Customer Reviews for

The Reservoir

Average Rating 3.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    LOVED!

    Great book, especially if you lived or live in Richmond, VA.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    I highly recommend this book

    This book is one of my favorite books that I have read this year. It is well written and the characters are extremely well developed with many layers of complexity. The writing is good, the philosophy sound, and the suspense is compelling. I almost never give 5 stars but this book deserves it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Yes, read it!

    Very interesting and quite different. Did he or did he not???

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Eager for more of Thompson's work

    I've enjoyed the characters as well as the mystery. I'm sorry to read that Thompson has not written any others yet. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Fabulous

    I didn't even realize this was based on an actual case until the end but when I discovered this, it all made perfect sense. The author did a great job of conveying just how ambiguous the "truth" of the real life drama was. Fascinating reading- I highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    this exciting historical thriller grips the audience once the players, time and place are established

    In 1885 Richmond, Virginia, the body of a pregnant white female is found in the city reservoir in what seems to be a suicide. However there is some counter evidence nearby so the police investigate beause there is pressure to solve the homicide of Lillian Madison.

    Nearing retirement, Police Justice Daniel Cincinnatus Richardson heads the inquiry at the same time Detective Jack Wren coerces potential witnesses. Looking into Lillie's relationships leads the cop to the Cluverius brothers, Tommie the ambitious lawyer and Willie the steadfast farmer. Due to temperament Richardson believes Tommie the hothead killed his mistress in a fit of rage over the entangled triangle, but it is Willie who is caught in the trial's crosshairs.

    Based on a true trial, this exciting historical thriller grips the audience once the players, time and place are established. The story line uses flashbacks to tell the tale of the triangle while also providing a strong inquiry and trial. John Milliken Thompson will have readers pondering the issue of love of family as the author deftly examines how far a person will go to protect a loved one.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    an-avid-reader

    This one lost my interest, I was well past the 100th page that I usually try to give a book before I give up on it. Reading this one felt more like a chore instead of an enjoyable read. There is too many good books out there to give it more time than I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I found the story to be interesting, however I gave up reading t

    I found the story to be interesting, however I gave up reading the book a third of the way through. The author's writing style was a turn off for me. In many ways I felt as if I was reading a script rather than a book. The author wrote as if he was directing the action instead of painting out the details of events that were going on.

    Being a resident of Virginia, it would have been nice to know what happened. That said, it just wasn't worth the time to slog through the rest of the book to get there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    Just ok

    Had a lot of potential but fell a little short. The mystery was engaging but ending fell Flat.Thompson failed to take the historical elements and interweave an author's touch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Loved it

    Really good book! Highly recommend it especially to my fellow Virginians. I went to grad school in Richmond blocks from where the story takes place which added to the experience. Great, flawed characters and story was detailed and hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Awesome

    This book flips you back and forth between time and keeps you guessing. Wonderful quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    A really good read!

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Interesting story but slow and plodding.

    Interesting story but slow and plodding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1