Customer Reviews for

Resilience: Reflections on the Burdens and Gifts of Facing Life's Adversities

Average Rating 3.5
( 332 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Barnes and Noble needs to fix this

I bought the Nook, and then bought this book, for $1.99, why wouldn't I? SHe has a terrific story. It clearly reads above that there are over 200 pages. When I downloaded it, it was just the new Afterforward added. I'm ticked. I sold the actual book I bought late last...
I bought the Nook, and then bought this book, for $1.99, why wouldn't I? SHe has a terrific story. It clearly reads above that there are over 200 pages. When I downloaded it, it was just the new Afterforward added. I'm ticked. I sold the actual book I bought late last week - not getting to read all of it, and then I get short changed? Apparently I am not the only one.
Regarding the Afterforward - It was classic Elizabeth Edwards, a complete class act. I applaud her for her strength.

posted by Sajerrels on July 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Ripped Off

I thought I was downloading the entire book. Fifteen pages is all I got and it certainly wasn't worth the read. Disgusted with Barnes & Noble for not clarifying to its customers what they were getting. This is a total ripoff. This isn't the only time B&N didn't noti...
I thought I was downloading the entire book. Fifteen pages is all I got and it certainly wasn't worth the read. Disgusted with Barnes & Noble for not clarifying to its customers what they were getting. This is a total ripoff. This isn't the only time B&N didn't notify its customers that this was not a complete book, and it's a bad policy on their part.

posted by TerriCMC on October 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    Ripped Off

    I thought I was downloading the entire book. Fifteen pages is all I got and it certainly wasn't worth the read. Disgusted with Barnes & Noble for not clarifying to its customers what they were getting. This is a total ripoff. This isn't the only time B&N didn't notify its customers that this was not a complete book, and it's a bad policy on their part.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    Rip Off!

    Who would willingly pay $1.99 for 15 pages? I hope the author is pleased with this because I doubt I will purchase her 'real' book. I had heard many great things about this book and thought that the "New Afterword" was something to identify the book from a book without it, little did I realize that it was all I was purchasing.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    Thanks for the warning

    Thank you, fellow Nook owners, for warning me about this scam. It's bad enough when B&N tries to pass of portion of a book as a freebie. It's even worse when they CHARGE you for it and don't let you know it's only a portion of the book.
    The one-star review is for B&N, by the way and not Mrs. Edwards. Although I disagree with her estranged husband's politics, I wanted to read her book for her point of view. I was sad to hear of her death and that her children lost their mother to cancer. May she rest in peace.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    RIPOFF BARNES AND NOBLE

    So excited to buy my first ebook to use on my ereader for iphone by Barnes and Noble, only to find out it is 15 pages of forward and no mention of that in the description! In my excitement didnt read all the other reveiws and apparently I am not the only one RIPPED OFF! I have made my LAST purchase from Barnes and Noble and now see why so many use Amazon and Borders!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Disappointed

    Like so many others, I too thought that this was an updated entire book - not just the new afterward. Since I am new to Nook - I learned a lesson to be very, very aware of what I think I am ordering

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    My book club hated it!

    This book got the lowest rating of any book we have read in the past 5 years...a 1.7 out of 5. They thought the author was bitter and self absorbed.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Don't waste your money!!!!

    I read alot of books and this is the absolute worse. Had this book been written by an unknown it would never have been published. This poor woman needs professional help. I have also lost a son and am very famaliar with the loss and pain. However it is way past time to stop grieving and for goodness sake celebrate the children already here This is especially important since her days are "numbered". Yes, I also have been living through the ravages of rectal cancer. This is a very depressing book and I would not share it or purchase it as a present.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    Disappointing book

    I read Ms. Edwards's first book and liked it, though she tends to the wordy long sentences and seems to drown in her own prose once in awhile. I found her second book very disappointing. It reads like a rambling private journal. She rehashes and repeats herself, both from the first book and within this book. I SO appreciate her sorrow and can't imagine the pain of the losses she has suffered. But I do not understand the logic or benefit to her or her children of writing this book. She doesn't need the $ ( I think part of the problem is they have too much of that) and I believe she may regret this for her children's sakes some day.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Thank you

    Thanks to everyone that talked about the number of pages in this book . Why are the number of pages of every book not posted with the description of the book. We have a right to know before we order. I find this a ripoff.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Thought this was the book ~ feel betrayed by BN!!!! 

    Thought this was the book ~ feel betrayed by BN!!!! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Never pay for a book that is just 15 pages

    Did not read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Misled

    I had just finished reading Resilience and had enjoyed it. I thought this was an additional Afterward written after the book was pubished as Elizabeth neared the end. It was not. It was the exact ending of the book. Very misleading and a wasted expense. Disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    I just bought this without knowing I was being ripped off. Unrea

    I just bought this without knowing I was being ripped off. Unreal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Not what I thought it was

    I, too, was taken in like others. I did not realize that this was only a 15 page afterword. Yes, I should have paid closer attention to the description and I certainly will in the future. I feel like it should have had some sort of marking on the cover, much like the "Sample" that is on the samples you can try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Do Not Purchase!!!

    Unfortunately I did not read the reviews before I purchased this and there are no refunds for Nook books which I think stinks!! One is only getting the Afterword when they buy this. It is a waste of money and I feel it is false advertising on Barnes and Nobles fault for letting people think they are buying the book Resilience but they are really only getting the afterward.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    wat a total rip off

    thought was getting the book got 15 pages, very disappointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Rip Off!! Not a book... only 15 page chapter

    You will be paying $1.99 for 15 Nook pages (which are smaller than a printed page) if you fall for this chapter which Barnes and Noble touts as a "NOOK Book (eBook)!" Buyer Beware! You do not get the entire book "Resilience" with a new afterword. What you actually get is a small chapter which contains only the afterword. If you can afford to throw away $1.99, this is the "chapter" (not book) for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    Wish I'd read the reviews first!!

    I, too, thought I was purchasing a complete book. Bad form, Barnes and Noble!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Disappointed!!

    I am new to nook and was very disappointed when I purchased Resilience for 1.99 and found out when I read it that it was only 15 pages. I see that I wasn't the only one fooled. I would have liked to have spent the 1.99 toward the original book than to have just gotten 15 pages to read. I just never thought that anyone would charge that price for 15 pages. I will have to be very careful when I buy from now on. I wouldn't even rate it a one star. And I do not think B&N should put "BOOKS" such as this on their website for sale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    Misleading!

    I bought this believing it was the book "Resilience." It's only a fifteen-page addendum to the actual book "Resilience." Had the eBook description been more clear, I never would have purchased this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3