Customer Reviews for

Rescuing the Bible from Fundamentalism: A Bishop Rethinks the Meaning of Scripture

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is an outstanding book

This book changed my life. I am a lifelong devout Christian, and I have been increasingly worried about how 'Christian' fundamentalist extremists have been distorting the message of Jesus and the Bible. After reading this book, I am liberated from having to try to...
This book changed my life. I am a lifelong devout Christian, and I have been increasingly worried about how 'Christian' fundamentalist extremists have been distorting the message of Jesus and the Bible. After reading this book, I am liberated from having to try to justify a literal interpretation of so many of our beloved biblical stories. Bishop Spong has pointed out why such literal interpretations are impossible, by showing the historical context and motivations of those who put those stories on paper. And he has beautifully shown us how it doesn't matter whether we can interpret the stories literally or not! What matters is what we learn from those stories, the lessons God wants us to learn, and the most important lesson of all is to love one another - - even those with whom we don't agree and of whom we don't approve. My prayer is that those caught in the fundamentalist trap of using the Bible to judge and hurt others will take Bishop Spong's words to heart and embrace the loving message of the Bible, to realize that every person on this planet is a child of God and should be treated with love.

posted by Anonymous on December 7, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A religious book for the rational thinker

A thought provoking book. Except for a few errors in biblical references, the work is compelling. Spong points out that Paul never wrote about his experiences on the way to Damascus. Luke did it for him in the book of Acts. Very interesting. That fact had never bee...
A thought provoking book. Except for a few errors in biblical references, the work is compelling. Spong points out that Paul never wrote about his experiences on the way to Damascus. Luke did it for him in the book of Acts. Very interesting. That fact had never been pointed out in any church I ever attended. It makes one wonder what those first century New Testament writers were thinking, not to mention the modern readers of the bible. Everyone, no matter their religious affiliation, will find Spong's book rewarding. The book temporarily disturbed my faith, but certainly enhanced my rational thinking and curiosity.

posted by Anonymous on April 3, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2005

    This is an outstanding book

    This book changed my life. I am a lifelong devout Christian, and I have been increasingly worried about how 'Christian' fundamentalist extremists have been distorting the message of Jesus and the Bible. After reading this book, I am liberated from having to try to justify a literal interpretation of so many of our beloved biblical stories. Bishop Spong has pointed out why such literal interpretations are impossible, by showing the historical context and motivations of those who put those stories on paper. And he has beautifully shown us how it doesn't matter whether we can interpret the stories literally or not! What matters is what we learn from those stories, the lessons God wants us to learn, and the most important lesson of all is to love one another - - even those with whom we don't agree and of whom we don't approve. My prayer is that those caught in the fundamentalist trap of using the Bible to judge and hurt others will take Bishop Spong's words to heart and embrace the loving message of the Bible, to realize that every person on this planet is a child of God and should be treated with love.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    Faith without examination is foolishness

    Bishop Spong examines issues that infuriate non-thinking christians. If the Bible is to be the source of a belief, it must be open to review. Rescuing the Bible allows the reader to examine the scripture and look at it with more understanding. This is definitely not a book for blind followers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2005

    This book blew me away.

    I read it twice within a week. What comforting words for those of us trying to hang onto our Jesus experiences despite all the problems with the ancient texts. Spong stares down the bigotry and anti-intellectualism of Christian fundamentalism and offers, in its place well-thought-out, plausible alternatives in bible interpretation. The result is anything BUT a soulless faith. Indeed, his call to passionate living and wasteful loving have me feeling positively inspired.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2005

    Amen!

