BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Rescuing Christmas: Holiday Haven\Home for Christmas\A Puppy for Will

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Holiday Haven All Ben Rhodes wants for Christmas is to be left a

    Holiday Haven
    All Ben Rhodes wants for Christmas is to be left alone. And yet, in a fit of Christmas-cheer-induced insanity, he agrees to help beautiful shelter director Tansy Dexter find homes for all her rambunctious animals. Little does he know that the one truly in need of a loving home this season …is him. (via Goodreads)
    Review: I really didn’t enjoy this novella. Honestly, I started this book last Christmas and didn’t realize that it was a set of novellas so I put it aside. It ended up being ok but not something I’d read again.
    Author: Vicki Lewis Thompson
    Grade: C
    Steam: Adult +

    Home for Christmas
    Tech Sargent Alex Conrad is home on leave this Christmas. The only plans he has is saying goodbye to his marriage and the only woman he’s ever loved. He really doesn’t want the marriage to end, but she’s unhappy and he’ll do anything he can to see her smile again.
    As a special marriage farewell his wife, Shelby, has committed them to delivering three puppies to their forever homes – great, he’ll be cooped up in a confined space with a woman he loves but can’t touch!
    Review: This was terribly sad but a good book. It’s quite steamy but felt so real you really don’t even question it.
    Author: Catherine Mann
    Grade: B+
    Steam: Adult +

    A Puppy for Will
    Will can’t believe his Grandmother talked him into fostering a puppy as big as a horse! What was she thinking?!?! She’s probably hoping that Will will leave the office once in a while but he’s way to busy trying to prove the software reviewer who has been criticizing his work wrong and hiding from emotional entanglements… until the puppy takes a liking to his new neighbor.
    Review: Absolutely adorable!! The best of the set!
    Author: Kathie DeNosky
    Grade: A
    Steam: Adult +


    Hott Review
    While overall I enjoyed this set it wasn’t my favorite. The first seemed to drag and then I just wasn’t into the others. The set isn’t a waste of time – but I’d borrow not buy.

    More…
    Source: Harlequin via Netgalley
    Grade: B
    Steam: Adult +

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Excellent

    All three short stories were fun, lively warmhearted stories revolving around the Haven Animal Rescue and Adoption center. Three special couples either find love or heal there brokenhearts with the help of some very loving dogs and cats.
    I enjoyed this book thoughly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Three sweet Christmas tales loosely connected through a Humane S

    Three sweet Christmas tales loosely connected through a Humane Shelter and the love that rescues can bring to our lives. 




    Holiday Haven by Vicki Lewis Thompson – Television cameraman Ben doesn't want the pain losing love can bring so he holds himself apart with only casual hookups.  Shelter director Tansy knows that love sometimes hurts but oh the joy of having had it.  Ben & Tansy meet when she is at the station asking for people to foster shelter animals over the holidays.  Can Tansy and crotchety cat Max show Ben that love is something everyone needs?




    Home for Christmas by Catherine Mann – Being a military wife is tough.  With their marriage on the rocks Shelby hopes that when Alex comes home on holiday leave a trip to deliver some shelter dogs to their forever homes will give them time to talk.  Can their marriage be saved?




    A Puppy for Will by Kathie DeNosky – Will is divorced and has thrown himself into his work.  When his Grandmother cons him into fostering Harley, a St. Bernard/Bernese Mountain dog puppy (think small pony), over the holidays Will isn't thrilled but then the puppy gives him something to do besides work.  Will’s new neighbor Marcie is determined to have a good Christmas this year.  Can she and Harley help Will realize that there is more to life than work?




    I purchased this because I've enjoyed other stories by Vicki Lewis Thompson.  I enjoyed her story but my favorite in this book was Home for Christmas by Catherine Mann.  It may have to do with the fact that I am a former military wife and know just how very hard it is to make a military marriage work.  All three stories are worth the read.  This book also reminded me just how much our three rescue kitties bring to our lives

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Oh...How I loved this book!!! This story really got me right fro

    Oh...How I loved this book!!! This story really got me right from the beginning. I just wanted to wrap Alex and Shelby up in a hug. They loved each other so much and were hurting so deeply that their emotions practically leaped off the pages. I was hurting right along with them. 




    One of my absolute favorite books and hero from Catherine Mann is Under Siege with Zach Dawson. I adore him!! I have reread his book more times than I can count and continue to enjoy it just as much as the first time. I was so excited to read that Catherine was writing the story of Shelby~Zach's daughter. I was so happy to read about Zach and Julia again and how their life had progressed from Under Siege. 




    I have to admit that I was a little disappointed that Shelby didn't end up with her high school boyfriend after everything that they had went through. But Alex quickly won me over and I just loved him. I especially loved him with Shelby and I was so rooting for their HEA. Shelby was such a great character and I couldn't get enough of her and Alex. 




    Home For Christmas definitely brought me to tears but I was so happy with the ending that those tears were definitely worth it!! Just another awesome story from Catherine Mann that is definitely going into my keeper pile to be reread. This book is also a perfect example of why I am such a HUGE fan and continually look forward to each new release.  Reading Home For Christmas makes me want to go back and reread Under Siege.  




    BEST OF THE BEST rating!




    ***ARC obtained per Catherine Mann and Harlequin~Thank you so much!! :)  Mariann at Bell's Book Bag

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Just okay....

    I wanted to like this book. I'm a huge believer in animal adoption--every single one of our many, many pets has come either through a rescue organization or was a stray and came to us through the friend who found him or her. I loved the message behind these stories--finding homes for unwanted animals--and all of the characters in the three stories definitely had their hearts in the right place when it came to this shared goal. The execution of the idea, however, I found left much to be desired. The strongest story by far was Catherine Mann's "Home for Christmas". The characters' issues--their marriage is in danger due in part to the strain caused by his being in the military and constantly choosing overseas assignments, which he's doing to an extent in order to escape those problems--are believable and consistent. Their HEA is predictable, yet mostly realistic. In achieving it, however, there was way too much time spent inside the heads of the characters and not enough eternal action and dialogue going on. Far too much of the novella was Shelby thinking about her relationship with and feelings about Alex, and Alex thinking about his relationship with and feelings for Shelby. Get outside your heads and DO something, people! Still, this was my favorite out of the three. Vicki Lewis Thompson's "Holiday Haven" was a miss for me. Shelter director Tansy Dexter's insistence that Ben HAD to want a relationship with a shelter animal was bothersome. She was way too pushy, and it felt as if she were acting irresponsibly and not at all in the animal's best interest. Ben's reluctance to enter into a relationship, whether with a human or an animal, felt excessive and forced. Perhaps it was just the time restrictions of a novella, but I really didn't feel as if it was sufficiently justified. The fact that it was a short read kept me reading this one. "A Puppy for Will" by Kathie DeNosky wasn't bad, but it had a definite case of insta-love that was hard to swallow. Will's extreme overuse of the endearment "honey" was a sticking point as well. I kept going because I enjoyed the puppy--in order to say I'd finished it, but if it had been a full-length book I definitely wouldn't have. Ultimately, I loved the message and purpose behind this book but the finished product just didn't work for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1