Customer Reviews for

Resisting the Hero

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    Two words: That. Was. Hot. Oh, sorry, that was three words. My b

    Two words: That. Was. Hot. Oh, sorry, that was three words. My brain isn't in a fully functional state at the moment, I'm still recovering from Connor turning it into mush. Mmm.. Connor. Ahem. Right, book review!

    I just finished reading Resisting the Hero and boy was it good, not a really good choice of pre-sleep reading though, unless you can somehow sleep after such a steamy, delightful book. Everything about this book completely sucked me in and once I started reading it I just couldn't stop!

    The characters were wonderful. Faith had the right amount of snark, fun, & heart and Connor was perfect amounts of sexy, sexy, & sexy. Err.. I meant sweet (sexy), funny (sexy), & kind (sexy). Connor was the perfect male leading role. He was a cop, he was drop dead gorgeous, he could speak sexy Italian, and he wanted to save the world! So dreamy! Faith was amazing too and I understand why she didn't fall for Connor so easily (well, I kinda do..) and I found her to be very adorable, even with all her insecurities.

    This is your classic romance novel, and even though we all know ultimately what's going to happen it's the journey there that we really want to read about, and Cindi Madsen can sure write one heck of a journey! While I thought Faith was a little too frosty to my cutie-pie Connor right at the beginning, I could understand why after all, she'd just been through one bad break-up. I wasn't so fond of Connor's history either, he's just to sweet to do such things, but again I understood and I loved watching both these characters grow through each other. This book is a definite must for romance lovers and I really, really, like, right now really need to get my hands on the first two books in this Bliss series!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    This is the second novel I read from Bliss Publishing and I have

    This is the second novel I read from Bliss Publishing and I have loved both. Resisting the Hero is a cute yet very emotional and moving story that traps your heart and pulls you right in from the start.  I didn’t read the previous 2 novels before I read Resisting the Hero and I have no trouble connecting with the characters or the story line in any way.




    I really liked practically everything about this books, from the characters to the plot to the writing. Cindi Madsen is an amazing writer, she just seems to captivate me from the start. Just the way that Resisting the Hero started off, I really cannot explain it maybe it was just me.




    I loved the main character Faith, she is this strong, sassy, sometimes one minded girl that hides behind it all to protect herself from pain. I like that we get to see a vulnerable side to our main character, how she is so haunted from her past that she can’t even go to certain places or be with certain people because  of what she went through.  I totally understand the way she is, the reasoning to why Faith is that way is just heartbreaking and emotional. She is tormented by something that hurt her so much, also adding the fact of all the other problems.




    I think you will too when you read Resisting the Hero. She builds up this wall and believes that she cannot date ‘the hero’ but then you bring Conner Maguire into the equation.




    I love Conner, he is sweet and caring and yes he might be a bit of a man whore but a girl can defiantly change that. He is just amazing , he makes me smile every time he talks about Faith and just add in that he is super hot. Conner changes when he meets Faith, I love seeing this change, it’s just makes me smile. Faith and Conner are both better for each other, they help one another through the hard times.




    My heart melts at so many of those cute moments between Conner and Faith, they are just so cute. Yes it might be cliche the older brother’s friend but I just love it. The little moment they have when they are getting things ready for the Fall Festival is just shfkashfh.




    Anna! Oh my heart weeps for Anna and Kaleb as well. They are both just wonderful characters and they make the novel that much more realistic than it already was. I really like Anna, there was nothing that wasn't likeable. I liked Kaleb and disliked him at the same time. The thing I didn’t like about him was his protective older brother side, he just got on my nerves and I wanted to scream at him most of the time, but then again I loved this side as it showed just how much he cares about Faith.




    I wish there was some more character development in the minor characters but in saying that there was really good character development in both Faith and Conner, which I loved. Sometimes it’s really hard to find great character development in both our main characters really.




    I really liked how the book was written, how we got the perceptive of both Faith and Conner, we got to see or read how they both feel, the effect they had on each other. The way they make each other feel.




    The ending oh what an ending, my heart stopped for a minute there, it nearly ripped me to pieces. It brought out the best in both Faith and Conner. We witness how much Conner loves Faith, she sees it.