    A great book. The only people that will be offended by this are 'bumper sticker' christians and fundamentalist. But as both will do, they will quote fromt he Old Testment and throw verbal stones at something they do not agree with. They will forget that Jesus closed the Old Testment and left us with only two commanments: love the Lord your God and love your neighbors as yourself. Funny thing is, those two commandments take the fun out of attacking people, marginalizing people, limiting people, controlling people. This book is an eye opener to what is wrong with contemporary Christianity and organized religion int he U.S. today.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    Rescuing us, not just the Bible, from fundamentalism

    An earnest and compelling look at how fundamentalism is destroying Christianity slowly but surely. This book will not persuade a fundamentalist to "come over to the other side" but it will reassure those who are ready to give up on Christianity that there's more than meets the eye on the pages in the Bible.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    Theologically Profound

    This is an excellent book that will increase your understanding of scripture 'in context'.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    I have read this book like many other books on belief in God Alm

    I have read this book like many other books on belief in God Almighty. I have the Aramaic bible which was the language of Jesus time on earth. I have been to both Catholic one Protestant churches and Fundamentalist and liberal churches. Fundamentalist, I find ,support their belief by pointing out how everyone is wrong but them. I know some Fundamentalist friends of mine that talk the talk, but don't walk the walk. They will take verses out of context to prove their mistaken certainty. They are judgmental and unforgiving. JUDGE NOT does not apply to them. I don't agree with everything Spong writes, but I can learn from it and it does not shake my faith in my Savior Christ Jesus. I have the 1384 Wycliffe Bible, the 1560 Geneva Bible,the 1611 King James which still retains all eighty-eight books. So anyone who is afraid of loosing their faith from reading this book don't read it for goodness sake!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2005

    Excellent Scholarship

    The Bishop writes an excellent book which supports belief based upon reason rather than belief based upon myth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2002

    We must go beyond the literalist interpretation to save Christianity

    I read this book as I was taking an Old Testament class at college. The class was opening my eyes things I had never seen in the Old Testament, and I started to question certain things in the Christian church. My dad gave me this book to help me out. It was great. It addresses all the things that I end up arguing with my youth minister about. I think that Bishop Spong is very correct in much of his analysis of what fundamentalism is doing to our religion. If we want our religion to survive, we must look beyond the literal interpretation of our sacred book. This book really opens eyes and broadens horizons. I highly recommend it to all who really want to study the Bible and learn about their faith.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2000

    It is comforting to know that I am not alone in the way I think about the Bible

    In today's political climate, where the line between religion and public life is so skewed, it was heartening to read this book. Bishop Spong thoughtfully and clearly points out the danger of modern day fundamentalists who seek to oppress women, discriminate against gays and lesbians and others who do not believe as they do. I would like to see this book as required reading for everyone who calls him or herself a 'Christian', but lacks the tolerance to truly be one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2000

    A religious book for the rational thinker

    A thought provoking book. Except for a few errors in biblical references, the work is compelling. Spong points out that Paul never wrote about his experiences on the way to Damascus. Luke did it for him in the book of Acts. Very interesting. That fact had never been pointed out in any church I ever attended. It makes one wonder what those first century New Testament writers were thinking, not to mention the modern readers of the bible. Everyone, no matter their religious affiliation, will find Spong's book rewarding. The book temporarily disturbed my faith, but certainly enhanced my rational thinking and curiosity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2000

    Essential Reading, Take The Challenge

    This book brought to light some of my initial questions on my journey into Christianity. Although, I did not agree with Mr. Spong all of the time. He does do an essential thing in this book: Challenge his faith. This to me is a very courageous and natural act. This book made my faith stronger because faith will hold up against all of the challenges proposed. It would be much easier to ignore or unfoundedly disagree with this book but to do so would be to avoid the truth. Mr. Spong makes strong points questioning the literal aspects of the Bible. He makes a very good argument for the 'spirit' of the Bible versus the 'word' of the Bible. Mr. Spong's book is essential to any academic/scholarly Christian. This book needs to be read to better understand contemporary Christianity. This book is sensational in displaying all aspects of the Christian walk. It clearly points out that being a Christian is not solely about believing but also seeking the ultimate truth. Are you ready to take the challenge set forth by our Savoir?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Poor

    While I disagree with the literal interpretation of the Bible by evangelists, the author's poorly concealed hedonism is just as false. Even though his role as a bishop rises his stature within his church, that title is given to him by other men. God values lay person as highly as a bishop, priest, rabbi, nun or any other title that one mortal is given by other mortals and one person's interpretation of scripture is just as valid as another's. The Bible is written in all languages so people can read it for themselves not throgh the eyes of another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2005

    Rescuing the Bible from Fundamentalism: A Bishop Rethinks the Meaning of Scripture

