Customer Reviews for

Resisting the Bad Boy

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Wow! This was such a good book! Super fun and sexy. I loved hot,

Wow! This was such a good book! Super fun and sexy. I loved hot, secretly sensitive Connor and strong, feisty Abby. Their chemistry made for some intense scenes. There were parts in this book that had me laughing so hard while others had me close to tears. This was a we...
Wow! This was such a good book! Super fun and sexy. I loved hot, secretly sensitive Connor and strong, feisty Abby. Their chemistry made for some intense scenes. There were parts in this book that had me laughing so hard while others had me close to tears. This was a well written storyline with fresh, witty dialog and an ending I just swooned over. Can't wait for the sequel!

posted by Lia13 on May 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

Too short and not happy that it is a not a stand alone book. Should be advertised as part one not book one in a series.

posted by 8672429 on June 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    10 Star read

    As an unpologetic book aholic, I'm always on the prowl for new authors. Violet Duke get's two huge thumbs (and all my fingers plus toes) up for Abby and Duke's story. Just knowing it is the first of what will be many, many, many (PLEASE!) more stories to head my way makes me as happy as savoring my favorite dark chocolate. The dialog will keep you in stitches with heart warming humor. The characters are well defined. Note I'm not telling you about the story line, because just like biting into a lovely dark chocolate, only to find the most amazing and unexpected filling, this is a book worth the discovery. A new fav author!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Wow! This was such a good book! Super fun and sexy. I loved hot,

    Wow! This was such a good book! Super fun and sexy. I loved hot, secretly sensitive Connor and strong, feisty Abby. Their chemistry made for some intense scenes. There were parts in this book that had me laughing so hard while others had me close to tears. This was a well written storyline with fresh, witty dialog and an ending I just swooned over. Can't wait for the sequel!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Wow! Talk about nailing it first time out of the chute. Violet

    Wow! Talk about nailing it first time out of the chute. Violet Duke's Resisting the Bad Boy placed her solidly on my list of auto-buy authors. She engages you in the first paragraph and never lets your attention stray. Her characters are lively, fun, and snappy with their banter. I found myself smiling, chuckling, and laughing out loud throughout the book. The only thing I like more in my choice of reading material is a hot, sexy scene and she deftly fills the pages with plenty of those as well. She gives us an incredibly romantic story about Connor, an emotionally shut-off bad boy who is revealed to be a good, self-sacrificing man by Abby, the good girl who brings it all out when she shows him real affection without an ulterior motive. These two well-written characters are great together and have smokin’ hot chemistry. I could offer details of so many scenes to illustrate my views but I don’t want to spoil your chance to read and enjoy it for yourself just as I did. Twice. Now I’m just waiting for the second book in this wonderful series to come out!! But in the meantime, buy this fantastic read by new author Violet Duke. You won’t be sorry!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Enjoyed but....

    I am pretty open minded when it comes to fiction, however I found myself constantly questioning - not judging- how the elephant in the room could be so easily ignored. THEY ARE BROTHERS???? I read the first two and will read the next because the storyline has captured my interest. The books are well written but for love this strong with no animosity from either brother and not even a little moral checking from all 3 of these "good" people, I had a hard time buying it. I am hoping Ms. Duke will clear this up for me in book 3. Either way, well worth my money and time. These books would actually be a great book club selection for the debate alone. CEB...

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Oh my Goodness!!! This book is a must read!!! Love Connor!!!

    Can not wait for the next book!!! It has to be Connor!!! Loved it!!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Good read

    I really enjoyed this book! Waiting to see what happens in the next one!

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Really enjoyed this book, it was an easy read! Loved Abby and Co

    Really enjoyed this book, it was an easy read! Loved Abby and Conner!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Great Book! Favorite part is the steamy scenes... don't want to

    Great Book! Favorite part is the steamy scenes... don't want to spoil it for every one

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2014

    I really liked this book. Lots of funny stuff, and oh my...Conno

    I really liked this book. Lots of funny stuff, and oh my...Connor. LOVED him! I actually thought all of the characters were well written, and Abby is just fantastic and such a sweetheart. The story pulls you in-I read it straight through in one sitting-and flows nicely. There were a couple of grammar/editing errors, but not really noticeable (I'm just one of those readers who always picks up on those, no matter what).




