BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Requiem for the Sun (Symphony of Ages Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    AWESOME SERIES!

    THIS A SERIES THAT YOU CAN REALLY SINK YOUR TEETH INTO. IT HAS EVERYTHING YOU WANT IN A GOOD READ. IT IS A STAY UP LATE AND KEEP READING TYPE OF BOOK AND THE ONLY BAD THING ABOUT IT IS THAT THE NEXT ONE IN THE SERIES AFTER "THE ASSASSIN KING" IS NOWHERE TO BE FOUND. WHAT HAPPENED? WILL IT BE COMING OUT SOON?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2005

    Loved it!

    Read this whole series. This book captivated me just like the others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2004

    incredible

    at first i thought the book was going to be a real drag, but after the first few pages i was in love!!! it is a great book and there needs to be more!! =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2004

    wonderful book

    great book, as to the first reveiw, the author is elizabeth haydon, not sarah douglass. Sarah douglass is a great author as well and im just trying to clarify things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2004

    Fabulous Book, Fabulous Series

    I am so happy to see thw Symphony of Ages didn't stop with the Rhapsody trilogy. I cried when I finished Destiny, not just because parts of it were very moving, but because I was sad that I would not have the joy of reading about these characters again. Seeing them a little later in history, in different roles but with the same undying bond, was thrilling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2003

    The best book

    This is one of the greayest books I have ever read. Haydon has outdone herself with this book and the Rhapsody series. I totally recommend this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2003

    BUGGERING B******S!!

    AW MAN!! ok, so I admit, I'm jumping to conclusions because I haven't finished the book, but if Achmed even DARES to fall in love with somebody else, I will be SO PO'D! I absolutely LOVE Achmed, and if he isn't single anymore, there go all my daydreams. I know, he was in love with Rhapsody already, but at least then he was still single because she was already taken. I WILL BE SOOOO MAD AT DOUGLASS IF HE FALLS IN LOVE. Well, anyway, it's a great book, and I greatly recomend all of Sarah Douglass' books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2003

    Great Read

    Another great book in this series. It draws you into great intrugue and romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2003

    Awesome!

    This is a fantastic book. Elizabeth Haydon is amazing. If you havn't read her books, you should, so you can fall in love with her characters too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2003

    Fast paced and magical

    I was cheered immensely to find that the Rhapsody saga was going to continue past the first three volumes. The close of the trilogy was almost like the death of a friend to me; it was both gratifyin to reach the end, but sad that it was over. Then along came Requiem for the Sun, which is a bright, fast moving, action packed thrill ride. I found the language exciting and the humor flawless. It's great to see an author able to close a chapter in a tale but continue on with a greater saga, one that will hopefully continue for years to come. As long as the story remains this fresh, unlike the boring strung out tales of Terry Brooks and Terry Goodkind, it will continue to be among my top favorites in the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2002

    A fourth? HORRAY!!

    I have to say, Elizabeth Haydon is one of my all time favorite authors. She was once an editor, so her works are always well organized and have little, if no, mistakes. This book continues the Three's adventures nicely. Her characters are very memorable, and beliveable. Personally, my favorite is Achmed, though, that does make me pretty biased when it comes to Ashe... I'll have to say is that I hope Achmed and Rhapsody get together in the end. I thought for sure that the serese was over with the last of the trilogy, but I was shocked when I found this one. I hope she will continue to write more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    Requiem for the Sun

    Like a boatload of Elizabeth Haydon fans, I was somewhat sick at the thought the Rhapsody trilogy would be the end of this fabulous story. Unlike the majority of current modern fantasy, Haydon has managed to create characters who are truly memorable and whose lives we want to follow, and storylines that begged to be continued. Thankfully, she has done this in Requiem for the Sun. Haydon moves beyond the tale of the trilogy into a new era, skillfully depicting how the past and the future can both compromise the present. The humor and the dark richness is even deeper, and while there is less romance and lore, it is a fast-paced action page-turner of a book. I hope this series never ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2002

    WONDERFUL !!!

    I read "Requiem for the Sun" on and off for about 4 days...could hardly put it down to go to work. Marvelous series. Love books that keep me captured from front to back. Impatinetly waiting for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2002

    I can't believe it has continued! Who hoo!

