Customer Reviews for

Resilience: The New Afterword

Average Rating 3.5
( 332 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Barnes and Noble needs to fix this

I bought the Nook, and then bought this book, for $1.99, why wouldn't I? SHe has a terrific story. It clearly reads above that there are over 200 pages. When I downloaded it, it was just the new Afterforward added. I'm ticked. I sold the actual book I bought late last...
I bought the Nook, and then bought this book, for $1.99, why wouldn't I? SHe has a terrific story. It clearly reads above that there are over 200 pages. When I downloaded it, it was just the new Afterforward added. I'm ticked. I sold the actual book I bought late last week - not getting to read all of it, and then I get short changed? Apparently I am not the only one.
Regarding the Afterforward - It was classic Elizabeth Edwards, a complete class act. I applaud her for her strength.

posted by Sajerrels on July 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Ripped Off

I thought I was downloading the entire book. Fifteen pages is all I got and it certainly wasn't worth the read. Disgusted with Barnes & Noble for not clarifying to its customers what they were getting. This is a total ripoff. This isn't the only time B&N didn't noti...
I thought I was downloading the entire book. Fifteen pages is all I got and it certainly wasn't worth the read. Disgusted with Barnes & Noble for not clarifying to its customers what they were getting. This is a total ripoff. This isn't the only time B&N didn't notify its customers that this was not a complete book, and it's a bad policy on their part.

posted by TerriCMC on October 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 334 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    Barnes and Noble needs to fix this

    I bought the Nook, and then bought this book, for $1.99, why wouldn't I? SHe has a terrific story. It clearly reads above that there are over 200 pages. When I downloaded it, it was just the new Afterforward added. I'm ticked. I sold the actual book I bought late last week - not getting to read all of it, and then I get short changed? Apparently I am not the only one.
    Regarding the Afterforward - It was classic Elizabeth Edwards, a complete class act. I applaud her for her strength.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    Ripped Off

    I thought I was downloading the entire book. Fifteen pages is all I got and it certainly wasn't worth the read. Disgusted with Barnes & Noble for not clarifying to its customers what they were getting. This is a total ripoff. This isn't the only time B&N didn't notify its customers that this was not a complete book, and it's a bad policy on their part.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    Rip Off!

    Who would willingly pay $1.99 for 15 pages? I hope the author is pleased with this because I doubt I will purchase her 'real' book. I had heard many great things about this book and thought that the "New Afterword" was something to identify the book from a book without it, little did I realize that it was all I was purchasing.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    Thanks for the warning

    Thank you, fellow Nook owners, for warning me about this scam. It's bad enough when B&N tries to pass of portion of a book as a freebie. It's even worse when they CHARGE you for it and don't let you know it's only a portion of the book.
    The one-star review is for B&N, by the way and not Mrs. Edwards. Although I disagree with her estranged husband's politics, I wanted to read her book for her point of view. I was sad to hear of her death and that her children lost their mother to cancer. May she rest in peace.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Honest

    I was not disappointed with this book. I felt like I was able to get to know an honest and true person. Life is not easy, but it does go on and this only happens with our day to day, minute to minute decisions to continue to live. This book was an honest portrayal of that hard journey and a glimpse of a life behind closed doors. I appreciate that very much.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    Resilience Disappointing To Me

    I thought that this book would be more balanced when it came to the areas in Elizabeth's life lately that I think would have required resilience in order to navigate the pathways--her cancer, the loss of her son and her husband's 'indicresion' as she puts it. Instead I found that the book focused on the loss of her son and the coping mechanisms that she used to move her through that dreadful period--while it was new and fresh and while it still hangs over her today.

    I was VERY disappointed that there was so little about her battle with cancer --so that others might benefit from her experience--and how she managed to face that along with everything else that was going on. Many women are consumed by cancer to the point that they can do nothing but live with their cancer. While I did not expect a detailed account of John's affair, it was hardly mentioned. I thought she would tell us more about how she responded and coped with the news---and conntinued be a supportive mother in a home where this was so raw and fresh. Therefore, thought the book was misrepresented and I was very disappointed.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Moving and Insightful. (ignore the catty media coverage.)

    This book was lovely to read. It is moving and insightful, and although it does not sugarcoat the tragic events in Ms. Edwards's life, its message is uplifting and empowering. It reads more like an essay or a series of essays than a play-by-play memoir of her life, which I didn't expect, but ultimately the book is more personal and emotional than even the most detailed tell-alls. Even though my own life is quite different from the author's, by the end, I felt very close to her.

    Which is why the negative media coverage surrounding this book really bothers me. That this book engendered any hateful "backlash" is ridiculous, and in my opinion, can only be a symptom of reviewers NOT reading the book or lifting and skewing quotes for their own agendas. Maureen Dowd is the worst example of this- her May 5th column could not have been nastier or more off base. It makes me sad to think this strong, kind woman is so misunderstood or maligned by these attention-seekers.

    Even skimming the book, it is clear that Ms. Edwards is not motivated by ambition, or revenge, or any of the ugly things the media has said. She does not "lash out" at the other woman, she does not "flog" her husband. Elizabeth Edwards is much more than a cancer patient, a grieving mother, or a struggling spouse. This book seems to be this kind, strong woman's wish to show that even when you are a victim of tragedy and hardships that are out of your control, that victimhood does not define you. You can adapt and grow and redefine yourself to find happiness.