    Cindi Madsen writes a brilliant, heartfelt, sweet novel about a girl who with the right boy can overcome heartbreak and a life that haunted her for quite a while.




    I Give Resisting the Hero 4 out of 5 stars 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    Seriously, I don't know ANYONE who could resist Connor Maguire!

    Seriously, I don't know ANYONE who could resist Connor Maguire!  It's no wonder Faith has to work hard to resist this hero. :)  

    Faith Fitzpatrick has been through an awful lot in her life.  I really can't blame her for trying to keep herself away from the cocky man with a hero-complex.  She's a great girl, and she deserves the best.  But she's also constantly letting her past dictate her future, and it was SO frustrating!  Of course, this also makes her physical attraction to him much more fun to watch!  She's hell-bent on staying away from him, and she's snarky to boot, but her body's reaction to him tends to cut off her brain's ability to make her stay away.  :)

    Connor Maguire has also been through a lot, although he doesn't often speak of it.  And yes, he's cocky, although he would probably call it confident. :)  But his hero-complex is not what it seems either.  And to top it all off, Connor is Faith's brother's best friend!  Now, Connor might sound like a whole bucket of trouble, but he's really just the opposite.  He's fantastic with Faith's niece, he cares about his family, he helps out around town...I mean, who would WANT to resist this man?!  I know, I know, he used to be a bit of a player, but he's trying!

    And of course, you can't have a little sister falls for older brother's best friend story without the older brother!  Kaleb is a fantastic cop, a wonderful husband and father, a great older brother, and a pretty good best friend...but he can be a wee-bit overprotective.  I was SO MAD at him, the way he was warning Connor and Faith off of each other.  But, it made the story even better.

    You don't want to miss out on this one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    I adored this book! This is a wonderfully written story about

    I adored this book! This is a wonderfully written story about two people with past hurts that should keep them apart but they are drawn to each other. Great characters and flow to this book. I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2014

    In what will be no surprise to anyone, I adored Resisting the He

    In what will be no surprise to anyone, I adored Resisting the Hero. I've read all of Madsen's published books, and I've enjoyed every single on. So let me tell you exactly why I loved this one.

    •Resisting the Hero was funny. I knew I was in for an enjoyable ride when I busted out laughing twice within the first few paragraphs.

    The bar was bursting with guys tonight--seriously, it was like Muscles R Us up in here, all filled-out chests and bulging arms with biceps upon biceps. Under other circumstances, Faith might take a moment to enjoy the view. But right now, she was looking for one particular meathead, and she happened to be related to him.

    and...

    "My friend and I were just talking about what a sausage fest this was, and then you came in." He ran his appraising gaze down her body, lingering on the V of her neckline.
    Faith crossed her arms. "That works out, because I'm here for a weenie roast."

    With funny little moments like this sprinkled throughout, Resisting the Hero made me smile and laugh repeatedly.


    •Faith Fitzpatrick is another of Madsen's signature heroines. And by that I mean, I adored her. Faith was snarky yet sweet. Though she's spent the last decade running from the pain of her father's tragic death, Faith is now determined to demand more of herself, men. Faith can and does stand up for herself and what she wants. She may be a pretty shoddy cook, but she can always whip up a heaping dose of sarcasm and wit.

    "Now, behave will you? I'm trying to watch bugs catch a mate. See if I can't get some tips.
    "Hell, make your ass glow, and I might take back everything I've said about you."

    •Connor Maguire is the total package. Now, I'm not emphasizing the physical here (though Connor is a total babe). Connor is a good man who's using his job to protect those who can't protect themselves. Connor knows what it's like to be helpless and afraid, and he is determined to do all he can for others. Oh, Connor also collects Star Wars figures, and claims to even have the sheets. Connor was a bit of a playboy, but from the moment Faith puts him in his place, it's pretty much game over for him.

    "Just give me a shot, Faith. I won't let you down, I swear."


