Customer Reviews for

The Rescue

Average Rating 4.5
( 1035 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(640)

4 Star

(243)

3 Star

(96)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Ahhmazzing

WOW! This would have to be one of the best books I've read in awhile. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys the author or is just looking for a fantastic book, which keeps you on your toes. picked it up every free second I had. Once again Nicholas...
WOW! This would have to be one of the best books I've read in awhile. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys the author or is just looking for a fantastic book, which keeps you on your toes. picked it up every free second I had. Once again Nicholas Sparks keeps on pleasing his readers.This novel includes all of his writing trademarks, secretive pasts, a new love, tragedy, and a pleasing but shocking end. One day Denise and her speaking impaired son Kyle were in a tragic accident. Then Taylor, a volunteer fireman came along Denise and rescues Kyle. After some time together, they both have to face their pasts in order to make their love for each other to work out. Taylor tries to overcome the guilt of the tragic losses of two important people in his life and learning how to love and stay committed to a woman. Denise learns to let go of her wounded pasts and fears of her mother, Kyle's dad, Kyle, and letting someone get close to him.So in my opinion, from the ones I've read, The Rescue would be one of the best books Nicholas Sparks has written. I would put on my list of my top five favorite books. I loved the book and didn't find one negative thing about it. Every time you turn the page, something more shocking and unexpected happens. More secrets are revealed.If you're looking forward to reading a wonderful romance, then you should read this book. I promise you will love it. It's a wonderful book and ties the plots and characters perfectly together to form a marvelous love story.Read it, and when you finish, you won't be disappointed.

posted by ilovechar on January 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Bland

This book tells the story of Denise Holton, an isolated, poverty-stricken single mother of a handicapped four year old boy who is rescued by Taylor McAden, volunteer fireman and construction worker during a storm in North Carolina. As you can expect, the two eventually ...
This book tells the story of Denise Holton, an isolated, poverty-stricken single mother of a handicapped four year old boy who is rescued by Taylor McAden, volunteer fireman and construction worker during a storm in North Carolina. As you can expect, the two eventually get to know each other and fall in love. This book was okay. It moves awfully slow, with long, drawn-out scenes heaped with exaagerated melodrama. Neither Taylor or Denise are very likeable characters in my mind, and the ending (before the epilogue) is messy. But it's your basic sappy love story and I enjoyed some parts of it.

posted by Anonymous on August 19, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1038 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 52
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    Ahhmazzing

    WOW! This would have to be one of the best books I've read in awhile. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys the author or is just looking for a fantastic book, which keeps you on your toes. picked it up every free second I had. Once again Nicholas Sparks keeps on pleasing his readers.This novel includes all of his writing trademarks, secretive pasts, a new love, tragedy, and a pleasing but shocking end. One day Denise and her speaking impaired son Kyle were in a tragic accident. Then Taylor, a volunteer fireman came along Denise and rescues Kyle. After some time together, they both have to face their pasts in order to make their love for each other to work out. Taylor tries to overcome the guilt of the tragic losses of two important people in his life and learning how to love and stay committed to a woman. Denise learns to let go of her wounded pasts and fears of her mother, Kyle's dad, Kyle, and letting someone get close to him.So in my opinion, from the ones I've read, The Rescue would be one of the best books Nicholas Sparks has written. I would put on my list of my top five favorite books. I loved the book and didn't find one negative thing about it. Every time you turn the page, something more shocking and unexpected happens. More secrets are revealed.If you're looking forward to reading a wonderful romance, then you should read this book. I promise you will love it. It's a wonderful book and ties the plots and characters perfectly together to form a marvelous love story.Read it, and when you finish, you won't be disappointed.

    40 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    omg. this book was great. It was my favorite by nicholas sparks.

    omg. this book was great. It was my favorite by nicholas sparks.

    32 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2000

    A great story!

    This coming from a military man, who normally reads macho type books, this book was excellent. I am thankful for the switch. After reading The Notebook, I thought I had a new favorite book, til this one. A good book for everyone to read!

    23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The best!!!!

    I have all of Nicholas Sparks' books and this is one of my top 3 favorites. This book is amazing, everyone should read it.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    The Rescue is a gotta read book!!!

    It is about a girl named Denise Holton she was driving through a passive storm with her son Kyle Holton. Denise is trying to keep a head of the storm so she won’t get caught in it.
    Denise was on her way to her home town. When she swerved to miss a deer and wrecked. A guy from the fire department found her and asked her if she was ok. She turned around and said where is Kyle do you have him the guy said no he was not here when I got here. They found Kyle 5 hours after they reported him missing.
    Denise and Taylor MacAden fall in love. Kyle learns how to talk better than what he did in the beginning. He wants Taylor to be his dad because he thinks he is nice and loves his mom.
    Denise was happy that she wrecked because if she never wrecked she wouldn’t have met Taylor. Then Kyle wouldn’t have had a guy to talk to or do activities with and he wouldn’t have learned to talk so well.
    I love this book I would recommend this to anyone who loves love stories. It was a good book to read I really enjoyed it because it went from sad to love and that is a good thing.

