Customer Reviews for

Rescuing Sprite: A Dog Lover's Story of Joy and Anguish

Average Rating 4
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Inspiring

This is a wonderful story of how a person can get so attached to their dog. They become part of their family. It was heart wrenching at times but it shows the emotions that a true animal and dog lover goes through. Very good book.

posted by 759307 on January 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Save your money

I was really disappointed in this book. Sprite the dog seemed almost an afterthought to the author. Sprite was a great, happy, easy-going dog. So are many, many others. After plodding through this book, I still feel as if I learned little about Sprite. I did, however, e...
I was really disappointed in this book. Sprite the dog seemed almost an afterthought to the author. Sprite was a great, happy, easy-going dog. So are many, many others. After plodding through this book, I still feel as if I learned little about Sprite. I did, however, endure page after page about the author's health problem, how out of shape he is, and tributes to his wonderful, ultra-conservative friends in the news media. Please spare us the glorification of Rush Limbaugh and Sean Hannity. In addition, the book was poorly written, with choppy sentences and grammatical mistakes (did anyone edit or proofread it?). When I read the title, I assumed that Sprite had in fact been rescued from a terrible life. In reality, he was living comfortably with a nice foster family. All in all, a very disappointing, plodding book. If you want to read it, check it out from a library.

posted by Anonymous on January 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2009

    Written straight from the heart

    This book is inspiring and a loving tribute to Mark Levin's animal companions. He is an advocate of rescue animals, and states their case with heart. I recommend this book very highly.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    Great

    I thought that rescuing sprite was a very good book. I know how it is to loose a dog. Mark Levin builds up suspense and is a very good writer. Yes i did cry but it was all in all it was a great book. I love animals and i am especially a big dog lover.Those of you who have lost one of your dogs i highly recomend this book it will help you cherish everything that you have been through with your dog-good and bad.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    True love for animals

    I can relate so well to this book. I really fell in love with the animals as well. This is truly a touching story. I so respect this family for adopting the "older" dogs that honestly wouldn't have a chance.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2008

    A Brilliant Story

    I enjoyed every moment of Mark's book about Sprite, Pepsi and family. Mark was able to fully capture the feelings expressed during the short but wonderful time with his special doggie. I took 1 day to read and finish the book and 1 box of tissues! For anyone who has loved a dog 'or pet' and has lost their best friend, this is the book for you. Thank you Mark for getting your story down on paper. Very difficult to do after losing somebody close. Sprite will live on and on through this book and not to mention the tree.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    Wonderfull

    Very beautifully written. A great read. A real tear jerker. Great ,Great

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Pulls at your heart strings...

    Every animal lover needs to read this book. Mark Levin has told a story of love for an animal that anyone who has ever had a pet understands. This book is heart warming and brought back memories of the pets I had growing up and how much they meant to me. Levin truly gets the unconditional love an animal gives and how much the pet gives to it's family. A must read for everyone!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2009

    I couldn't put it down.

    Read it one rainy Saturday afternoon. Loved every word of it. Highly recommend - would make a perfect gift for the dog-lovers in your life. (Might want to keep the Kleenex handy when you're reading it... )

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2008

    dog lover

    The book was interesting to read because it was it was about dogs. I love the front cover of the dog looks like my mom's dog Sparky!! and Mark shows real good interest that he loves and cares for a pet when he writes about them..

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    Very Loving

    My husband got this book for his birthday a few days ago and told me I should read it. He said it would change the way I think of dogs. Before I read this book I never understood how someone could be so attached to an animal, but after reading this it makes me realize what unconditional love a dog can give to a family. I have totally changed my way of thinking. It made me laugh and cry at times and now I know that we will find a dog to complete our family the way Sprite and Pepsi have for the Levins! Great fast read and I highly recommend it to everyone!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2007

    An Animal Lover's Story

    I was extremely impressed with Rescuing Sprite! In my opinion, it is a must read book for any animal lover. I dare you not to shed a tear (or more) while reading this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    Touching- A Story All Will Identify With

    If you've ever had a pet who has since passed away, you will identify with Levin's story. I know I did- it made me very emotional thinking of my past best friends. Read it and enjoy it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2007

    A touching and wonderful story

    Rescuing Sprite is an emotional rollercoaster of tears and smiles, sharing with us the painfully short relationship between a dog rescued from an animal shelter, and a family that completely adored him. It is a story of love, compassion and the absolute loyalty found in the friendship of a dog. For anyone who has ever had a furry best friend, whether it be dog, cat, horse, rabbit, or any other pet, this book will touch your heart and remind you of why we are willing to suffer the incredible loss of their short lives, for just a few precious months or years of their presence.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2007

    A deeply moving, yet delightful book!

    Who would have guessed that this tenacious radio talk-show host had a heart this big and beautiful!? What a wonderful, wonderful surprise of a book. Whoever lost Sprite in the first place really lost a treasure of a pet, but the fact that Mark and his family rescued the dog is truly amazing. The love Sprite brought to them, and the love they all gave to him, is amazing. And now their two short years together are immortalized forever in this sweet little book. Talk about divine providence. Hats off to animal shelters everywhere!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    A Must Read, Especially For Dog Lovers

    I read this book in a day. I could not put it down. Make sure you have a box of kleenex with you, as you are bound to cry. What a great story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Great read

    This book is so good it hit close to home but its amazing any dog or animal lover should read this

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Dog lovers musr read,especially if one has ever loved dogs

    Grabs u beginning to end to sad to complet

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    A TOAST TO THE LEVINS

    A Great and personal read that touches the heartstrings of all doglovers. God gives us friends, and sometimes in the form of animals, to accompany us through this walk of life. The love they give us teaches us how we are suppose to love others as well as ourselves. Thanks Mark for sharing your family and story with us. Prayers to you and your family. Many happy and loving days to come. When you have pets the days are joyous!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Rescuing Sprite

    I love this book . It was so sad at certain times. You have to get it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    i love dogssssss?

    I love this story and every story about animals------ especially horses.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    heartwarming

    very good book i read aroud 3 times times and i am 12

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4