    •Resisting the Hero brings us full circle in the Accidentally in Love series. The series began with Wes and Dani in Falling for Her Fiance, then we had Sawyer and Brynn in Act Like You Love Me. Due to close ties, between Wes and Connor and Faith and Brynn, I was very happy to see both couples again, particularly Wes and Dani because wedding bells are ringing! I love revisiting former series leads and seeing what happens after their happily ever after. The circle may be complete, but I will always remember each story fondly.


    Cindi Madsen never fails to write stories I enjoy wholeheartedly. She always writes with such charm and wit, and creates characters who are utterly impossible not to love. If you are lucky for a series that will leave you with a smile on your face and a happy heart, I can't recommend Accidentally in Love highly enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2014

    Another prefect love story from Cindi Madsen Cindi Madsen won m

    Another prefect love story from Cindi Madsen

    Cindi Madsen won me over once again with her most recent release, Resisting the Hero, the final installment in her Accidentally in Love series. I’ve come to expect a lot from Ms. Madsen’s stories – strong plots, solid dialog, well developed characters, a good dose of humor, a few tears, and a lot of sexy. Time and time again she manages to deliver on all points. She’s solidified her spot as my new favorite.

    In Resisting the Hero, we meet Faith, who is mad as a hornet at her brother, Kaleb, for joining the SWAT program. After losing their father in the line of duty, Faith has a lot of well justified fears regarding the sacrifices of loving a cop. Fresh off a nasty break up, Faith moves back home to stay with her brother and his family for a little while as she starts putting the pieces of her life back together. She’s determined to find herself a sweet, nerdy guy with a non-heroic job to settle down with and build a life. Enter: Connor, her brother’s partner and best friend. He’s the exact opposite of what Faith think’s she wants, but every time she sees him, he becomes a little harder to resist.

    I’ll admit, it took me some time to really love Connor. At first I thought he was over the top cocky and was always spouting off cheesy pick-up lines. He was a little infuriating, to tell the truth. But just like Faith, I started falling for him until the man was downright irresistible. The man loves and adores his dog, is ridiculously cute with Ella (Kaleb’s little girl), he speaks Italian to his mama, is determined to protect everyone he loves and is just one of the sweetest, hottest guys I’ve read in a long time.

    I loved the UST and slow burn these two experienced. It never felt like things were dragging, and there was always a great sense of anticipation. Even when they were driving each other crazy, they were completely adorable and had some amazing chemistry. I love how as a reader I could gradually peel back the layers for these two. It felt like I was getting to know them as they were getting to know each other. They felt like such genuine people with so much depth and history behind them, only made that much richer when blended with the supporting characters.

    For me, loving the female protagonist is every bit as important as loving the man. What’s the point of having a swoony hero if he ends up with a total hag? I loved Faith and always felt like I could understand where she was coming from, even if she was making decisions I didn’t want her to. There were times I just wanted to give the girl a hug and tell her she didn’t need to worry so much. Thankfully, Connor was able to step in and take care of that for me.
    A bonus to this book being one in a series is that we get glimpses into previous couples and how they’re doing now. It was fun to catch up a little with Dani and Wes, among others and see them living happily ever after.

    Five stars! If you haven’t read any of the previous books in this series, what the heck are you doing? GO! READ THEM! NOW! Then keep right on reading them until you get to Faith and Connor. These two are so worth the wait!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Rating 4 1/2 Oh boy was Resisting the Hero by Cindi Madsen a fun

    Rating 4 1/2
    Oh boy was Resisting the Hero by Cindi Madsen a fun read. I have to say that I truly enjoyed this book. For one thing I was laughing from the first pick up line:
    "My friend and I were just talking about what a sausage fest this was, and then you came in.” He ran his appraising gaze down her body, lingering on the V of her neckline.
    Faith crossed her arms. “That works out, because I’m here for a weenie roast.”
    He put a protective hand over his package—probably without realizing he was doing it—but his smile widened."
    I mean Connor Maguire had a great line, but I love Faith Fitzpatrick snappy come back. That's how the story begins with them going back and forth. Connor with his pickup lines and Faith shooting him down. Connor knows he needs to stay away from his buddy's sister, but how can he resist such a feisty girl. Connor is used to girls bending at his will, but he loves the challenge Faith brings to the table. 

