Customer Reviews for

Rescue

Average Rating 3.5
( 377 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(99)

3 Star

(97)

2 Star

(44)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Readers will enjoy Anita Shreve's fascinating relationship tale.

In Hartstone, Vermont, paramedic Peter Webster stops at the scene of an apparent one car crash. Peter pulls out the unconscious driver Sheila Arsenalt who obviously was driving under the influence. He treats her injury.

Afterward he is drawn to her like a bear to h...
In Hartstone, Vermont, paramedic Peter Webster stops at the scene of an apparent one car crash. Peter pulls out the unconscious driver Sheila Arsenalt who obviously was driving under the influence. He treats her injury.

Afterward he is drawn to her like a bear to honey. They have an affair and eventually marry. Soon they have a daughter Rowan. However, parenthood does not abate Sheila's drinking. Instead she hits the bottle much more until she is in another car accident with Rowan as a passenger. To keep his wife out of jail, a desperate Webster sends Sheila away. Years later, a high school senior Rowan has begun drinking; hoping for A Change in Attitude, Webster begs for Sheila to come home to help their daughter.

Rescue is an entertaining family drama starring three intriguing characters that seem to prove love is not enough to cement strong relationships. Neither Peter (as heroic first responder - even meets a teen he brought into the world years ago in an emergency), Sheila (as a woman unable to stop from hurting those she loves or herself) or Rowan (teen in peril) are fully developed beyond their dysfunctional roles. Yet in spite of the characterization, readers will enjoy Anita Shreve's enjoyable relationship tale.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on October 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not Shreve's best

I listened to this audiobook. The production was acceptable, not outstanding. Ms. Shreve tells a good story here, but her dialogue seems awkward and forced. She could have done much more with this story. I have read most of her work, and this is not her best.

posted by Listeningartist on January 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 380 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Readers will enjoy Anita Shreve's fascinating relationship tale.

    In Hartstone, Vermont, paramedic Peter Webster stops at the scene of an apparent one car crash. Peter pulls out the unconscious driver Sheila Arsenalt who obviously was driving under the influence. He treats her injury.

    Afterward he is drawn to her like a bear to honey. They have an affair and eventually marry. Soon they have a daughter Rowan. However, parenthood does not abate Sheila's drinking. Instead she hits the bottle much more until she is in another car accident with Rowan as a passenger. To keep his wife out of jail, a desperate Webster sends Sheila away. Years later, a high school senior Rowan has begun drinking; hoping for A Change in Attitude, Webster begs for Sheila to come home to help their daughter.

    Rescue is an entertaining family drama starring three intriguing characters that seem to prove love is not enough to cement strong relationships. Neither Peter (as heroic first responder - even meets a teen he brought into the world years ago in an emergency), Sheila (as a woman unable to stop from hurting those she loves or herself) or Rowan (teen in peril) are fully developed beyond their dysfunctional roles. Yet in spite of the characterization, readers will enjoy Anita Shreve's enjoyable relationship tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Not Shreve's best

    I listened to this audiobook. The production was acceptable, not outstanding. Ms. Shreve tells a good story here, but her dialogue seems awkward and forced. She could have done much more with this story. I have read most of her work, and this is not her best.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    TO THE "REVIEWERS" WHO FEEL A NEED TO GIVE AWAY THE ENTIRE BOOK

    This is a spot for us to give our "view" on the book NOT to tell what happens from the first page to the last..............please people, stop spoiling the books for everyone. You're supposed to just say whether you liked it or not.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Shreve is a wonderful story teller.

    RESCUE Anita Shreve RESCUE is about a man whose work is to save lives in spite of his self-destructive family. This one is about coping with what is dealt, dealing with life and making the best of it. There are unpredictable choices to be made, alcoholism to deal with, search for hope, a man desperate to protect his daughter, vulnerable people, and lots of problems to solve, such is life as most of us know it. It is a poignant story about a good man who makes a mistake, but takes full responsibility for his actions. Peter Webster, the main protagonist, is a conscientious and loving parent and a hard-working man who accepts the fact that he must make the best of a bad situation. He is a person we can admire and rally around. The Sheila character, however, is a tortured soul who lacks the ability to comprehend that no one can help her deal with herself but herself. Shreve is a wonderful story teller who delivers reality with feeling and generosity. I enjoy all of her books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Can you save someone else from their demons?

    Peter Webster was 21 when he literally saved Sheila Arsenault's life. His EMT team was responding to the call for medical assistance and they met. While these were less than ideal circumstances a relationship was formed and Sheila grabbed on with both hands to Webster's lifeline. Webster had the one and only thing Sheila craved - normalcy.

