Customer Reviews for

Resisting Her

Average Rating 3.5
( 217 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Resisting Her had everything I look for in an erotic novel. Sex

Resisting Her had everything I look for in an erotic novel.

Sexy Hero
Loveable Heroine
Sensual and arousing sex scenes
Provocative storyline

I always get scared when I start an erotic novel. Mainly because as much as I love dirty scenes I need MORE. I need storyline. ...
Resisting Her had everything I look for in an erotic novel.

Sexy Hero
Loveable Heroine
Sensual and arousing sex scenes
Provocative storyline

I always get scared when I start an erotic novel. Mainly because as much as I love dirty scenes I need MORE. I need storyline. I need realistic love and attachments that are formed outside of the bedroom. And I need characters that I want to root for.

Resisting Her totally fit the bill! Not only is the chemistry and sexual tension between Cole and Savannah so thick and sensual that I was left in a constant state of arousal, but there is a lot of development in both characters.

For example, Cole is a good man. Not only is he practically a FBI superhero, but he has a conscience,morals, and his feelings towards Savannah aren't only primal.

And Savannah, there is a raw vulnerability and innocence about her that is endearing. Heroines in books are always the hardest for me to relate to, and like, and I was on Team Savannah from the get-go.

There were moments between Cole and Savannah that made me swoon, and then there were moments where I wanted to take a cold shower. I felt the connection between these two broken characters that quickly solidified this as one of my favorite reads of 2013.

If your looking for a sexy read with tons of heart, Resisting Her is the book you need to start NOW.
5 stars*

posted by mybookmuse on April 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Poorly written. It had a great start and then just fell apart.

Poorly written. It had a great start and then just fell apart. Way too many conflicts going on to really delve into any of them well. And I couldn't get a handle on what his issues were - like she came on to him, but he didn't know she wanted him??!? Is he stupid? ...
Poorly written. It had a great start and then just fell apart. Way too many conflicts going on to really delve into any of them well. And I couldn't get a handle on what his issues were - like she came on to him, but he didn't know she wanted him??!? Is he stupid? Just didn't make sense after awhile.

posted by em_3boys on April 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 217 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    Resisting Her had everything I look for in an erotic novel. Sex

    Resisting Her had everything I look for in an erotic novel.

    Sexy Hero
    Loveable Heroine
    Sensual and arousing sex scenes
    Provocative storyline

    I always get scared when I start an erotic novel. Mainly because as much as I love dirty scenes I need MORE. I need storyline. I need realistic love and attachments that are formed outside of the bedroom. And I need characters that I want to root for.

    Resisting Her totally fit the bill! Not only is the chemistry and sexual tension between Cole and Savannah so thick and sensual that I was left in a constant state of arousal, but there is a lot of development in both characters.

    For example, Cole is a good man. Not only is he practically a FBI superhero, but he has a conscience,morals, and his feelings towards Savannah aren't only primal.

    And Savannah, there is a raw vulnerability and innocence about her that is endearing. Heroines in books are always the hardest for me to relate to, and like, and I was on Team Savannah from the get-go.

    There were moments between Cole and Savannah that made me swoon, and then there were moments where I wanted to take a cold shower. I felt the connection between these two broken characters that quickly solidified this as one of my favorite reads of 2013.

    If your looking for a sexy read with tons of heart, Resisting Her is the book you need to start NOW.
    5 stars*

    48 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this book

    Love this book

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    Resisting Her is the story of a vulnerable young woman, the ma



    Resisting Her is the story of a vulnerable young woman, the man cares for her, and the love that saves them both.



    In a couple of ways, Resisting Her reminded me of Kendall Ryan's first book, Unravel Me. And I loved that. We once again have a psychological angle (albeit, not as severe as in Unravel Me), with Savannah having grown up in a cult, naïve to the ways of the world. Also, the "forbidden" relationship angle is again at play. Cole is an FBI agent, assisted in taking down the cult Savannah lived in, personally carrying her out of the building. Once the rescue is finished, Savannah is placed in a safe house, since she is of age. But Cole can't forget the beautiful, quiet girl, and once again rescues her. He knows he shouldn't take her home with him, shouldn't let her become part of his life, but the two become closer, with an undeniable attraction, and he can't resist her.



    In Resisting Her, Ryan was able to portray the characters; their motivations, their wants and needs so clearly, that it is easy to see why they want one another. A relationship that may seem all sorts of wrong from the outside, becomes the story of two people who a good for each other and simply meant to be.



    As always, Kendall Ryan brought the steam. Now, I'm going not to delve to deeply into the scenes, but I will say this...look out for Chapter Sixteen and Chapter Twenty-four. Those were two personal favorites of mine.



    Resisting Her was a heartfelt, emotional, and steamy story. I always love Ryan's books and am always excited and ready for more.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Poorly written. It had a great start and then just fell apart.