    Now Faith has been hurt in the past by guys like Connor, so she tries to void him like the plague. However, he's just so irresistible. The more time she spends with him, Faith starts to realize she can't lump him into the same category as her past relationship. However, there is one strike against Connor that Faith has a hard time letting go and that is he's a cop. After all her father died trying to protect innocent by standers. Will Faith be strong enough not to let the past dictate the future. 

    Other than Faith's issues, this was a highly entertaining story. I mean Connor adores Faith, but he has a hard time putting his player mode in check and those pickup lines just spew out. Here's another example of a great pickup line (or cheesy) from Connor:
    "You know, you've got the kind of legs that make me wanna be pants."
    Come on you know you love that line. Anyway, whenever Connor is around Faith he can't seem to help it. I love Connor, because with all those cheesy lines he's still a great guy underneath all those muscles. So, if you are looking for a sweet story that will have you laughing at some serious lines, you might want to give Resisting the Hero. You might have a hard time resisting Connor too. 

    Copy provided by publisher

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2014

    One of my very first Bliss books was by Cindi Madsen and I¿ve be

    One of my very first Bliss books was by Cindi Madsen and I’ve been a huge fan of her writing ever since. She has a way of capturing her readers attention the second you start to read and continue to hold your attention throughout. Her characters are easy to relate to and ones you can understand and sympathize with.
    While you meet a few characters from her past books, Resisting the Hero is one that can be read as a stand alone. Since I have read the previous books in the Accidentally in Love series, it was wonderful to ‘see’ a few old faces and to get acquainted with a few new ones.
    Faith and Conner, while being their own two people, both have their fair share of past challenges to work through, but overcome them individually and together. While this is a romantic and quick read, it is also one of family, friends, and forgiveness. Prepare to feel butterflies, get a little misty eyed, and fall head over heels in love with Faith and Connor.
    And if you haven’t read any of Cindi’s previous works, I encourage you to do your heart a favor and prepare to fall in love with her stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2014

    This was such a lovely easy romantic read with wonderful loveabl

    This was such a lovely easy romantic read with wonderful loveable characters. Whilst following on from Falling for her Fiancé & Act Like You Love Me, Resisting the Hero could quite easily be read as a standalone, although the characters from these do feature.

    Cindi Madsen has used the trusted romantic blend of the heroine being the younger sister of the hero's best-friend and she has done an excellent job with the chemistry between Connor and Faith. With his flirty nature and tongue-in-cheek wit, SWAT Officer Connor could charm the birds out of the trees and is relentless in the best possible way in his pursuit of Faith's affections. She's sassy, witty and kind-hearted and as frustrating as her reluctance is, it is understandable and this makes it the captivating charming love story it is.

    With plenty of humour, innuendo and sexual tension balanced with romantic, touching and more serious moments, Resisting the Hero was a fitting finale to the Accidentally in Love series.

    I received an ARC of this courtesy of Entangled Publishing for an honest and unbiased opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2014

    **Warning: sorta spoiler ahead (but not really)** So you totall

    **Warning: sorta spoiler ahead (but not really)**

    So you totally know where this one is going to go from the first chapter – Faith and Connor get together, she can’t take the stress of his job so she runs, he gets hurt on the job, she comes back to him having decided it is better to be with him than not ... but that doesn’t mean that the journey isn’t a blast. Having read the first two books in the “Accidentally in Love” series (Falling for Her Fiance and Act Like You Love Me), I already knew that Madsen’s books are full of warmth and humor and fun. And Resisting the Hero doesn’t disappoint.

    Full review available on Romantic Reads and Such on wordpress.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    This is a great older brother's best friend falls in love with l

    This is a great older brother's best friend falls in love with little sister romance. The story begins by Faith reluctent acceptence that her older brother's best friend is genuniely interested in her. She has many walls that are gradually torn down by our faithful hero. He pursues her, she resists, but eventually love conquers all.

    This was a well pace novel, that featured a realistic heroine and almost to good to be true hero. It kept my attention and had the right amount of heat and story. The ending was a little predictable, but I enjoy a happily ever after.