    Sheila comes with excessive baggage to the relationship but Webster ignores it all and falls in love despite the huge problems. They have a daughter, Rowan and Webster prays that this will bring Sheila to her senses and have her stop the spiral of destruction she keeps putting herself into. But with all hopes and dreams this one for Webster is short-lived and he takes the matter of caring for his daughter in his own hands. Sheila cannot be a mother and a drunk and when he made her choose it left Webster alone to raise Rowan.

    Life seemed ideal until Rowan hit 17 and beyond the regular adolescent angst Rowan turns angry toward him and Webster is powerless to figure out why. He reaches out to Sheila who has been gone for 15 years and the timing could not have been better as Rowan has found herself in a situation even an EMT can't save her from. Will Sheila being back help or hurt the life Webster has made he doesn't know but for Rowan any risk is worth taking.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Stop spoiling books

    Reviews are not supposed to be a ccomplete summary of the book! They are for people who have not read it to decide if they want to read it, but there is no point when u already know whats going to happen!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    Disappointing

    Quite honestly, this book didn't hold me so much. The style of writing was confusing and unclear...the plot was mediocre and the ending was abrupt. Disappointing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    RESCUE

    Little Brown Publishing
    Release Date: November 30, 2010

    Paul Webster is working as an Emergency Medical Technician. On one of his first calls he pulls a beautiful woman from the wreckage, she never should have survived but Sheila Arsenault pulls through and is released from the hospital. Webster just can't get her out of his mind and breaking all the rules of his job tracks her down and they become involved in a torrid love affair. She becomes pregnant and the relationship that probably would have fizzled if allowed to run it's course is now moving full speed ahead. When she does something unforgivable, Webster is forced to give her some money and send her away, both for her own good and his.

    It is now eighteen years later, Webster has raised his daughter on his own, but lately she seems to be on a course headed for destruction. Maybe she needs her mom to help her get back on tracks but does he really want to invite her back into their lives? Is he ready to forgive her? Is he ready to answer all the questions his daughter will have?

    I couldn't put this book down it was so good. I read almost the whole thing in one sitting. I love this author and the way she writes. You are just drawn right in from page one. Her characters are easy to identify with, the story is current and real, you feel you are almost right there with them with their story unfolds right before your eyes. This is sure to land on the bestseller's list and remain there a while. It is one you will truly want to read and maybe more than once. It is definitely one for the keeper shelf.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received these books free from Little Brown, a Division of Hachette Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another hit by Shreve

    Shreve just nails it again. A story of a small family, torn apart by alcohol and the subtle turnings of life. It could grow sappy and overdone, but no - deftly worked and all told, the ending is like a soft turn of the page with that whisper of air that makes the reader breathe out more of the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Not a must read.

    Good thing I borrowed it from the library.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    Couldn't get into it.

    I really had high hopes for this book, and thought that I would love it. However, I could not get over the fact that the author starts every single paragraph with a character's name. The book is in third person so a name here or there is obviously required, but not in every single sentence.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Shreve at her weakest

    I did not enjoy this book. I am a huge fan of Anita Shreve and was surprised at her lack of originality and weak storyline. Surprised to see others enjoyed it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Another great story

    I've read most of Anita Shreve books, and this one did not disappoint. I am writing my review because I saw others were disappointed. I read this book in 1.5 days, the story was touching. She makes you feel for the characters and the transitioning from the past to the present was seamless. I highly recommend this book, especially if you are a parent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ABSORBING...CAN'T-PUT-DOWN STORY

    As soon as I started this book, I literally could not put it down. I'd highly recommend this title as well as an earlier book by the same author, "Sea Glass."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Poor Webster

    The first thing I "caught" in this book was the piece of land that Webster longs for, the house he dreams of building there, and I really thought that somewhere in the end this dream would come true.

    Enter Sheila and nothing is the same. I ask myself how someone so straight and narrow as Webster could fall in love with someone as "trashy and troubled" as Sheila. You can see right from the start that she is bad news and want to tell Webster to run the other way.

    The ending was too simplistic SPOILER ALERT

    Rowan is no longer troubled, Sheila is back in the picture and maybe back with Webster. I liked the book, it held my attention, easy read, would have ended it differently.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Rescue

    Very weak

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Good, easy read

    I liked it. Read really quick. One or two parts were iffy. But it made me want to keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Easy REading

    Great-good-enjoyable----easy to read in a day or so Good for a day saying out of the sun or rain or snow ENJOY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Thought provoking

    Wonderful story that makes us question how far we will go for the ones we love. She addresses real issues with strong characters. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Not Anita Shreve's best

    I was hopeful that this would be a better read but it was just OK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 380 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19