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2003

    Bland

    This book tells the story of Denise Holton, an isolated, poverty-stricken single mother of a handicapped four year old boy who is rescued by Taylor McAden, volunteer fireman and construction worker during a storm in North Carolina. As you can expect, the two eventually get to know each other and fall in love. This book was okay. It moves awfully slow, with long, drawn-out scenes heaped with exaagerated melodrama. Neither Taylor or Denise are very likeable characters in my mind, and the ending (before the epilogue) is messy. But it's your basic sappy love story and I enjoyed some parts of it.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I luved it!!!

    wow! i just finished reading this a couple of minuets ago and it was amazing! Er.. i mean i loved it! But you have to read it to be sure if you do. i mean... im a picky reader i can only read super good books, and this one made my top five books!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2001

    He's done better....

    I don't know. Something about this book just didn't capture me like his other novels. The Notebook still stands as my favorite from Sparks.

    8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    hmmmm

    starts off very slow...till the end it picks up very nicely. still another great book by nicholas sparks!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2004

    Not his best book....

    I've been a fan of this author for a while now, but I was pretty disappointed with this book. It was incredibly boring!! Not only was it predictable but this story is very similar to his other ones. It is not refreshing at all. I've read half way through the book and wanted to throw it across the room...

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Very inspiring

    Good story line and the charactors just came to life with the help of great descriptions.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2007

    The Rescue

    In addition to reading a mandatory novel this summer, all of the incoming seniors at school were required to read a book of choice. I chose a novel entitled The Rescue, by Nicholas Sparks. I chose this book mainly because of the author¿s reputation. Nicholas Sparks is well known for his other novels such as The Notebook and A Walk to Remember. Having read both of those books and enjoying them, I thought this book would be just as impressing as his other literary pieces. My final decision as made as soon as I read the back cover and found out it was a love story. The book is about a single mother, Denise, who moves from a large city to a small town in the Southeastern United States because of her son, Kyle. He has a learning disability and is unable to process much of the information that he hears. Denise feels like it is necessary to move away from such a busy life and settle in a small area that will minimize distractions and allow her to spend more time with her seven year-old son. Within the first month of living in the town which she grew up in, she is involved in a terrible car accident, which results in the disappearance of her son. The volunteer firefighters come to the rescue and search all night for her son, but the efforts seem futile because Kyle cannot communicate and does not know what is going on. After Denise is taken to the hospital, one of the firefighters, Taylor, finds Kyle. Later, Denise runs into Taylor at the supermarket and thanks him profusely for saving her son. At this moment, a special bond seems to form between Kyle and Taylor. This surprises and touches Denise because not many people put up with his inability to communicate and nobody seems to have patience to speak to him. The novel explores the relationship between Denise and Taylor and how the two experience hardships. Denise¿s hard time trusting people and Taylor¿s tendency to shun commitment lead to many arguments leaving the reader to wonder if the two are compatible. I did not enjoy the book as much as I expected to for several reasons. First, I felt as if though the novel revealed too much of what the main character was thinking. Every situation was followed by a detailed description of everything going on inside Denise¿s mind. Because of this, the reader is not able to form their own opinion about a situation or try and guess how the protagonist is feeling. Second, Denise¿s character was irritating. She was not comfortable with herself and she underestimated people. Denise was never sure of what she wanted and once she acquired what she desired, she threw it away or made an excuse to forget about it. Also, Denise had a difficult time trusting people and because of this, she put up a barrier between herself and Taylor. Denise was a bitter character which led me to dislike her. She never realized that people were doing her favors and being nice to her son because they wanted to. She always expected that these people helping her wanted something in return which was never the case. Otherwise, the book was somewhat worthy because it was entertaining. It satisfied my needs for a love story to keep me occupied. The ending, although weak, was happy which left me feeling partly satisfied. I believe that Nicholas Sparks had the intention of illustrating human nature and the inability to trust completely. If this indeed was his purpose, I think he did fulfill it because Denise had an extremely hard time trusting anyone. Once she did, she did not do so completely. Also, Sparks wrote this novel to cater to the people looking for a sappy romantic novel with a happy ending. If he was looking to please romance fans, he accomplished his goals. If Nicholas Sparks was looking to write an original, unique, love story, he failed because the story line, characters, and ending were cliché in nature. I do not recommend this book unless it is to a person who is looking for a novel to read that does not require thinking.

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2000

    Awesome Story

    This was my favorite book by Nicholas Sparks so far! I read it in three days!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    I LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!

    That wa sthe best book i have ever read! The best ending i have read.... U have to read this

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    My fav book

    This book leaves you on the edge of your seat soo many times and I could read this book over and over again. Its romantic and sweet, and surprising :)

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    Wonderful read

    This story makes you fall in love with the characters. I wish that i had more from this amazing story, like a movie! Great, moving read.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2003

    Sparks to the rescue

    Nicholas Sparks is absolutely divine. For anyone who would adore a nice weekend with a book that could touch the deepest depths of your heart, the rescue should be TOPPEST on your list. For those of you who need assurance that life has something more to offer other than its ups and downs, THE RESCUE should be able to come...to the rescue!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Great

    I loved this book and recommend it to anyone who loves Nicholas Sparks books

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    One of his best!

    I love reading Nicholas Sparks books, but this one is definitely one of my favorites. It had me laughing and crying throughout the book! Loved it!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    Amazing - Highly Recommened

    This is, by far, my favorite Nicholas Sparks book to date!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1038 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 52