Customer Reviews for

Resilience: Reflections on the Burdens and Gifts of Facing Life's Adversities

Average Rating 3.5
( 332 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Barnes and Noble needs to fix this

I bought the Nook, and then bought this book, for $1.99, why wouldn't I? SHe has a terrific story. It clearly reads above that there are over 200 pages. When I downloaded it, it was just the new Afterforward added. I'm ticked. I sold the actual book I bought late last...
I bought the Nook, and then bought this book, for $1.99, why wouldn't I? SHe has a terrific story. It clearly reads above that there are over 200 pages. When I downloaded it, it was just the new Afterforward added. I'm ticked. I sold the actual book I bought late last week - not getting to read all of it, and then I get short changed? Apparently I am not the only one.
Regarding the Afterforward - It was classic Elizabeth Edwards, a complete class act. I applaud her for her strength.

posted by Sajerrels on July 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Ripped Off

I thought I was downloading the entire book. Fifteen pages is all I got and it certainly wasn't worth the read. Disgusted with Barnes & Noble for not clarifying to its customers what they were getting. This is a total ripoff. This isn't the only time B&N didn't noti...
I thought I was downloading the entire book. Fifteen pages is all I got and it certainly wasn't worth the read. Disgusted with Barnes & Noble for not clarifying to its customers what they were getting. This is a total ripoff. This isn't the only time B&N didn't notify its customers that this was not a complete book, and it's a bad policy on their part.

posted by TerriCMC on October 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 334 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Elizabeth Edwards' Resilience

    This book is an excellent, thought provoking overview of some of the most difficult trials people experience in life and how they manage to move forward afterwards. Like Elizabeth, I too, am the mother who lost a child - yet under far different circumstances. Elizabeth's book not only took me through that period of my life once again, but also helped me to finally discover the manner in which I can write about my child's death. Thank you Elizabeth for writing a book that people can easily read and identify with.

    I highly recommend this book for all to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    elizabeth edwards 'resilience'

    I bought both the book and the audio.I learned things I knew nothing about.It was a good read, I couldn't put it down(or turn it off).I still want to throttle john edwards...Elizabeth is up for sainthood. she is a remarkable woman.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The title of the book should have been "My life will never be the same". I am not heartless, but the majority of the book is about not being able to cope with Wade's death

    I must say the first few chapters were very interesting with lots of family and country history. And with Elizabeth's growing up with a father in the military. But then got very repetitive regarding her son Wade's death. Chapter after chapter go on and on, but just worded differently in trying to deal with their son's death and how to cope with life without him. The title Resilience was poorly chosen as this book's title.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    Appropriate

    Very inspirational during difficult times. This is a good book for a gift.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    Life's Pitfalls

    Very inspriational book with advice on dealing with adversities in life!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Don't waste your money!!!!

    I read alot of books and this is the absolute worse. Had this book been written by an unknown it would never have been published. This poor woman needs professional help. I have also lost a son and am very famaliar with the loss and pain. However it is way past time to stop grieving and for goodness sake celebrate the children already here This is especially important since her days are "numbered". Yes, I also have been living through the ravages of rectal cancer. This is a very depressing book and I would not share it or purchase it as a present.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    Human Connection, Not Political Power Play

    This is a great book for anyone who feels like they are the only one who understands what they are going through. Elizabeth Edwards writes about her feelings and reactions to her son's death, her cancer diagnosis, and the affair. As she writes in the book, it is not a juicy insight into her husband's horrible affair, but an example of a healthy response to a bad situation. Elizabeth Edwards does an excellent job of showing her own humanity and the way she made it through. A great book to show the light at the end of the tunnel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    Disappointing book

    I read Ms. Edwards's first book and liked it, though she tends to the wordy long sentences and seems to drown in her own prose once in awhile. I found her second book very disappointing. It reads like a rambling private journal. She rehashes and repeats herself, both from the first book and within this book. I SO appreciate her sorrow and can't imagine the pain of the losses she has suffered. But I do not understand the logic or benefit to her or her children of writing this book. She doesn't need the $ ( I think part of the problem is they have too much of that) and I believe she may regret this for her children's sakes some day.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2009

    Elizabeth Edward's New Book

    I thought this book was insightful, thoughtful and full of true stories that would touch anyone's heart.

    The chapter about her son and in fact the whole book is well written. She draws on songs, poems and other literary works to bring focus to her tales.

    The fact that she is able to write this despite her illness and all she has gone through shows what a focused, intelligent and strong woman she is. I wonder how many others going through what she has would be able to do the same.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    Different than what I thought...

    This book was captivating yet depressing. If you are looking for an inspirational book about resilience, this is not the one. Much of the book pertains to the death of her son Wade, and those excerpts were very sad and dark, especially for those who have children of their own. Elizabeth describes her unimaginable pain so well that you can feel yourself hurting and your heart aching as you read. The book is well written - Elizabeth's writing is very poetic, but it is not the inspirational piece I thought it would be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Thank you

    Thanks to everyone that talked about the number of pages in this book . Why are the number of pages of every book not posted with the description of the book. We have a right to know before we order. I find this a ripoff.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Thought this was the book ~ feel betrayed by BN!!!! 

    Thought this was the book ~ feel betrayed by BN!!!! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Moved me to tears

    Elizabeth Edwards has elegant bravery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Never pay for a book that is just 15 pages

    Did not read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Flamepaw

    He limps in coughing blood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Blackcloud

    She limped in and fell uncontions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    It was a good book but I did not realize this book was only 15

    It was a good book but I did not realize this book was only 15 pages. Had I know that I would not have bought it. In the future, I'll be more careful when I buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Lillykit

    "Ok what are you doing" inserted what splashbreeze was doing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Splash

    Brings in a mouse and a pawful of herbs. She sets the mice in her prey pile and goes to sort her herbs.~Splash

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Misled

    I had just finished reading Resilience and had enjoyed it. I thought this was an additional Afterward written after the book was pubished as Elizabeth neared the end. It was not. It was the exact ending of the book. Very misleading and a wasted expense. Disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 334 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17