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Love

    Great end to the trilogy ....im still team Alex

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    I adored the finale to Lauren Oliver's Delirium trilogy

    I found Requiem to be quite a captivating conclusion to Lauren Oliver's Delirium trilogy. I particularly enjoyed the fact that it included Hana's perspective as well as Lena's. It allowed an imput on life inside the border as well as in the Wilds. Hana's perspective allowes the readers to understand how much Lena transformed throughout the series. Wheb i first read the ending I was slightly startled at the unanswered questions, but I then relized how much better the ending is without ball of our questions answers. Lena and her companious fight is obviously not over, but Lauren Oliver allowed the readers to arrange the pieces that complete the story in a way that pleases the reader, but includes the answers to most important issues and questiins that remained unanswered throughout the first two books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    My waiting is finally over. Before this came out in my country,

    My waiting is finally over.
    Before this came out in my country, i was looking through the reviews of like, 10 people and most of them were disappointed. I was starting to get scared but i just had to finish this trilogy, i wouldn't get carried away by some reviews. Lauren is awesome. I wake up every morning and wish that it was out already. Especially pandemonium's last word. "Alex". I JUST HAD TO KNOW. I WAS MOURNING TOGETHER WITH LENA! 

    Oh and when Hana confessed that she told on them, i was so freaking furious. Hana WAS my favorite character, now I just loathe her. AND Lu. I...can't.
    After reading it, my mind went blank. It's over. But i am absolutely happy that i have read this trilogy. It was BEAUTIFULLY created. And i have no other words that can describe it. I would be thrilled if this was longer but it's also good that Lauren left some things unsaid. Because we all know that the Invalids can't win yet. They have a long way to go. But they have each other, they can cope up. What bothered me the most was Alex and Julian. What will Lena do about it? I can't believe it's over. I love it so much. I would definitely recommend this trilogy to EVERYONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Amazing finish

    Great way to end the short but beautiful series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Want a free ipad?

    Kiss your hand three times, repost this three times then look under your pillow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Very powerful touching book.

    I have to say I waited a long time to buy this last book because of the reviews from other readers. I have to say that I strongly disagree with the reviews I have read. I put off buying this book and have read so much garbage. If you are like me and have read reviews and don't get this book then you truly are missing out. I think this writer is one of the best. But what I like most is that she didn't finish the book with an they all lived happily ever after ending. Instead the ending is realistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Ending sucks? Spoilers

    SPOiLERS- What i dont get is why everyone says that the ending of this book sucks. Of course, there was no concrete ending, but it couldve been worse. For example, everyone couldve died. Then u could picture people being mad about. You all are saying that Oliver took the easy way out with the ending, but she decided to let people create ther own ending. If you wanted Lena to end up with Alex, you could create that ending. The same goes for Julian. Everyone just shut up and use your imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Requiem

    Is an amazing book and keeps you guessing and reading. I love the derilium trilogy its breath taking. If youre looking for a romantic, action packed book this is the trilogy to read with a surprising ending. Youll be begging for more....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7