    Poorly written. It had a great start and then just fell apart. Way too many conflicts going on to really delve into any of them well. And I couldn't get a handle on what his issues were - like she came on to him, but he didn't know she wanted him??!? Is he stupid? Just didn't make sense after awhile.

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    wonderful

    i read this at work at my desk thats how much i could not put this book down. first book i read from this author. howevere the story was a bit unbelivable

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    M

    I wish bn would ban these kids using the nook as a chat room. This is a book review site. Go to facebook, a web site or your phone to talk,but get off here.

    7 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    GREAT LOVE!

    I truely loved this book. It took a really long time for Cole to except his love for Savanah but once he did , the love and the sex was Amazing. Every womans fantasy is to have a man love her that much. I will recommend this book to everyone. ENJOY!

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Loved it

    Could definitely handle more books about these characters

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Great

    Always love her books

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    Love Kendall's book! They are hot and emotional!

    Love Kendall's book! They are hot and emotional!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Not as good as it's rated

    I must have read a different book than the other reviewers. It was not worth $2.99. It was a bit silly and not well developed at all. Strong sexy FBI agent who has a need to fix broken girls but is also emotionally distant. Then a nieve, scared, sheltred virgin who isn't so afraid of sex. It just didn't make sense.
    The story line might have worked if if was developed or written better.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Great read

    This is the first book Ive read from this author. I loved it! Couldnt put it down.Lots of hot and steamy parts, with a good story line. Awesome book! Great job!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Lilmimi

    This book is so good omg

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    There are authors who rarely disappoint, and Kendall Ryan is tha

    There are authors who rarely disappoint, and Kendall Ryan is that author for me. I haven't read a book of hers that I haven't enjoyed and this one was no exception. I was completely captivated by the first page and devoured the book in a day.

    What I look for in a book is a sexy and strong hero, a likable heroine, awesome chemistry, and enough suspense to keep me from wanting to put it down. This book has all of that. It starts out with Cole, a 26-year-old FBI agent, who's raiding a compound where a cult leader is suspected of convincing his followers to commit suicide. What he finds when he gets there is, Savannah, a 19-year-old refugee. Something in them instantly sparks when they see each other and although Cole watches the authorities take her away - he won't be able to get her off his mind. He ends up seeking her out to make sure she's okay - but when he finds she isn't, he offers to take her in until she can get back on her feet.

    In the beginning Cole has some issues with their age difference and Savannah's innocence. Normally, I would have serious issues with that in a book, too. But their relationship is so slow building that over time, the age means nothing compared to the friendship and love that they build. It's that slow build-up of suspense that had me glued to my Kindle. I was anxious to see the walls Cole had so carefully built around himself come crashing down when he started to realize his true feelings for Savannah. But he also has demons from his past that he's kept buried deep, and they will show themselves eventually. This will cause him to finally deal with his long overdue issues and make a decision that will impact his future with Savannah.

    Savannah wasn't the scared young girl that you'd expect her to be, growing up in the conditions she did. She was compassionate and sweet, and surprisingly well-adjusted - her first instinct always to take care of others. When you believe Cole is the one saving her - you start to realize she's actually saving him instead.

    And oh, Cole. Such a sexy, protective, alpha male with the sweetest heart. I just fell head-over-heals for him and how wonderful he treated Savannah. He never took advantage of her and fought his obvious attraction to her for so long, always concerned more for her well-being. He always had the best of intentions, even though he tended to screw up a bit - it was never in an unforgivable way.

    Lastly - I'd be remiss if I didn't mention how HOT this book was. And I mean heart-pounding, need a fan after reading some of those scenes, hot! Kendall Ryan knows not only knows how to create a perfect hero worth swooning over, but can write a steamy scene that gets your blood pumping!

    A truly beautiful love story that I really enjoyed and recommend. Kendall Ryan has a fan in me for life and I can't wait for her next release!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    What the hell is this?

    I never read the book but it sounds very disturbing.

    4 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    The cover looksblike tthere having sex a thats o)#

    4 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Good story line, exceptionally poor editing

    While the characters are likeable and the story line believable, I'm highly surprised that a publishing house would allow a book as poorly edited as thus to be prunted under its name. Perhaps it's only the Nook version, but there were so many editing errors that I found it difficult to read, and found myself actually highlighting and tracking the errors. How distracting!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Adults pretending to be children on here...very sick

    The so-called kid on her asking someone to resond to Sissy is not a kid. Its a ploy. No 10 yr old would have written that. I like how they spelled perfectly then switched it up at the very end, just a sicko trying to get someone to talk to them by pretending to be a child. You flagged the pervs responding but need to flag the fake kid too. If you see what appears to be kids commenting on adult books report it. I know I just did.

    3 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Enjoyed.

    Easy read.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Why not?

    Haven't read the book, but this is my opinoin from just looking at the cover: WISH I WAS THAT GIRL HAVING SEX WITH THAT CUTE, HOT, AND SEXY GUY!

    3 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 217 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11