    I've read countless reviews and summaries of this book. The only question I have is, where does God fit into all of this? I hear all about how Bishop Spong is very detailed and logical in his findings about Biblical Translation. But not once have I heard anything like, 'You must let the Holy Spirit guide you in understanding the Bible'. The other 3 reviews that rate this book poor sound like regular church going people who review this book as people who they themselves have a clear understanding of scripture. The rest of the people on this site who rate this book either have no type of Biblical understanding or are those, who like Bishop Spong, want to understand the Bible through their own human understanding and logic. To reiterrate from the other 3 reviews who see this book for what it truly is, let me say that you cannot understand the Bible without the guidence of the Holy Spirit. Your own understanding will take you but so far. You can memorize and study the scriptures for your whole life but if you don't allow God to guide you when reading it, you'll barely understand the basics of the Bible and you'll surely misinterpret and take out of context the rest of it. Only those who've accepted Jesus Christ as their Lord and Savior, and accept that their understanding can only take them but so far, can fully understand the context of the Holy Scriptures. Its all about faith. Faith in believe that nothing is impossible for God. God is not a God of confusion but a God of order. If the Bible is truly the literal dictation of God, then God will show us how to understand and comprehend the instructions that he has left us in his Bible.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    Rescuing the Bible from Fundamentalism: A Bishop Rethinks the Meaning of Scripture

    Let me open by quoting Hebrews 11:1-3; 'Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see. This is what the ancients were commended for. By Faith we understand that the universe was formed at God's command so that what is seen was not made out of what was visible.' I suggest you all read Hebrews chapter 11 so you can see for yourself the type of faith a true believer in Jesus Christ is suppossed to have. This book by Bishop Spong does not inspire us to obtain true faith, but in contrast to the Bible, promotes that our faith be made up of reasoning, understanding, and logic. How can this be, in ANY religion, true faith in one's spiritual beliefs? How does this form of faith stand in agreement with how the Bible tells us our faith to be? How would we be able to trust in Christ if, according to Bishop Spong, Jesus and His teachings are not really how the Bible and Biblical Fundamentalism claims it to be? How can the Bible be counted on as 'The Word of God' when Bishop Spong says that's its not the Word of God but the words of story tellers handing these myths down since the first century? How would anyone be able to trust the Bible after reading Spong's book? That's the thing about faith. If you don't have it, you can't understand it; and if you do have it-- then there's no need to understand it. When a true believer in Christ reads the Bible, he/she reads it knowing that they'll recieve answers and seek to know more and have a full understanding of those answers. But if you are to question the credibility and validility of the answers in front of you, that is not true faith. Faith is believeing without seeing, and even without understanding at first. If you can't believe without seeing, or without having concrete logical proof, then that's not faith. And without believeing in the Word, God will not guide you in trying to understand it. Only those who have true faith and allow themselves, and their human understanding of logic and reasoning, to be guided by the Holy Spirit-- can truly understand and recieve revelation on the Holy Scriptures. Bishop Spong's book is an abomination to everything the Bible and Biblical Faith stands for!!!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2004

    Saved by Faith or Saved by Understanding?

    This book obviously promotes people to lean on their own human understanding of the Bible and to disregard the guidance of the Holy Spirit in understanding Biblical text. The guidance of the Holy Spirit allows our own understanding to become more focused but there are things about the Bible we can't grasp or understand without the Holy Spirit's revelation. When I first got this book, I thought it was going to show us how to better understand the Bible by examining the history of its composition and the changing writing style of each time period a book was written in. Instead I get that Paul might have been a homosexual, Jesus never claimed to be God, and a thesis on evolution. How can Bishop Spong claim to have faith in Christ and claim to show people how to have faith when he promotes Christianity and the Bible as little more than history distorted by myth and legend? If the Bible isn't a literal dictation of God's word and most of it is just faith portraits depicted by the authors of the Bible, than God and Jesus Christ have no more foundation than belief in Zeus and Amen-Ra. I would not recommend this book to any Christian nor to anyone who wants to understand the Bible more clearly. This book is cloaked in reasoning and understanding but what its really saying, to sum it up in a single sentence, is; 'The Bible is not the word of God but the word of man eager to spread his faith but sloppy in doing so.'

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1