    I recieved a ARC copy for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    Resisting the Hero has a sexy cop and a feisty heroine. The bant

    Resisting the Hero has a sexy cop and a feisty heroine. The banter between the two kept me turning the pages, watching their attraction grow as they both fought to act on it. Connor's trying to respect his partner's wishes and stay away from his little sister, but it's not as easy as it sounds. Faith's determined to not fall for a hero. I totally fell for Connor! He's got a lot more going on than he shows, and there's no doubt that he's a really good guy. And Faith is a realistic heroine. She's not perfect and she's working out some things, but she's also there for her family, and sees Connor's got more to him, but his job still scares her. I loved how the story unfolded, and how they couldn't deny their chemistry anymore. This was a great ending to a great series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    I have the first two books in this series sitting on my Kindle

    I have the first two books in this series sitting on my Kindle and all I can say after reading Resisting the Hero is: WHY THE HECK HAVE I NOT MADE TIME FOR THEM!? I really enjoyed Cindi's writing- she pulled me right in to the story and I was completely hooked. Characters from the previous novels make an appearance here, but I found it wasn't necessary to have read the first two books first. Cindi weaves them in to where fans of the older books will be happy to see them, but new fans such as myself don't get confused as to who is who.

    Let's start with uber sexy Connor Maguire, shall we? Oh boy. Connor is your typical playboy, or so we've heard. We hear about his reputation as being popular with the ladies, but we don't see it in this book. I liked that. I get bummed out when I first meet the hero and he's taking care of business with another girl who is NOT our heroine. When Connor first meets Faith, he not only notices how beautiful she is, but is drawn to her spunk. She shows up feisty, strong-willed, and quite headstrong. You can tell she doesn't fall for any crap and I like how she navigated Connor's smooth talking waters. He puts the C in cocky, but it's definitely not in a douchebag way. Connor has that playful cocky arrogance, and some of his lines are so hilarious!

    Faith is not unaffected by Connor. He may be cocky and arrogant, but he's definitely easy on the eyes. However, Faith always tends to pick the wrong guys and the most recent really left her in a bad way. From here on out, Faith wants a stable, sweet guy. Although she is typically attracted to the confident ones, she won't go down that road again. Connor is everything she knows she shouldn't want and yet she can't help but be attracted to him. He doesn't make it any easier on her as he enjoys getting under her skin and flirting with her. He knows she should be off limits, as she is his best friend's sister, but for the first time in a long time Connor finally wonders if he'd be willing to try his hand at a relationship again.

    I absolutely loved their romantic build up. Faith is incredibly stubborn, even after Connor proves his worth as a good guy. Not only does she not want to get hurt again, but she has a real problem with Connor's job. Connor and her brother Kaleb are both cops and are both newly trained SWAT members. This terrifies Faith as the last thing she wants is for anything to happen in the line of duty like it did for her father. Faith was always a daddy's girl and losing her dad was really hard on her. She couldn't stop Kaleb from joining the force, but for him to train for SWAT and be one of the first ones put in danger is too much for her. Kaleb has a wife, Anna, and a daughter, Ella, and another one on the way. He is a family man and while he thinks of their safety and protection, Faith really zones in on something happening to him and leaving his family behind like her father did. Kaleb and Faith's mother was never the same after losing her husband and the depression took hold of her to a point where she retreated and is now living with her mother in Virginia.

    I definitely understand Faith's hang ups. She has been hurt by her last boyfriend who always said he wasn't good at relationships and then when she caught him in the act with another woman, he threw that back in her face. Connor's reputation is all too reminiscent of her ex's and she lets her insecurities from the past taint what they could have with one another. There is also the tiny problem of Kaleb, who tells Connor there's no way they can be together. Gotta love the protective older brother! Connor tries to do the right thing and back off, but after spending more and more time with her, he realizes that he just can't and nor does he want to.

    I really enjoyed Kaleb, Anna, and Ella. You can tell they are a close family unit and I love how Connor has been incorporated into that. Watching him with little Ella will tug on your heartstrings and one of the reasons Faith lets her guard down with him. Ella is a handful, but she's really cute too and I liked how much interaction we got with her throughout the book. Faith is really there for her family when they need her and as hard as it was coming back to her hometown where so many memories of her father remain, she realizes maybe coming back wasn't the worst thing to ever happen to her.

