Customer Reviews for

Resident Evil: The Umbrella Conspiracy (Resident Evil Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 460 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(376)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

turn this book into a move

the zombies keep coming back for more so turn this book into a movie. i know thier has already been a resident evil movie, but make this one better than the first one. talk to the actors about your book because it's the coolest and believe me when i say that it's going ...
the zombies keep coming back for more so turn this book into a movie. i know thier has already been a resident evil movie, but make this one better than the first one. talk to the actors about your book because it's the coolest and believe me when i say that it's going to sale.

posted by Anonymous on April 9, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

In comparison to other RE novels, this falls flat.

I have loved just about every one of the Resident Evil novels, also being a huge fan of the games. I finally got around to reading this one and many had told me it was pretty good. No thank you.

I found it to be deathly boring and slow paced. Many of the charac...
I have loved just about every one of the Resident Evil novels, also being a huge fan of the games. I finally got around to reading this one and many had told me it was pretty good. No thank you.

I found it to be deathly boring and slow paced. Many of the characters are brand new, minus the main four of RE1. While Rebecca is portrayed as a main character in this, I felt like she took a back seat to the "original" characters after about halfway. The plot was dull and felt uneventful. I found myself almost dreading any time I had to read it. After about 3/4 of the way through, I was skimming through the pages to finish it faster.

I simply did not like this one. Perhaps you will. I found it to be very dull. If you have an interest in reading these novels, do NOT start with this one.

posted by Chancie on February 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 376 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    another master piece by sd perry

    this was a great book all of the chatacters emotions were clearly shown and there knowleadge of military tactics were visible without mention i have read all of these books and hope to god she makes a seventh

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2003

    turn this book into a move

    the zombies keep coming back for more so turn this book into a movie. i know thier has already been a resident evil movie, but make this one better than the first one. talk to the actors about your book because it's the coolest and believe me when i say that it's going to sale.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2003

    i luuuuuuuuuv this book!!!!

    ok this was a GREAT book! its worth reading 100 times. the scenes in the test area are really good. and for some reason i keep hoping david and rebecca would be the same age so they could get together...but anyway does anyone know when the next book will be out? cuz when it is i will definitely get it!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2003

    Zombie Paridise

    This is one of the best books I have ever read! The grafic details and in depth characters make this book a must read. You'll never want to put it down and you'll be left wanting more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    Great Book!!

    I love just about anything Resident Evil. I think this book did a good job turning a video into a book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Game Series Filler!

    This book tells the events between Resident Evil 1 & 2 of the game series. It is an excellent filler for those who love the game series. I enjoyed this book and had fun reading it. You really get the sense of an even more expansive world than in the video games because everything is more detailed and makes for a more in depth story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Game and Book Series!

    I am a huge fan of the Resident Evil franchise and have played all of the games so I figured I would see how the books where. The book is a more detailed version of the game so if you are a fan of the game series then I guarantee you will enjoy this book. It is fun and keeps you entertained throughout. I almost felt as though I was playing the game except just with a more in depth story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    Resident Evil Rules!!!

    I am a huge Resident Evil fan and this is the first book that I have read on the series. It certainly did the game justice and is a great read. Even if you have never played any of the games or don't know anything about them, you can still get into this book. It is very entertaining and I look forward to reading the rest!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2008

    A reviewer

    First of all, this book was great. I rarely read (mainly because most books bore me), but I decided to give this one a chance because I love the games. As with most books, the first of it starts off a little slow, but the action then intensifies and will keep you reading. It's not just action, though. Like the games, it's filled with puzzle mysteries. I enjoyed how close it was to the game, and in some ways I liked it better because there's more info released into it (although not official). Definitely looking forward to getting the next ones in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2007

    Best in the Series

    I have read every book in the series, and this one is by far the best. Non-stop action, And twist that you never saw coming. Not to mention how scary it was. this is a must have for anyone who loves zombie stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    RE Fans gotta check this out

