BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Rescued

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. It wasn't short like so many IR nove

    I really enjoyed this book. It wasn't short like so many IR novels tend to be and liked that the two main characters didn't just jump right into bed together. It's a good read that takes us from New Orleans to England.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Smile

    Really liked the book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. I can't wait for other books from th

    I really enjoyed this book. I can't wait for other books from this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    What a wonderful book! It took me weeks to decide if I wanted t

    What a wonderful book! It took me weeks to decide if I wanted to read this book and I am so glad I did. I don't normally like books about black during the 1800's b/c of all the racisim but this book wasn't like that. Of course racsim was brought up but it wasn't as harsh as some other books I've read. I adored Amelia and Jordan. I loved how absolutley sweet she was (at times I wanted to choke her for being too nice lol) and I loved how the only person how could put a fire into her was Jordan. I enjoyed their fights, they were so passionate. And the making up afterwards was wonderful. Do yourself a favor and read this book. You won't regret it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    I received a copy of this book from the author in return for an

    I received a copy of this book from the author in return for an honest review.

    I love a good romance story, so when I was offered this book, I jumped at the chance. I'm glad I did, because I really enjoyed it.

    Amelia Marriott is an intriguing character. She is the maid/cook for a family called Bradford. She is a bit on the shy side, but she has an inner strength that comes to the fore. I really liked her a lot.

    Jordan Bradford is the head of the Bradford household. He is also an intriguing character. He has a wonderful personality and is a loving brother to little Georgia. I liked him a lot too!

    I wasn't sure what to expect when I first started to read this story, but from the first page I was hooked! This story is set in New Orleans in 1872. I must admit that I have not read many interracial historical romances, but this story was very enjoyable. There are some interesting characters that help bring the book to life. Little Georgia (Jordan's sister) is a gem! She is only six, but she had me giggling at her antics. Morgan, Amelia's suitor, on the other hand is an old pervert! His attitude made me want to punch him! Or at least report him to the police! The story is told through several points of view, but Amelia and Jordan are the main characters. They make a lovely couple, but the prejudice they face is still relevant to this day. I personally have no issue with interracial relationships, but a lot of people do. Interracial relationships in the 1800's was rather a risque thing to do, and several families were broken because of it. Both Amelia and Jordan, in my opinion, were very brave to incur the wrath of their respective families. There are several twists and turns that surprised me, and the ending left me smiling. 

    Arlene Lam has written a fast paced historical romance that flowed beautifully. Her use of colloquial Southern language made the characters become more real. I would definitely consider reading more of her books in the future.

    I highly recommend this book if you love historical romances. - Lynn Worton

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Anonoymous

    This book was so good! All 311 pages of it. This was indeed surprisingly so thorough There was sudh a build up not rushed the back ground on thr characters were wrll wrltten. I will be buying this author's book in future as she hasbecome one of my favorite. What a delightful book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Very Nicely Done Story

    A full length book with well crafted believable characters that you care about. The story is of a love affair between a black woman and white man in the late 1800s that is funny, sad, joyful, and hopeful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Great

    Great book and story line . Loved all the chatacters and the romantic scenes were tastefull and sensual. Can't wait for next series !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1