    I really loved this book and I feel Madsen did a great job of developing her characters, as well as creating a believable storyline and atmosphere for them. It's a warm, fun, sweet book, but also has a serious side to it as well. Both our main characters have their own challenges and pasts to work through and I liked seeing their resilience and drive to do so. I want to give a huge thank you to Rachel Harris, Debbie Suzuki, and Cindi herself for making review copies available to Rachel's street team The Flirt Squad (in which I am happy to be a part!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    We All Make Mistakes In Books Reviews I can'tbelieve this is th

    We All Make Mistakes In Books Reviews

    I can'tbelieve this is the end of the accidentally in love series! I need more... 
    And I think Connor is my favourite guy! I mean, hello sexy arms!




    This is exactly what I've come to expect from Cindi Madsen, laugh, tears and lots of swooning.




    Faith is back in town, btw I'm driving by North Carolina as I'm typing this and reading the book so I got all kinds of excited about it (I'm not the one actually driving though). Anyways, Faith is back in town to get her life together after a bad relationship and of course to tell her big brother all the reasons why joining the SWAT team was a really bad idea. What she wasn't expecting was meeting Connor.




    Connor couldn't be more happy with his graduation from SWAT team. All those days of training until his body gave up paid off (really they did, he has the body to prove it) the fact that the hot girl that he just met is his best friend's sister is a little inconvinience though... 




    I really loved this book, read it in a day and hated having to stop for lunch. 




    The chemistry between the two main characters just flies out of the pages. 
    They are everything the other needs and at the same time everything they didn't want in their partners.




    Faith was sure the kind of guy she wanted, nerdy and with a desk job. Connor wanted fun, nothing more, nothing else.




    Cindi really outdid herself here. Faith's voice is unique. She's funny and her inner dialogue made me laugh more than once. There's also how much she tries to move on from her bad memories, how she feels she needs to conquer all that in order to be a better person and a better professional. Her family is always first and that was something I could easily relate with.




    Connor is the perfect book boyfriend. He's charming and hot and he knows it. He loves the attention too. But the caveman side Faith brings out in him and that need to protect her really melts you. Get ready for some serious swooning. And he's great with kids!
    I love his more sensitive side, the way he slowly opens up about his family and you see what they mean to him. 




    Cindi manage to balance everything so perfectly here, give time toshow each character past and at the same time show us how slowly they got to know each other. 




    Resisting the Hero is a perfect read for a weekend so make sure to. Pick up your copy as soona s it's out! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    After having her heart crushed one too many times, Faith swears

    After having her heart crushed one too many times, Faith swears off good-looking, confident men forever. And she's definitely not looking for a hero. She needs a sweet, reliable, unassuming man. Her brother's best friend, Connor, is exactly what she doesn't want. Super-sexy, totally confident and utterly charming, Connor is dangerous enough on his own. But when you throw in the fact that he's not only a cop, but a member of the SWAT team, throwing himself in harm's way as a matter of routine, falling for him is a risk Faith isn't willing to take. 

    Too bad he's impossible to resist.

    I received my advance copy of RESISTING THE HERO while I was fighting a nasty flu. I knew I should be sleeping, to allow my body a chance to heal, but like Faith, I couldn't resist Connor's charm. I had to finish the book before I could give in to sleep, because I just had to see Faith and Connor find their own happily ever after. There's definitely more to this guy than meets the eye. Proof that the perfect guy might just be the one you'd never choose for yourself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I  have always loved small town stories and this one was the bes

    I  have always loved small town stories and this one was the best yet. Beautifully written with well developed characters you will feel a connection with them and won't help but getting excited, sad, angry and be in love along with Faith and Connor.
    I loved it so much that didn't feel like putting it down once I started reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book it is now my favorite in the series. I can't w

    I loved this book it is now my favorite in the series. I can't wait to see more of all the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    I thought this was a sweet and charming romance and it was a ple

