Customer Reviews for

Resilience: Reflections on the Burdens and Gifts of Facing Life's Adversities

Average Rating 3.5
( 332 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Barnes and Noble needs to fix this

I bought the Nook, and then bought this book, for $1.99, why wouldn't I? SHe has a terrific story. It clearly reads above that there are over 200 pages. When I downloaded it, it was just the new Afterforward added. I'm ticked. I sold the actual book I bought late last...
I bought the Nook, and then bought this book, for $1.99, why wouldn't I? SHe has a terrific story. It clearly reads above that there are over 200 pages. When I downloaded it, it was just the new Afterforward added. I'm ticked. I sold the actual book I bought late last week - not getting to read all of it, and then I get short changed? Apparently I am not the only one.
Regarding the Afterforward - It was classic Elizabeth Edwards, a complete class act. I applaud her for her strength.

posted by Sajerrels on July 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Ripped Off

I thought I was downloading the entire book. Fifteen pages is all I got and it certainly wasn't worth the read. Disgusted with Barnes & Noble for not clarifying to its customers what they were getting. This is a total ripoff. This isn't the only time B&N didn't noti...
I thought I was downloading the entire book. Fifteen pages is all I got and it certainly wasn't worth the read. Disgusted with Barnes & Noble for not clarifying to its customers what they were getting. This is a total ripoff. This isn't the only time B&N didn't notify its customers that this was not a complete book, and it's a bad policy on their part.

posted by TerriCMC on October 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    Barnes and Noble needs to fix this

    I bought the Nook, and then bought this book, for $1.99, why wouldn't I? SHe has a terrific story. It clearly reads above that there are over 200 pages. When I downloaded it, it was just the new Afterforward added. I'm ticked. I sold the actual book I bought late last week - not getting to read all of it, and then I get short changed? Apparently I am not the only one.
    Regarding the Afterforward - It was classic Elizabeth Edwards, a complete class act. I applaud her for her strength.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Moving and Insightful. (ignore the catty media coverage.)

    This book was lovely to read. It is moving and insightful, and although it does not sugarcoat the tragic events in Ms. Edwards's life, its message is uplifting and empowering. It reads more like an essay or a series of essays than a play-by-play memoir of her life, which I didn't expect, but ultimately the book is more personal and emotional than even the most detailed tell-alls. Even though my own life is quite different from the author's, by the end, I felt very close to her.

    Which is why the negative media coverage surrounding this book really bothers me. That this book engendered any hateful "backlash" is ridiculous, and in my opinion, can only be a symptom of reviewers NOT reading the book or lifting and skewing quotes for their own agendas. Maureen Dowd is the worst example of this- her May 5th column could not have been nastier or more off base. It makes me sad to think this strong, kind woman is so misunderstood or maligned by these attention-seekers.

    Even skimming the book, it is clear that Ms. Edwards is not motivated by ambition, or revenge, or any of the ugly things the media has said. She does not "lash out" at the other woman, she does not "flog" her husband. Elizabeth Edwards is much more than a cancer patient, a grieving mother, or a struggling spouse. This book seems to be this kind, strong woman's wish to show that even when you are a victim of tragedy and hardships that are out of your control, that victimhood does not define you. You can adapt and grow and redefine yourself to find happiness.

    Ms. Edwards has led a life of extraordinary highs and lows, and she has genuine insights from her experience. It's an empowering story. I loved it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    Elizabeth Edwards tells her own story

    Listening to Elizabeth Edwards share the pain and joys of her life is like sitting in a room with someone you have known for a lifetime and want to do something to ease her hurt. She is a beautiful writer and reader who expresses her thoughts and feelings like no other author I've heard. Don't expect this one to be a "juicy scandal". Elizabeth Edwards has too much class and sensitivity to get into that. Her book is a must-read...and even better, a must-listen audio. Highly recommend.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Meet a Courageous Woman

    What a sad life this woman has led, yet she has the fortitude to get up and do her best. Although the death of her son Wade was traumatic and she is suffering with cancer, she still had the fortitude to stand behind her husband on the campaign trail. I give her a high five!

    I am so sorry that her lying, cheating husband did not appreciate her and let her down in her time of need.

