Customer Reviews for

Research for the Social Improvement and General Betterment of Lydia Goldblatt and Julie Graham-Chang (Popularity Papers Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Bob's Reviews

Hey- Bob here! I read my friend's book at school, I thought it was great! I recommend this book for pre-teens. If you're an advanced 3rd grader like me, it is a good read for you also. ---Bob

posted by Anonymous on April 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not the best book ever.

To me it seems like two wannabe girls stalking popular girls with the same message as every popularity book popularity isn't important... and yadayadayada her family members are how to put this... a little .... unusual. The illustrations are o.k. and sometimes I coulden...
To me it seems like two wannabe girls stalking popular girls with the same message as every popularity book popularity isn't important... and yadayadayada her family members are how to put this... a little .... unusual. The illustrations are o.k. and sometimes I coulden't read Lydia's hand writing. I WOULD NOT RECCOMEND THIS BOOK. it's an ok book but a waste of about 16 dollars.

posted by middleschoolbooker on August 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Bob's Reviews

    Hey- Bob here! I read my friend's book at school, I thought it was great! I recommend this book for pre-teens. If you're an advanced 3rd grader like me, it is a good read for you also.

    ---Bob

    16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Lauren Ashley for TeensReadToo

    Lydia and Julie have been best friends for years, but now that they are coming to the end of fifth grade, they start a dual notebook that will help them to become popular for middle school. They pay attention to the popular girls in their grade and what they wear, what sports they play, and even what boys they have crushes on. As they try and mimic these things, they soon learn what they actually like and what they are just fine with tossing aside. THE POPULARITY PAPERS 1 is the start to a middle grade series with only two books currently out, with a third on the way. What I loved about the book is that both girls write and draw, except Lydia is a bad drawer and writes in cursive, while Julie is an excellent drawer and has dark, bold writing. If you look at the cover - the characters are Julie's drawings. Julie has dark hair, Lydia has blonde. Even though these are aimed at middle grade readers, I think they would be enjoyed by many. They are fun, quick reads with lots of cool drawings and observations about how to live your life and become the "true you," so to speak. Even if that means taking things adults say with a grain of salt! I also loved that Julie has two dads and no mom. I thought this was great for many reasons. One, I think LGBT characters in books are great in general, especially when they are just there and part of normal life. Also, even though I don't read much MG, I haven't read or heard of any other titles that really focus on LGBT characters. Julie loves her dads, calling them Daddy and Papa Dad. They are quirky and fun and serious and just good parents. It's great to see this overall, like I said, but even better to have it in a MG novel where younger kids can learn to accept these things a bit earlier.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    supa dupa funny

    PPPLLLZZZ RRREEEAAADDD!!!!! Popularity papers is about two girls trying to get popular so they "spy" on the popular girls to see what they do, and they do the same thing as the popular girls to be popular.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    The Popularity Papers

    I loved it .On April Vacation I had bought it and read it in less than a day.It was funny
    and quick to read.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    very smart and very fun

    Lydia Goldblatt and Julie Graham-Chang. Julie's dads consider Lydia part of the family. Julie knows all about Lydia's crazy goth sister Melody. Together the girls make a decision to venture into the unknown as they try to crack the mysterious code of popularity in fifth grade.

    With Lydia acting as chief experimenter and Julie recording their (mixed) results, the girls are confident they will succeed where others have failed. The only problems: Lydia winds up with a bald spot early on, Julie unexpectedly becomes the object of Roland Asbjørnsen's affections, all of their parents are mad (a lot). Worse, the more Julie and Lydia learn about the popular girls, the farther apart they seem to grow.

    Lydia and Julie might be on the verge of being popular, but they're both starting to wonder if their friendship will survive in The Popularity Papers (2010) by Amy Ignatow.

    The Popularity Papers is Ignatow's first novel as well as the first book about the ongoing adventures of Lydia and Julie.

    Ignatow expertly combines drawings and handwritten notes and observations to create a book with a mixed-media feel as the girls pass letters, notes, and the book itself back and forth to tell their story. By combining the girls' exchanges with first-person accounts from both Lydia and Julie, Ignatow makes sure the concept behind her fun plot never becomes overdone.

    The Popularity Papers is also funny, plain and simple. Filled with clever jokes and entertaining illustrations, this is a smart book that will appeal to readers young and old (provided they can get past the youngish-looking cover). A great choice for anyone looking for a laugh The Popularity Papers also houses my favorite ever love poem, a funny re-writing of a popular movie song, and possibly the best illustration of Thor of all time.

    Possible Pairings: Dramacon by Svetlana Chmakova, Friends with Boys by Faith Erin Hicks, Alice, I Think by Susany Juby, Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney, Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison, Smile by Raina Telgemeier

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Popularity Papers

    I would recomend this book to someone that LOVES dork diaries

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    I TOTTALY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK!

    i really recommend this book. IT IS SO FUN!! I LUV IT!! IT IS ALSO VERY FUN TO READ.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    The book

    I love this book sooooooooooo much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    A Creatively Presented Story

    Best friends Lydia and Julie start a journal as they begin fifth grade with the intention of understanding and improving their popularity by the time they enter junior high. The girls write and illustrate their thoughts and observations of classmates while the drama of their friendship makes this a page turner. Throughout the story the girls make new friends, pursue new interests, and appreciate their families. The unusual format uses various large handwritten fonts in multiple colors with color pencil drawings throughout to give it the appearance of an actual journal.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Best book ever!!!!!

    Omg I luv this book its amazing u have 2 check it out

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Awesome

    This is a great book!You should totally get it.I read it in aabout 30 min and read it over and over because it was so great!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Mmmmmmeeeeee

    I am going 2 try this book, well 4 2 resons 1 because every1 in the 4th grade @ my school has read it 2 I read this girls report on this and it was realy helpful because it said that if u r an advanced 3rd grader that u should read this book well that works out for me because I am a 4th grader. I hope this helps u.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    So goood you should read it

    This book is so good and it is great for every girl to have if their friend is moving across the country.But over all GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Question Here??

    Is this the first book??? Please answer!!




    -Order Help

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Get it

    I want to get so vad

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    This book is Amazing!

    If you love reading Dork diaries, this could be a book for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Cool

    This is so good! Can not wait to read the next one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I recomend this for 4th grde and up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Love it!

    I loved this book! It is so cute and funny. I was really into it. I would definetly recomend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Great

    This book is funny and really good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Miss Love it Hate it

    Love it i thought this was an oustanding book with great pottential. All of the series are great, I all so think that this story canbe related by girls all over the world 10-14. I would recamend this book to a friend, seeing that this book is all ready read by many of my friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3