    I was so surprised looking at Elizabeth Haydon's website and seeing this new book of hers ready to be published this month! I just finished the first trilogy this past spring and was totally blown away. Her eloquence has not been surpassed in my opinion and Achmed is my favorite book character of all time. I can't wait to keep reading about these characters! Haydon creates such a rich and compelling world to fall into - something I haven't been able to do in a long time! I will certainly buy this book (maybe today!! :)) And i can't wait to see how all of these characters are continuing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2002

    Requiem for the Sun

    I am sooo pleased that the story continues. I was Very worried that it was going to end with Destiny. Requiem For The Sun looks very good and the storyline for it sounds great. A man that Rhapsody gave her heart to when she had no hope left is still alive and comes back to her. Her 3 hero men have to come and rescue her. One, Ashe, her husband and her soul mate. Two, Achmed, the man who seemingly loves Rhapsody, in my opinion, more than Ashe does. And three, Grunthor, Rhapsody's giant and overprotective friend. Not only this, but Rhapsody also has to try and keep the unborn child in her safe. It sounds very good and i can't wait till i have the book in my hands!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2002

    Another stunning achievement

    Just fromt he excepts you can see that Elizabeth Haydon has done it again. Crisp, beautiful writing and my favorite characters in all of fantasy, espeically Achmed the snake. Ms. Haydon is the best and I'm glad to see she's doing more in this sereis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2002

    Requiem for the Sun

    I am so glad that the story continues. i was really mad when the last one ended and i am so glad that Elizabeth Haydon is continuing the story. I hope that Achmed and Rhapsody get together *crosses fingers*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2002

    A Joy to Read...

    "Requiem for the Sun" is Elizabeth Haydon¿s sequel to the best selling "Rhapsody" Trilogy. From the very beginning of the book she takes a tangled skein of plot threads, from the ancient past and the present, and weaves them into a richly colored and very satisfying novel. We begin three years after the almost cataclysmic conclusion of "Destiny: Child of the Sky." King Achmed and Sergeant-Major Grunthor are overseeing the Bolg restoration of Ylorc. A severe drought is crippling Yarim and their normal water supply has dried up. Only the monstrous Firbolg have the skill and the muscle to restore the water supply. But the nobles of Yarim aren¿t exactly happy to have the savages in their lands. The Lord and Lady Cymrian, Ashe and Rhapsody, decide it is time to have a child. To the south, the death of the Dowager Empress, and her heir, leaves Sorbold in chaos while they select a new leader. Meanwhile an ancient evil, bent on torture and destruction, looms just over the horizon. We learn even more about the characters we¿ve come to know and love over the course of the "Rhapsody" trilogy and are introduced to other equally enjoyable characters never seen in the series until now. There are plenty Haydonesque plot twists and dialog quips. Readers will be delighted. It was a joy to read. "Requiem for the Sun" is another outstanding movement in Elizabeth Haydon¿s "The Symphony of Ages."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2002

    Requiem for the Sun

    I was so scard that Destiny was the last of these books. I was literally devasted when I finished the last book of the Rhapsody trilogy. Thankfully Requiem continues the story on. The excerpts all show it to be a fabulous continuation of the best epic fantasy series out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    filled with romance, sword and sorcery battles, and political upheaval

    After all the battles, adventures and trials Rhapsody the singer, Achmed the Firbolg king, and Grunthor his Sergeant-Major have gone through, they are now at peace with themselves and the world around them. Achmed and Grunthor are rebuilding the once mighty civilization in the ruins of Ylorc. Rhapsody and her husband Ashe, who is part human and part dragon, are the titular rulers of the loosely federated Cymrian Alliance. None of them see trouble coming but it is out there waiting to ambush them. <P>In a time long ago in a place that no longer exists, Rhapsody pledged her love to the seneschal Michael to prevent him from harming innocents. Now he has come back for her and has taken her against her will, leaving it up to her husband and her two friends to rescue her, if they can. <P>This sequel to the Rhapsody trilogy is epic fantasy in the tradition of Tolkien and Terry Brooks. It also sets the stage for future works set in this fantasy world dealing with the Cymrian Alliance and the disintegration of the Sorbold Empire. REQUIEM FOR THE SUN is filled with romance, sword and sorcery battles, and political upheaval in a world that briefly knew peace. Elizabeth Haydon is a master storyteller who has cross-genre appeal. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2