Customer Reviews for

The Rescue

Average Rating 4.5
( 1044 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(646)

4 Star

(246)

3 Star

(96)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Ahhmazzing

WOW! This would have to be one of the best books I've read in awhile. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys the author or is just looking for a fantastic book, which keeps you on your toes. picked it up every free second I had. Once again Nicholas...
WOW! This would have to be one of the best books I've read in awhile. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys the author or is just looking for a fantastic book, which keeps you on your toes. picked it up every free second I had. Once again Nicholas Sparks keeps on pleasing his readers.This novel includes all of his writing trademarks, secretive pasts, a new love, tragedy, and a pleasing but shocking end. One day Denise and her speaking impaired son Kyle were in a tragic accident. Then Taylor, a volunteer fireman came along Denise and rescues Kyle. After some time together, they both have to face their pasts in order to make their love for each other to work out. Taylor tries to overcome the guilt of the tragic losses of two important people in his life and learning how to love and stay committed to a woman. Denise learns to let go of her wounded pasts and fears of her mother, Kyle's dad, Kyle, and letting someone get close to him.So in my opinion, from the ones I've read, The Rescue would be one of the best books Nicholas Sparks has written. I would put on my list of my top five favorite books. I loved the book and didn't find one negative thing about it. Every time you turn the page, something more shocking and unexpected happens. More secrets are revealed.If you're looking forward to reading a wonderful romance, then you should read this book. I promise you will love it. It's a wonderful book and ties the plots and characters perfectly together to form a marvelous love story.Read it, and when you finish, you won't be disappointed.

posted by ilovechar on January 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Bland

This book tells the story of Denise Holton, an isolated, poverty-stricken single mother of a handicapped four year old boy who is rescued by Taylor McAden, volunteer fireman and construction worker during a storm in North Carolina. As you can expect, the two eventually ...
This book tells the story of Denise Holton, an isolated, poverty-stricken single mother of a handicapped four year old boy who is rescued by Taylor McAden, volunteer fireman and construction worker during a storm in North Carolina. As you can expect, the two eventually get to know each other and fall in love. This book was okay. It moves awfully slow, with long, drawn-out scenes heaped with exaagerated melodrama. Neither Taylor or Denise are very likeable characters in my mind, and the ending (before the epilogue) is messy. But it's your basic sappy love story and I enjoyed some parts of it.

posted by Anonymous on August 19, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 246 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    hmmmm

    starts off very slow...till the end it picks up very nicely. still another great book by nicholas sparks!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Very inspiring

    Good story line and the charactors just came to life with the help of great descriptions.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    Wonderful read

    This story makes you fall in love with the characters. I wish that i had more from this amazing story, like a movie! Great, moving read.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2003

    Sparks to the rescue

    Nicholas Sparks is absolutely divine. For anyone who would adore a nice weekend with a book that could touch the deepest depths of your heart, the rescue should be TOPPEST on your list. For those of you who need assurance that life has something more to offer other than its ups and downs, THE RESCUE should be able to come...to the rescue!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2002

    I would give it 10 stars if i could.

    This is the second book I've read by Sparks, the first being Message in a bottle. I have to say although it was good, it can't compare to The Rescue. The Rescue is by far the best book I have read in a long time. I absolutely recommend it to anyone. I LOVED this book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    I love this book

    I have this book at my house and i loved it!!!!! I am fifteen years old and i love nicholis sparks!!! He is a very good author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    :)

    Great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2002

    A Great Love Story!

    Nicholas Sparks has once again written a great love story. I loved the interaction between the characters. If you like uplifting, simple love stories that leave you feeling good inside, read The Rescue. Fans of Nicholas Sparks will absolutely love Shade of the Maple by Kirk Martin - he may be the next Nicholas Sparks!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2001

    a good rainy day book

    I thought this book was good - I couldn't put it down - but I also found it to be very predictable. I just had an ongoing sense of what was coming next throughout the whole thing. Very likable characters, good story line... just a little too cliche for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    A good read

    This is another good Sparks book but not my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    I recommend this book

    Good book, captivating and interesting story, tugs at the heartstrings. I like Nicholas Sparks books and would recommend them. I have read several of his books, and always enjoy them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    The Rescue

    Nicholas Sparks is one of my favorite authors. His books are better than the movies(except the notebook movie was better). I have a goal to read all his books, and he did write a lot of them. I have yet to be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Good but predictable

    Good read, but i could see the ending coming from far away. Wish it would have a bit more complex. I'd recommend to anyone looking for a love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Great book!

    This book was one of my favorites by Nicholas Sparks. And to the people who give detailed desciptions of the book in your reviews, including the ending..stop it!! As a mother this one touched my heart :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    This novel is by far ony of my favorite written by Sparks. In, &

    This novel is by far ony of my favorite written by Sparks. In, "The Rescue," Nicholas lays out a perfect picture of how a damaged past can hurt your future relationships. Denise Holton enters the small town of Edenton with her son Kyle alone and unaware of what the future may hold. Denise and Kyle are both in a tragic car accident where Taylor McAden comes to the rescue and not only saves Kyle, but starts a relationship with Denise that has many downfalls, but a promising future. Denise and Taylor both battle internal conflict dealing with relationships of the past, whether it be the loss of a family member or the hurt from an ex. These two characters have support from friends,co-workers, and even a 4-year-old son to get them to their happy ever after whether it's with each other, or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Okay Book!

    This book did not keep my attention at first. Once Taylor made his appearance, I had to keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Great

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    I liked it

    It's no safe haven, but I did enjoy reading this. brought a smile to my face and some tears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Good book

    Started slow but ended well

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    This guy never cease to amaze me. I've read almost all his books

    This guy never cease to amaze me. I've read almost all his books and have never been disappointed on any of them. I would definitely recommend this book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 246 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13