Customer Reviews for

The Rescue

Average Rating 4.5
( 1045 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(646)

4 Star

(247)

3 Star

(96)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Ahhmazzing

WOW! This would have to be one of the best books I've read in awhile. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys the author or is just looking for a fantastic book, which keeps you on your toes. picked it up every free second I had. Once again Nicholas...
WOW! This would have to be one of the best books I've read in awhile. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys the author or is just looking for a fantastic book, which keeps you on your toes. picked it up every free second I had. Once again Nicholas Sparks keeps on pleasing his readers.This novel includes all of his writing trademarks, secretive pasts, a new love, tragedy, and a pleasing but shocking end. One day Denise and her speaking impaired son Kyle were in a tragic accident. Then Taylor, a volunteer fireman came along Denise and rescues Kyle. After some time together, they both have to face their pasts in order to make their love for each other to work out. Taylor tries to overcome the guilt of the tragic losses of two important people in his life and learning how to love and stay committed to a woman. Denise learns to let go of her wounded pasts and fears of her mother, Kyle's dad, Kyle, and letting someone get close to him.So in my opinion, from the ones I've read, The Rescue would be one of the best books Nicholas Sparks has written. I would put on my list of my top five favorite books. I loved the book and didn't find one negative thing about it. Every time you turn the page, something more shocking and unexpected happens. More secrets are revealed.If you're looking forward to reading a wonderful romance, then you should read this book. I promise you will love it. It's a wonderful book and ties the plots and characters perfectly together to form a marvelous love story.Read it, and when you finish, you won't be disappointed.

posted by ilovechar on January 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Bland

This book tells the story of Denise Holton, an isolated, poverty-stricken single mother of a handicapped four year old boy who is rescued by Taylor McAden, volunteer fireman and construction worker during a storm in North Carolina. As you can expect, the two eventually ...
This book tells the story of Denise Holton, an isolated, poverty-stricken single mother of a handicapped four year old boy who is rescued by Taylor McAden, volunteer fireman and construction worker during a storm in North Carolina. As you can expect, the two eventually get to know each other and fall in love. This book was okay. It moves awfully slow, with long, drawn-out scenes heaped with exaagerated melodrama. Neither Taylor or Denise are very likeable characters in my mind, and the ending (before the epilogue) is messy. But it's your basic sappy love story and I enjoyed some parts of it.

posted by Anonymous on August 19, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1048 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 53
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    Amazing - Highly Recommened

    This is, by far, my favorite Nicholas Sparks book to date!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2002

    I would give it 10 stars if i could.

    This is the second book I've read by Sparks, the first being Message in a bottle. I have to say although it was good, it can't compare to The Rescue. The Rescue is by far the best book I have read in a long time. I absolutely recommend it to anyone. I LOVED this book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2000

    Predictable

    Gag me with a spoon!!!!!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2015

    Heart warming

    Such a good read...I loved this book so much. I cried so hard at the end because it was unexpected :( It touched my heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2015

    Grab your tissues

    On man i could not put this book down, i red it in about 3 days, such a great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Another great book written by Nicholas Sparks.  Within the first

    Another great book written by Nicholas Sparks.  Within the first two chapters I knew I was going to love this book.  Towards the end, I could not even put this book down because I just wanted to see how this book ended.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    I highly recommend reading this book. I thoroughly enjoyed and couldn't put it down.

    Nicholas Sparks wrote a great book when he wrote this story. It was so intriguing and couldn't wait to find out what was going to happen next. It was heart wrenching.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    I love this book

    I have this book at my house and i loved it!!!!! I am fifteen years old and i love nicholis sparks!!! He is a very good author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Good

    Like all of his books the same

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Must read if you like Sparks

    Amazing find

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Superb....

    Wonderful read....as usual !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Wonderful, heart warming story

    Thoroughly enjoyed story - recommended reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    :)

    Great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    Great book - must read!

    I bought this book when they offered it as a daily deal and I am so glad I did. I really enjoyed it. I hope they turn this one into a movie as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This is my favorite Nicholas Sparks book! Soo good!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    This book should be made into Nicholas Sparks' next movie. I re

    This book should be made into Nicholas Sparks' next movie. I really enjoyed this story and the message it had to share. A very heartwarming story of the real power of love and what it can offer if one allows it into their life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Fav!

    This one in my opinion is his best yet!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Great read

    Great read

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2004

    LOSING THE SPARK

    It is a pity that an author who has achieved a best-selling status failed to retain the standards expected of him. But as Edith Sitwell once said that an enormous success doesn't mean that a writer is an estimable one. Nicolas Sparks, whose earlier success were accredited to The Notebook (published January 1998), A Message in a Bottle (January 1999), and A Walk to Remember (September 2000), the second and the third having been made into films, and current releases The Guardian (March 2004) and The Wedding (July 2004) failed to make a spark in The Rescue. Though Sparks used the same formula - characters haunted by their past or wrenching in their internal pains and obsessions- consequently trying to convince the crowd that emotional disturbances rule in humanity, it didn't really worked in this book. Although, perhaps, this issue ended happy, stereotypically it had been used in other novels long before his came out. Here is a single mother, Denise Holden, who is trying to cope up with her duty as a woman without a choice but to fully carry the burden of having a handicapped child, Kyle. When Denise smashed her car into a tree and discovered Kyle on her side when she regained her consciousness she made a bitter trek to rescue her son, that with the help of firefighter Taylor McAden who is also, surprise, nursing a bitter past. What resulted from the rescue delivered a journey into a romance which is quite sloppy no matter how hard the author tried to equate it with narrative opulence. What is notable here is Sparks's use of internal conflict, especially with Taylor who clings to interior monologues which he, however, failed to wield fully. One can skip several pages or read only a few lines per chapter and not lose grip of the outcome. In fact, it could be wrenched out of its unwanted paragraphs that it could very well become a short story. If the author had only polished his situations and narrative display it could have gained clear justice. What is notable here is Sparks's simplicity of language which is reminiscent of Hemingway but Spark didn't have the patience and he let go of his novel for publication without even, perhaps, refining it. I cannot but sympathize with other reviewers who gave the novel a drastic assessment for their analyses are well-founded. Others, on the hand, look at it as a romantic dilemma where they could relate with. So, what is new. Sparks tried to find congruency in his characters whom he have set as 'ordinary' to anticipate readers' appeal but frustrated us in The Rescue. But Sparks could always rise back from the ashes and regain his 'spark.'

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2002

    Boring!!!

    This is probably one of the most boring books I've ever read. It's the first I've read by this author and I don't plan to read any others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1048 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 53