BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Resenting the Hero (Moira J. Moore Hero Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2006

    Enchanting

    I came across this by accident, but so very happy I picked it up. As a college student I don't have much time for fun reading, but this book looked good. Not a 900 page beast like I am used to. I loved it. The story never slowed down and I was very suprised with the ending. I can't wait for the next one. With a busy life the witty humor was a nice break from reality. I can't help but miss the young duo already and can't help that despite all her protests Lee would get herself into a lot of trouble without Taro. So much for the quite life!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2007

    Don't judge a book by it's cheesy cover

    By following the 'if you like this you might like this' links I stumbled upon Resenting the Hero. Luckily for me, I didn't let the misleading/tacky cover scare me off. I haven't even finished reading it yet and I'm off the to buy the next one(which also has a cheesy cover).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Incredible romantic fantasy

    Their ancestors landed on a planet that had more natural and dangerous disasters than they could cope with so many left while the hardy ones stayed. Over time, the Source came into being men and women who could control the disasters and make them dissipate. Shields came into being to protect the mind and body of the Source otherwise they would die from an overload of energy to their body.------ Dunleavy Mallorough has studied for years to become a Shield and now has a chance to be bonded with her Source. The two candidates she doesn¿t want as her Source are Steven Creol who is said to be cruel and has never been able to bond with a Shield and Karish, an aristocratic hedonist, as the rumors go. Unfortunately, the bond between Shield and Source steps into place for Karish and Dunleavy. They are sent on their first assignment to Highscape, a city with many natural disasters and seven bound pairs of Sources and Shields to keep things stable. Dunleavy does her best to keep Karish and his winning personality at a distance but in spite of herself, she learns to care for him. When he is kidnapped a friend of hers discovers where he was taken only to discover that she has walked into a trap and if she can¿t get out of it, thousands will die.------ This incredible romantic fantasy will appeal equally to fans of both genres. The sexual tension between the two protagonists is so strong that readers will feel sparks fly off the pages. The hero and heroine are strangely likeable with one filled with excess pride and the other a confirmed sensualist. There are a lot of surprises in store for the audience as the Source and the Shield learn there are more to their powers than they were trained to use.------ Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    This book started out really good. It's a really good, pretty ne

    This book started out really good. It's a really good, pretty new and interesting premise. The problem started about 100 pages in. The author took everything that was good and creative and new about the story and pretty much put it by the wayside. It become an incidental part of the story. And whereas in the beginning when the story is cool the personalities of the main characters were something that you could deal with, the worse the story gets, the more it resembles a lot of other things that I have read, the worse the personalities of the characters get. This could have been something really good but the main character was getting on my nerves by the end and the story could have been so much better if it wasn't all about political intrigue and a megalomaniac trying to take over the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    Ignore the cover. This is a fairly serious story of two of a sy

    Ignore the cover. This is a fairly serious story of two of a system of defenders of the realm--Sources, who provide the power that protects, heals, or fights, and Shields, who protect their Sources from attack and keep them from over-extending their abilities. The young female shield has just been bound to a Source with a bad reputation for bed-jumping, and she's determined not to be his latest conquest. He in turn is well protected against letting anyone getting to know the real him. It will be a miracle if they can work together when a new threat, unlike any ever seen before, attacks out of the blue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Fun and Better Yet...

    DIFFERENT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    Must Read!

    Great Series That I highly recommend to All.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Loved it!

    I love all of the books in this series. There is not one that is a clunker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    I loved the book. It was predictable, but a great read. I'd highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    Absolutly fantastic

    The cover may look horrifing but on the inside is one of the best books I have ever read! I know many people may say this about a lot of books but it is a MUST READ'underline a bazillion times'!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    new world, new heroine

    What I liked about this book is the way the heroine precieved herself vs how others did. Also the author creates a world that almost destroys the humans in it and they learn to cope but are perphaps in the midst of another social change. It will be interesting to note how the heroine who just having graduated from the academy and being bonded with her Source will react and act upon the changes that will effect her world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2