    I thought this was a sweet and charming romance and it was a pleasure to read. The characters had depth and the interactions felt relatable. The story first introduces us to Faith, who is returning to her hometown after a terrible break-up. Adding to the stress, she hasn't been home since she graduated from high school, due to a family tragedy. We learn that her father was a police officer, killed off-duty and she hasn't quite gotten over the sadness and fear of violence. Of course, we then learn her brother, Kaleb, is a cop who has just joined the SWAT team!! Poor Faith! Next, enter Connor, Kaleb's very sexy partner and best friend. The instant that Faith and Connor meet, the chemistry is explosive and watching them handle their feelings was a pleasure. This book has a lot of entertaining banter and some sweet, family moments. Watching them navigate this "should they-shouldn't they" relationship felt very real. This is a pretty clean romance, which I find to be refreshing, though don't get me wrong, I like a good dirty book every now and then. I thought this romance focused on family and the strength of individuals to overcome hurtful pasts and find the light at the end of the tunnel. I was excited to find out this was a series and can't wait to go back and read the earlier books. I think I found a new romance author to add to my collection.

    Overall, this was a fun, pleasure read and I would recommend it to any romance reader who wants to see true love unfold.

    I received a copy of this title from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    Lovely Sweet & Sensual Romance!!!!!!  FIVE SWOON STARS!!!!!

    Lovely Sweet & Sensual Romance!!!!!!  FIVE SWOON STARS!!!!!




    OMG!  I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this story!  Cindi Madsen has written another winner!  Cindi Madsen has quickly become one of my favorite authors!




    I loved the characters in Resisting the Hero.  Their chemistry was tangible... awesomely sweet and sexy.  




    Faith has had terrible luck with guys... her last hero boyfriend cheated on her.   Now she just wants a relationship with a  nerdy guy who she doesn't have to worry about.




    Connor is her brother's SWAT team partner, a looker with a hot bod and an ego to match.  He finds himself grounded in Faith.  He just has to convince Faith to believe in him and give their love a chance.




    I love surprising happy endings...   and this ending will leave you happily glowing!.




    This is the 2nd book in this series that I've read having read the 1st and now the 3rd.  Obviously, reading them out of order did not affect my enjoyment of the story.  I plan to read the 2nd book in the series SOON! 




    I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading romances... this is an excellent choice!




    FIVE SWOON STARS!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    "Resisting the Hero" by Cindi Madsen was fantastic. De

    "Resisting the Hero" by Cindi Madsen was fantastic. Definitely a classic Madsen novel, I don't know where to begin to tell you how great this book was. Madsen knows how to write romance. I haven't read her other Romance novels however I have purchased them because I can't get enough of Madsen's writing. 




    Madsen has a beautiful way of putting words on paper and making characters and scenes feel so real. I felt like Faith was my friend and I cried for her and cheered for her. Madsen is an excellent writer, she describes her characters to a tee and gives them so much depth. 




    Beautiful blonde Faith wants to fall in love a nerd and live out a quite non complicated or worrisome life. When she returns to the town that she grew up in, the town he father died in, her life starts to turn upside down. Faith's father died while off duty from being a police officer. Faith's dad was considered to be a hero. Faith didn't want her brother to become a cop like her dad and she definitely didn't want to marry anyone that is in the line of fire. Least did she expect to be attracted to Connor, her brother's partner.




    The hot SWAT policeman Connor is well hot. What woman is going to turn down a muscly man? Faith that is who. Connor never met anyone like Faith and all he wants is for her to be interested in him. He can't seem to catch a break. When Faith finally starts to become interested in Connor her brother Kaleb tells him to back off, so when he does Faith doesn't get it. 




    Faith has many fears she needs to conquer while she is in her home town.  This story is about conquering fears and finding love. It is one of the best romance books I have read. I have to say that Madsen is great at what she does and bringing a story to life for her readers. This novel really shows why Cindi Madsen is one of my favorite authors. Thank you Madsen for writing such a great novel. 




    When you need to help conquering your fears definitely contact the hot SWAT team cop Connor. He is definitely swoon worthy. If you want to know how swoon worthy pick up a copy of "Resisting the Hero."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2