    Ms. Edwards has led a life of extraordinary highs and lows, and she has genuine insights from her experience. It's an empowering story. I loved it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    I'm sorry some of you feel wronged but...

    I was drawn to this title because of the price but because of the title Resilience:The New Afterword I wanted to check and see if it was the whole book w/a new afterword added or just the new afterword. I try and always read the overview and the editorial reviews before I buy a book so I know a little bit more about what I'm purchasing to read and make sure its what I thought it was. It states very clearly in the editorial reviews that this is just the afterword. Since I haven't read the book Resilience yet (and I do plan to as well as to purchase it from BN) I decided to hold off but wanted to read the customer reviews for the afterword. I'm sorry that some of you feel that you were wronged but the information on this "book" is available and not hidden. Perhaps instead of being upset with Barnes and Noble you should be frustrated that the publisher chose to release this as an "ebook". I would be curious to hear from anyone who read the afterword and let us know if it fit with the flow of the book, what the time period of this was (did it come close to the time she found out that she didn't have much time left to live, was the tone hopeful, resigned or matter of fact....) this is really what I want to know and I hope that the customer reviews will return to this. I realize what I'm doing right now is no different but it would seem to me that if you have a complaint about something that you feel is misrepresented or wrong instead of bringing it up here why not email/call customer service instead and leave this space for reviews. Just my opinion and I will return soon with a review of this title.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    Elizabeth Edwards tells her own story

    Listening to Elizabeth Edwards share the pain and joys of her life is like sitting in a room with someone you have known for a lifetime and want to do something to ease her hurt. She is a beautiful writer and reader who expresses her thoughts and feelings like no other author I've heard. Don't expect this one to be a "juicy scandal". Elizabeth Edwards has too much class and sensitivity to get into that. Her book is a must-read...and even better, a must-listen audio. Highly recommend.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    RIPOFF BARNES AND NOBLE

    So excited to buy my first ebook to use on my ereader for iphone by Barnes and Noble, only to find out it is 15 pages of forward and no mention of that in the description! In my excitement didnt read all the other reveiws and apparently I am not the only one RIPPED OFF! I have made my LAST purchase from Barnes and Noble and now see why so many use Amazon and Borders!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Saving Graces is a better book

    In a lot of ways, Resilience is a rehash of Saving Graces in a condensed version with the exception of her husband's dillances being included. Saving Graces is a much better book. It appears the Mrs. Edward's is still grieving the death of her son, and to add to her burden, the "death" of her marriage as she knew it. I hope that she is getting professional counseling and not necessarily relying on her Internet friends.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Resilience by Elizabeth Edwards

    I enjoyed this book very much. It was well written and definitely from the heart. I am sorry this tragedy came into her life at the same time she is battling cancer, but she shows so much strength and courage. I would definitely recommend this book and I found myself reading it in a couple of sittings.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Overcoming Adversity

    "Resilience" was the first book I had read by Elizabeth Edwards, and prior to reading it I had known very little about the wife of John Edwards. I was unsure of what to expect and thought it would be somewhat political. In reality there was only a slight bit of political discussion, but what I did find was a great book with personal discussions on how to overcome difficulties that one may encounter. Elizabeth Edwards is no stranger to overcoming life's challenges having watched the passing of her father, death of a teenage son, her bouts with bone and breast Cancer, and infidelity to name a few of the substantial challenges she has discussed. The end result is a portrait of a strong woman with deep support for her husband and family. A great read for those either wanting to know more about Elizabeth Edwards or advice on how to navigate turbulent times.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    A touching story filled with true life. Too much Redundancy.

    A touching story filled with true life. Too much Redundancy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Disappointed

    Like so many others, I too thought that this was an updated entire book - not just the new afterward. Since I am new to Nook - I learned a lesson to be very, very aware of what I think I am ordering

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    RIP: Elizabeth Edwards

    Her grace, dignity and courage, as exemplified in this book, are an example for us all. Having listened to her read Resilience, I felt I knew her just a bit, and greatly admired what I saw and heard. The world is a bit grayer today, and listening to this book again will no doubt be a poignant experience. However, "the days of our lives, for all of us, are numbered," and I would encourage anyone to read her book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Meet a Courageous Woman

    What a sad life this woman has led, yet she has the fortitude to get up and do her best. Although the death of her son Wade was traumatic and she is suffering with cancer, she still had the fortitude to stand behind her husband on the campaign trail. I give her a high five!

    I am so sorry that her lying, cheating husband did not appreciate her and let her down in her time of need.

    This book is a realistic exploration of doing one's best in tough times. I recommend it highly.

    I also recommend two other books: The first must-have is Optimal Thinking: How to Be Your Best Self to learn how to put your best self in charge and make the most of every situation. The other is Eat, Pray and Love which is a woman's search for meaning, peace and joy. Read all three books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    Real woman writing about real life

    Warm, touching, true to life- written beautifully
    Elizabeth Edwards is sharing her travels

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    Outstanding!

    It is a very heartfelt book. It touched my deeply. Mrs. Edward's showed both her vulnerablity and her strength.

    I thank her for her courage to share it with us.

    Nancy Nelson

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    My book club hated it!

    This book got the lowest rating of any book we have read in the past 5 years...a 1.7 out of 5. They thought the author was bitter and self absorbed.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 334 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17