Customer Reviews for

Requiem for a Dream

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 39 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2003

    Scary, but for the grace of God...

    go I! This book is haunting in its description of addiction - a cunning, baffling and incurable disease, ending with jails, institutions or death, unless one finds recovery, which I did thankfully! His style of prose is streetwise and poetic, a gospel that doesn't need to rely on empty metaphor to convey its depth. A beautiful read that I will never, never forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2003

    It's sucha compelling tale of addiction and falsened hope!

    This book was absolutely amazing. I am 17 years old and I read this book for the first time 3 years ago. It frightened me beyond belief. It is a dark story about people who are set on following their dreams and as their dreams fail and fade away they follow unwillingly, until they meet their demise. Seeing these 4 characters getting sucked into the world of drugs and addiction made me fear for not only my life but also the life of all around me. I started takling against drug abuse and such. Selby is a literary genius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2002

    My Personal Favorite...

    First off, Hubert Selby, Jr. is an amazing author. This book is so amazing. It is captivating and gripping until the very end. I couldn't put it down until I finished it. Like I tell everyone, the only reason I finished it on the second day was b/c I had to sleep on the first. The book was so great. After I read it I decided to name the kitten that my boyfriend got me, Marion. It is definitely my favorite book and it you haven't read it, READ IT!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2001

    The Greatest Book In All The Land

    This book was the best book I've ever the read in my entire life. Huburt Selby Jr. Is an absolute genius. You will NOT regret reading this excellent, excellent book! You should also watch the movie directed by Darren Arnofsky, it is the best movie I've ever seen, All the actors are amazing, I was especially surprised at Marlon Wayans acting ability

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2001

    I could only give a 5. I wish I could've given more

    Requiem for a Dream is a fantastic book. I absolutely loved it. Fortunately, I read the book before I saw the movie. The movie was just as good, maybe even better. Ellen Burstyn gave the best performance I have ever seen from any actress EVER! Julia Roberts did not deserve that OSCAR. Well, the reason it's called REQUIEM FOR A DREAM is because it's a novel that shows the death of everyone's anathema...THE AMERICAN DREAM. This dream is never accomplished by any of the four main characters in the story. In their attempt to finally reach that dream they blindingly plunge into an abysmal state of lunacy. There might never be a requiem for the AMERICAN DREAM because it might just kill us before we ever get to have a taste of it. This book portrays this theme perfectly. The movie is more shocking than the book, but it's still one of the greatest books I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 39 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2