    This book is a realistic exploration of doing one's best in tough times. I recommend it highly.

    I also recommend two other books: The first must-have is Optimal Thinking: How to Be Your Best Self to learn how to put your best self in charge and make the most of every situation. The other is Eat, Pray and Love which is a woman's search for meaning, peace and joy. Read all three books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    Real woman writing about real life

    Warm, touching, true to life- written beautifully
    Elizabeth Edwards is sharing her travels

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    Outstanding!

    It is a very heartfelt book. It touched my deeply. Mrs. Edward's showed both her vulnerablity and her strength.

    I thank her for her courage to share it with us.

    Nancy Nelson

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Elizabeth Edwards' Resilience

    This book is an excellent, thought provoking overview of some of the most difficult trials people experience in life and how they manage to move forward afterwards. Like Elizabeth, I too, am the mother who lost a child - yet under far different circumstances. Elizabeth's book not only took me through that period of my life once again, but also helped me to finally discover the manner in which I can write about my child's death. Thank you Elizabeth for writing a book that people can easily read and identify with.

    I highly recommend this book for all to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    elizabeth edwards 'resilience'

    I bought both the book and the audio.I learned things I knew nothing about.It was a good read, I couldn't put it down(or turn it off).I still want to throttle john edwards...Elizabeth is up for sainthood. she is a remarkable woman.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    Human Connection, Not Political Power Play

    This is a great book for anyone who feels like they are the only one who understands what they are going through. Elizabeth Edwards writes about her feelings and reactions to her son's death, her cancer diagnosis, and the affair. As she writes in the book, it is not a juicy insight into her husband's horrible affair, but an example of a healthy response to a bad situation. Elizabeth Edwards does an excellent job of showing her own humanity and the way she made it through. A great book to show the light at the end of the tunnel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2009

    Elizabeth Edward's New Book

    I thought this book was insightful, thoughtful and full of true stories that would touch anyone's heart.

    The chapter about her son and in fact the whole book is well written. She draws on songs, poems and other literary works to bring focus to her tales.

    The fact that she is able to write this despite her illness and all she has gone through shows what a focused, intelligent and strong woman she is. I wonder how many others going through what she has would be able to do the same.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Moved me to tears

    Elizabeth Edwards has elegant bravery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Flamepaw

    He limps in coughing blood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Blackcloud

    She limped in and fell uncontions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Lillykit

    "Ok what are you doing" inserted what splashbreeze was doing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Splash

    Brings in a mouse and a pawful of herbs. She sets the mice in her prey pile and goes to sort her herbs.~Splash

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    A remarkable woman

    I enjoyed this book due to her discussion of how the death of her son forever changed the outcome of her life. I have used this as a tool in my practice when working with grieving parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    I highly recommended this book. So heart warming.

    A great book, I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    luved it!

    I have always enjoyed reading Elizabeth's writings but this one far exceeded my expectations! I truly eenjoyed her candor and respect how she hanndled her challenges believing I probably would handle those challenges in the very same way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    So Sad!

    I'll miss this great writer i'll miss her i never met her but her pain come's through,I just wish she had found her calling to write book's earlier she lived an exciting life,Wish her Children whom she showed so much love for all the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Not for everyone, but beautiful for those who can grasp it

    I believe that a reader's opinion of this book will stem from what he or she expects from it. I picked it up expecting nothing. I wasn't looking for the down-and-dirty on the Edward's affair. I wanted to read the words of a strikingly intelligent woman who has sadly passed away. I was wholly impressed with this work. It isn't an enduring work of art, it isn't astoundingly well written, but it is amazingly and beautifully honest. I read some reviews before buying it, and I wasn't put off by the shallow comments some wrote about it. Frankly, if you're not close to the intelligence level and depth of Ms. Edwards, you won't enjoy this work. This book is a woman making peace with herself and her life. It is a diary cleaned up for the world to read. She lived an amazing life, not the hardest one on record, but one that many of us could stand to learn from. I thought her insights were beautiful. I was inspired by her simple words of courage. She's a woman who deserves to be remembered for her Resilience. This is a great read for intelligent people who may also need to make peace with their own battles in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6