    I knew going into it that it was a serial, so the cliffhanger at the end didn't bug me so much...but wow, it's kind of a doozie. Thankfully I already have the whole series so I was able to just start the next book immediately. I can't wait to find out where it goes...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2014

    I loved this book! The writing was wonderful and the story was r

    I loved this book! The writing was wonderful and the story was real and believable. Conner is a bad boy who doesn't do relationships and Abby is funny and sexy and sure of herself. They meet, again, and they have instant chemistry. The dialog is so great that you laugh out loud and you really connect with the characters. It's not the same old story of boy meets girl, they fall in love, he messes it up then begs her to come back and HEA. Nope. But it's a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Abby is funny, easy going, and has a heart of gold! Out with her

    Abby is funny, easy going, and has a heart of gold! Out with her best friend Brian one night, they run into his brother Connor. Connor is very impressed when he sees Abby again...he is also under the mistaken impression that she and Brian are an item. This is cleared up though after Connor makes an even worse assumption about Abby, then shows up at her house with flowers to apologize.




    The sparks fly between them, but Abby knows Connor is definitely not relationship material...and Connor knows Abby can do better than him. But sometimes things are meant to be and neither of them can stop the sizzle between them. Connor hides his good self behind a tough exterior, but Violet can see through it. Even though Abby knows her heart will be broken, she wants to be with Connor, even if he only wants a month together.




    So will Abby have her heart broken, or can they both open up and take the chance? Connor hasn't had good examples of relationships given the state of his parents' marriage, can he see that many relationships can be good? Both Abby and Connor's feelings towards each other change and grow over the month, but will they do anything about it?




    I loved this fast moving, funny, sexy book!! Both of the main characters were great. I loved Abby's humor and character. I loved Connor too, that he's not as hard shelled as he'd like everyone to believe, he's just keeping everything deep inside. This is a great romantic read! My only dislike was the complete cliff hanger! I was devastated!! I know where I'd like this story to go and I'll find out in May! :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    Good

    I loved it and i couldnt put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2014

    Another Hit by Violet Duke!! This is just a great read!! it is f

    Another Hit by Violet Duke!! This is just a great read!! it is funny, fast paced and has some crazy hot love scences and I could not put it down. I could relate to her, as don't we all somtimes want to be a little more wild? Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Love

    Love it!! Really mad though that brian is trying to steal connors happiness. Brian already had his girl why does he need connors. Especially with all connor did for him over the years. I hope abby picks connor brian is a dick if he takes abby!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2014

    I loved this first installment of this Nice Girl Serial books. I

    I loved this first installment of this Nice Girl Serial books. I love the characters. Even the secondary players have a purpose and place in this book to help set up the next books without taking away from Connor and Abby's story. Wow, I felt like screaming at Connor at different points of the story then I just wanted to encourage him to be the man that Abby see's in him. I appreciate the ending as it gives way to part two of the series and made me buy the next book that I am starting right now. I highly recommend this book, get a copy but be warned that you will want to read the whole serial one right after the other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    Great book, despite the cliffhanger! I read this book before I

    Great book, despite the cliffhanger!

    I read this book before I knew it had a cliffhanger. I WAS not happy, because I loved Abby and Connor! So, if you're reading this review, please don't let that scare you off! It's a wonderful book and the characters come alive and make you root for them...a sure sign of a great story. Read it, you won't regret it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    Abby and Connor's story was good. Can't wait to start the next b

    Abby and Connor's story was good. Can't wait to start the next book to find out what happens with Abby. Violet did a good job with the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2014

    Another great book from Violet duke, I loved it as I do with all

    Another great book from Violet duke, I loved it as I do with all her books, It is the first book in a triolagy and does in on a cliffhanger, however the next book is already out so for me that just gives me a reason to grab up and read the next one as fast as i can!!! Love em.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2014

    I really Love the dynamics of everyone in this book! Could not w

    I really Love the dynamics of everyone in this book! Could not wait to see what happened next so read the whole series as fast as I could! Love all Of Violets books :D Was not sure how I would feel about Abby Loving brothers but wow my heart hurt for all of them and could not wait for all of them to get they HRA you do need to read all the books to see what happens and I know some don't like that but I feel it was all worth it! So I say Check out all of her books !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2014

    This book is Hot! Hot! Hot! :) I love how this story pulls you

    This book is Hot! Hot! Hot! :) I love how this story pulls you in. Violet is an amazing author. You really need to read this Awesome series! Happy Reading! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2