BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Requiem for the Sun (Symphony of Ages Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Tremendous detao Tre One tremendous book

    The thougt and detail used to set the theme and characters is remarkable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    AWESOME SERIES!

    THIS A SERIES THAT YOU CAN REALLY SINK YOUR TEETH INTO. IT HAS EVERYTHING YOU WANT IN A GOOD READ. IT IS A STAY UP LATE AND KEEP READING TYPE OF BOOK AND THE ONLY BAD THING ABOUT IT IS THAT THE NEXT ONE IN THE SERIES AFTER "THE ASSASSIN KING" IS NOWHERE TO BE FOUND. WHAT HAPPENED? WILL IT BE COMING OUT SOON?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2005

    Loved it!

    Read this whole series. This book captivated me just like the others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2005

    Not Enough Action

    This book was ok but not as good as the others, it was peaceful in the beggining and then suddenly wham everything roles into chaos. The ending came suddenly too. It wasnt terrible, but compared to Rhapsody, Phrophecy and Destiny the action was lacking. Rhapsody is the person who saves people and never needs to be saved herself, but that came in for an interesting read though a little out of her character. I cant wait for the next one im just waiting for Ashe to do somthing stupid and Achmeds hard pactience will finally pay off!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    Great Book

    This book was very good. It dragged on a little bit in some parts. Just to make it clear to everyone who doesn't know it was written by ELIZABETH HAYDON, not Sara Douglass. She's awesome too, but just to let ya'll know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2004

    incredible

    at first i thought the book was going to be a real drag, but after the first few pages i was in love!!! it is a great book and there needs to be more!! =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2004

    wonderful book

    great book, as to the first reveiw, the author is elizabeth haydon, not sarah douglass. Sarah douglass is a great author as well and im just trying to clarify things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2004

    Fabulous Book, Fabulous Series

    I am so happy to see thw Symphony of Ages didn't stop with the Rhapsody trilogy. I cried when I finished Destiny, not just because parts of it were very moving, but because I was sad that I would not have the joy of reading about these characters again. Seeing them a little later in history, in different roles but with the same undying bond, was thrilling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2003

    The best book

    This is one of the greayest books I have ever read. Haydon has outdone herself with this book and the Rhapsody series. I totally recommend this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2003

    BUGGERING B******S!!

    AW MAN!! ok, so I admit, I'm jumping to conclusions because I haven't finished the book, but if Achmed even DARES to fall in love with somebody else, I will be SO PO'D! I absolutely LOVE Achmed, and if he isn't single anymore, there go all my daydreams. I know, he was in love with Rhapsody already, but at least then he was still single because she was already taken. I WILL BE SOOOO MAD AT DOUGLASS IF HE FALLS IN LOVE. Well, anyway, it's a great book, and I greatly recomend all of Sarah Douglass' books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2003

    Great Read

    Another great book in this series. It draws you into great intrugue and romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2003

    Awesome!

    This is a fantastic book. Elizabeth Haydon is amazing. If you havn't read her books, you should, so you can fall in love with her characters too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2003

    Not a terrible loss

    I like the mundane things of life and found a break from 'hack slash ride kill rescue' more than welcome. By the way, for those few of you who mentioned wondering where Meridion, well you obviously didn't read too well...the child she's carrying IS Meridion. She says so right there in the pages of the book. I love the characters and the story. However, the characters seemed...lacking. It was almost as though they had lost their flare, those small little habits and natures they had that made them such facinating characters. It was regained in the last few chapters, but almost the entire book was a bit..out of normal. Also, the emotional bonds were a bit more understated, and those were always what I enjoyed the most. In conclusion, not as good as the first three, but not disappointing. Also, it's a book in a good series, which leaves it filling in many questions I had about the plot at the ending of the third book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2003

    Didn't live up to the hype

    I, like many of the reviewers, was so excited to find out that there was a fourth book. I definately thought that the series was over, and was estatic that Ms. Haydon decided to start another Trilogy. Then, I read the book, and I was so caught up in trying to figure out the tie to the colors and notes and the characters-- like trying to solve a riddle. Unfortunately, Ms. Haydon's story does not read as well as the Rhapsody trilogy, and I was quite disappointed with all the people that were believed to be dead and weren't. Also, where is Meridian? Was anybody the least bit interested in where he was? Achmed is indeed my favorite character, the only really enjoyable parts of this book were what happening in the his kingdom. I am really interested in seeing where she will go with some of the characters, I felt that by the end of the book, especially with the conclusion, Ms. Haydon had gotten her groove back, and look forward to more books from the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2003