    I have read many books in my short 16 years of life. The Resident Evil series is, in my opinion, a very well developed story. In the first book, there is suspense, mystery, and action. Given the fact that I love anything zombie, I immediately went to the bookstore and eagerly bought the second in the series. The end of the first book left you out in the cold, begging for more of the zombie slaying carnage and mind racking puzzles. The second picks you up, dusts you off, and puts you back on the Resident Evil bandwagon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2006

    best of the series

    i thought that city of the dead was the best installment in the series of resident evil. Perry did a great job writing about the city under seige by the zombies. The book was enjoyable because it kept me wanting to read more and more. This is a great read for anyone that loves the resident evil series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2006

    omg

    i love this book it is my favorite of the whole series either this one or umbrella conspiracy. my boyfriend got me to read these books and i have loved every one the only one i havent read out of the entire series is zero hour which i am in hope of reading soon.... i cant wait for more of these books to come out i am dying to find out what happens in the end!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    LOVE IT

    I love this book and all in the series! Well worth your money and time reading them! Highly recommended!!! Wish the author would have written more!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved it

    Just like all the others, its awesome

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    And you thought zombies were getting overrated...

    The threat of flesh-eating zombies and monsters has never been terrifying and fun until now. The Resident Evil series of video games has been a leader in scaring players while entertaining them over and over again, and the books do not disappoint. The first book of the saga, The Umbrella Conspiracy, is a match to the very first Resident Evil game. The events in the book not only mirror that of its source, but add much more depth and detail that your TV just could not dish out. While many video game movies and books seem to fail due to their lack of originality, S.D. Perry finds some way to make the story seem even more real and horrifying than the original itself. Zombies, if they were even real themselves, probably could not have made such a fascinating tale as the one in this book.
    Gamers were awed by the sight of this milestone 3D game when they first saw zombies shuffling toward them down dark hallways in the gloomy mansion in the Arklay Mountains. This book just does that and more. Beginning with the background of the disappearance of animals and mutilations of hikers in the rural areas of Raccoon City and more story behind the main characters that we all know and love (such as Chris Redfield, Albert Wesker, and Rebecca Chambers), The Umbrella Conspiracy creates a base for decent thriller that is really unexpected. Upon the death of many of the S.T.A.R.S. (Special Tactics and Rescue Squad) members and abandonment out in the middle of the wilderness, you become sucked into an exciting and dramatic ride through the eyes of the survivors. The whole time you become afraid for who will die next, either to a zombie bite or an attack from a supernatural monster, and you try to predict what will happen next. For those who have beaten the game (probably several times), you will be happy to see similarities in the storyline, making a connection with a memory you have already had or recognizing a pivotal moment. This time through the story you have to use your mind much more, making it much more real for many readers.
    Maybe it is because I already have a deep connection to this story, or maybe it is because it is just a plain ol' great novel, but this book is definitely a must read for anyone who love Resident Evil or horror. This is not some stupid knock off either-S.D. Perry took the time to make it as appealing as possible for fans and new readers alike. She made sure zombies and evil super creatures were interesting again, and she did it right. It is refreshing to see this story from a new perspective, using descriptive words that make you use your mind more than just your eyes on the television. Resident Evil: The Umbrella Conspiracy continues on the legacy of a great name by bringing out what you could not see before, making it a great addition to any library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    resident evil rocks

    i have played resident evil sence i was nine years old.I have beat every game and i love the seris. the game is geat and from what i see
    the book is to.if you need a geat book to read read this seris.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    I don't like reading until after i read this book i haven't play the resident evil video so i decieded to read other than play video games

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2007

    BAM ! BAM !

    this is a pretty awesome book. i love how the author switches from one character to the next. this book is almost better than the games , but the games are scarier.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2007

    RESIDENT EVIL

    Alls I can say is that these books are freakin awesome. You want somethin that keeps you readin for hours, then these are the kinds of books you should read. The games are freakin great too, except for dead aim. what a difference in style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 376 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19