    Fast paced and magical

    I was cheered immensely to find that the Rhapsody saga was going to continue past the first three volumes. The close of the trilogy was almost like the death of a friend to me; it was both gratifyin to reach the end, but sad that it was over. Then along came Requiem for the Sun, which is a bright, fast moving, action packed thrill ride. I found the language exciting and the humor flawless. It's great to see an author able to close a chapter in a tale but continue on with a greater saga, one that will hopefully continue for years to come. As long as the story remains this fresh, unlike the boring strung out tales of Terry Brooks and Terry Goodkind, it will continue to be among my top favorites in the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2003

    I agree

    I have to agree with the others here that this latest hayden novel is disappointing in many ways. I *do* think it was rushed. I *do* think this could have been much better. I *do* think there are better books out there to spend 20 quid on. I liked the Ruin Mist trilogy, Keeper Martin, Elf Queen, Kingdom Alliance a whole lot better than the original Rhapsody trilogy. I bought this hoping for an improvement over where that left off. Alas, I give this three stars because some parts were enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2003

    Promising, but terribly flawed

    The initial summary of the book is far superior to the actual story. In reading "Requiem", I get the impression that the author isn't sure what story she wants to tell until the half-way portion of the book. The opening portions deal primarily with a political battle over water rights and whether new allies can overcome past prejudices. That in itself could become a quite an entertaining story if handled properly. However, once the water starts to flow from the ancient fountain, (which is somehow able to funnel water washed in by the high tides only one a month from "a thousand miles away", yet Rhapsody experiences daily tidal flucuations later in the book) the assorted friends disperse to their various kingdoms and a new story begins; the capture and escape and search for Rhapsody. Here begin the major flaws I have with this story. The author seems to have great difficulty managing time and distance. Everything seems to be a thousand miles away from everything else and everything takes a thousand years. All the principal characters we come to know any true detail of have all been alive for a thousand years. We're repeatedly told that Rhapsody, Achmed, and Grunthor spent "a thousand years" traveling through the center of the earth. Yet, when they haven't seen each other for what appears to be a year or two, they behave as if eons have passed since they last shared each others' company. The first time Ashe travels to Basilica to meet with the priest, he is traveling with a full entourage and it takes rougly a week. Once Rhapsody has been kidnapped by the evil Michael, he and Achmed ride off alone, traveling day and night non-stop and can only better the travel time by a single day. This makes no sense. Then we have Rhapsody's condition. She is so violently ill she can barely stand after becoming pregnant we're too believe she is on death's door. Yet she is able to maintain her spirits and there is no mention of her illness after having spent "weeks and weeks" floating in an underwater cave? There are entirely too many inconsistencies in character, place, and tempo for this to be considered a quality story. We are told that Achmed is the most feared assassin in the world, yet we never see any indication of his abilities. Esten appears to be quite lethal, but only in one instance against an unarmed pregnant woman. Grunthor is little more than comic relief. I enjoy the settings and the varied landscape, but there too many loose ends and inconsistencies in the execution of the idea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2002

    Not as Good as the First Three

    I have to say this book disappointed me. What I loved so much about the Rhapsody trilogy was not present in this novel. Haydon's writing and story and characters were all so refreshing and original to me when I read the trilogy, and with Requiem, I felt she didn't do enough with introducing new elements or themes or characters. Instead, she relied on rehashing old plots (and even old characters! Michael, anyone?). And can anyone tell me what the point of all that political nonsense was in Sorbold? Boring. I think that she wrapped up the trilogy so nicely that it didn't need this book. I feel Requiem was created out of haste and perhaps a desire for another hit or more money. Haydon's enormous talent should have been spent on creating new worlds and wonderful characters, what she is so good at.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2003

    The Three are back again!

    I was very thrilled that the series didn't end with Destiny and I did enjoy Requiem for the sun a lot, but I found myself struggling with the first half of the book. It was a bit boring and I hoped that all of it would make sense in the end. It did, but there could have been some description cut off. I still love it though! Achmed is my favorite character, but I don't hate Ashe either, there were alot of scenes to make you love them even more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2002

    A fourth? HORRAY!!

    I have to say, Elizabeth Haydon is one of my all time favorite authors. She was once an editor, so her works are always well organized and have little, if no, mistakes. This book continues the Three's adventures nicely. Her characters are very memorable, and beliveable. Personally, my favorite is Achmed, though, that does make me pretty biased when it comes to Ashe... I'll have to say is that I hope Achmed and Rhapsody get together in the end. I thought for sure that the serese was over with the last of the trilogy, but I was shocked when I found this one. I hope she will continue to write more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3