Customer Reviews for

The Resort

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A thrilling horror novel

Located in the heart of the Arizona desert, The Reata Hotel offers cheap rates to its customers in the summertime when it can¿t attract any rich vacationers. Lowell Thurman, who wants to avoid his school reunion, agrees to let his wife Rachel and their three sons (Owen...
Located in the heart of the Arizona desert, The Reata Hotel offers cheap rates to its customers in the summertime when it can¿t attract any rich vacationers. Lowell Thurman, who wants to avoid his school reunion, agrees to let his wife Rachel and their three sons (Owen, Curtis and their youngest Ryan) stay at the resort for five days of luxurious pampering. When they first glimpse the resort it looks like a rich man¿s paradise with luxeries very few could afford.................................. At the end of their first day at the hotel complex, all the Thurmans share the feeling that something evil permeates the place. The Thurman teens see a dead body at the bottom of the pool that turns into a dark spot once they leave the area. Rachel sees a face of evil in the sky; while Lowell swimming alone in pool feels hands clutching his body. There is a deserted ruin of another resort at the end ofa trail and as the Reata starts to deteriorate, the ruins turn into a new version of The Resort. Guests are now trapped there, helpless to fight the evil that is the Reata hotel................................ There are very few horror writers who can write as consistently well as Bentley Little. His writing is on a par with the greats such as Stephen King, Clive Barker and Peter Straub but he has a unique voice and a way of turning ordinary circumstances into a person¿s worst nightmare. THE RESORT is his best work to date as fans will think twice in a Jaws-like manner of where they vacation...................... Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

take the offer and get your money back

I know horror is not supposed to be realistic (at least supernatural horror) but this went way over the top. The author kept wanting you to believe that ordinary folks would continuously ignore extremely bizarre, outrageous behavior (and yes I got that there was some k...
I know horror is not supposed to be realistic (at least supernatural horror) but this went way over the top. The author kept wanting you to believe that ordinary folks would continuously ignore extremely bizarre, outrageous behavior (and yes I got that there was some kind of spell cast over the resort) but it just didn't come off any where close to believable. And the ending was the real horror. It just seemed that the author got sick of the whole thing and decided to mercy-kill it--which was actually a relief, but totally out of the blue and contrived to the nth degree. There is a money back guarantee advertised on the paperback, take that as a warning and stay away.

posted by Anonymous on October 27, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A thrilling horror novel

    Located in the heart of the Arizona desert, The Reata Hotel offers cheap rates to its customers in the summertime when it can¿t attract any rich vacationers. Lowell Thurman, who wants to avoid his school reunion, agrees to let his wife Rachel and their three sons (Owen, Curtis and their youngest Ryan) stay at the resort for five days of luxurious pampering. When they first glimpse the resort it looks like a rich man¿s paradise with luxeries very few could afford.................................. At the end of their first day at the hotel complex, all the Thurmans share the feeling that something evil permeates the place. The Thurman teens see a dead body at the bottom of the pool that turns into a dark spot once they leave the area. Rachel sees a face of evil in the sky; while Lowell swimming alone in pool feels hands clutching his body. There is a deserted ruin of another resort at the end ofa trail and as the Reata starts to deteriorate, the ruins turn into a new version of The Resort. Guests are now trapped there, helpless to fight the evil that is the Reata hotel................................ There are very few horror writers who can write as consistently well as Bentley Little. His writing is on a par with the greats such as Stephen King, Clive Barker and Peter Straub but he has a unique voice and a way of turning ordinary circumstances into a person¿s worst nightmare. THE RESORT is his best work to date as fans will think twice in a Jaws-like manner of where they vacation...................... Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    One of Little's best!

    I have now read about 8 of Bentley Little's novels, and i have to say this one is one of my favorites. Take a resort way out in the desert and add a sinister, evil agenda to the staff and the surrounding property, add your average family and unsuspecting guests with bizzare occurrances, and you get..... well you should see!
    One of the reasons why i keep reading Little's novels, is how the other- worldly forces injects itself into every day, mainstream society, bent on unleashing it's havoc by whatever means possible-i.e. insurance salesman, the mail, home owners associstions, retail stores, and resort staff. Highly entertaining!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2007

    very imaginative

    Little's typical style with bountiful twists and turns, not 'scary' in the typical haunted house context but intruiging. You never know what will happen next. I enjoyed it's strange plot.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2004

    take the offer and get your money back

    I know horror is not supposed to be realistic (at least supernatural horror) but this went way over the top. The author kept wanting you to believe that ordinary folks would continuously ignore extremely bizarre, outrageous behavior (and yes I got that there was some kind of spell cast over the resort) but it just didn't come off any where close to believable. And the ending was the real horror. It just seemed that the author got sick of the whole thing and decided to mercy-kill it--which was actually a relief, but totally out of the blue and contrived to the nth degree. There is a money back guarantee advertised on the paperback, take that as a warning and stay away.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    the resort

    i think this is a very good book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    Great until the last five pages!

    This was a great book, funny, good characters and I couldn't put down the book!However there was too much sexual innuendo and the plot was lame. The end was so lame you could just quit!<BR/>Other wise a great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2006

    Excellent, fast paced story

    Creepy tale of a family stranded in the middle of the desert. You definitely get addicted to this one...it is a page turner. Some supernatural stuff, but not enough to make the story sci-fi.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2005

    A MUST READ!

    This was my first Bentley Little novel, but it will not be my last. I'm not a big fan of the paranormal but Mr. Little writes in a way that makes you want to keep reading and find out whats going to happen. A page turner that is a must read for any horror fan. I will never stay anywhere with RESORT in the name again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Vulgar

    Vulgar where it didnt need to be-I only finished this book because I didnt know how to return it-had it been a printed book-I would have ripped it up-does not need to be even given to charity!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    I LOVE Bently Little. Best book by him.

    I LOVE Bently Little. Best book by him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Quick and spooky read

    Very strange book. Plot is easy to follow. Pretty spooky and creepy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    The Resort, by Bentley Little

    Not near as good as last book I read of his which isn't saying too much. A few good parts, but overall regretted this purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    very original

    as are all bentley's books.
    this one was about a family who goes on vacation to an exclusive resort in arizona. it's the weirdest resort ever!
    i thoroughly enjoyed this book, and bought it as a gift for my brother for his birthday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bentley Little's Resort. My 1st ever book review

    I found this book looking for something to read to get me away from video gameing, Anyway It worked. Now the book to me started off slow but picked up very well thourghout the story. Its got weird things going on during the book that keeps you wandering what the heck is going on, the main story is about the family with a couple other people involvedand a ending that shocked me.<BR/>Anyway hope you enjoy my 1st review, I'll try to improve as i do these.<BR/>I recommend this to horror or supernatural fans.<BR/>Thanks sinc, Shockwave

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    Not worth your time.

    I've read a few of Bentley Little's books hoping that maybe atleast one would turn out GOOD, but that never happened. It seem all of his books are horrible. They start out pretty good, but by the the first twenty pages you realize that the scariest thing was that you wasted your money to by the book.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2006

    A pretty good read

    This was my first Bentley Little Book- it was very creepy!. There were quite a few odd twists in the book and more than a few unanswered questions but overall it was a good read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2006

    Good Book!

    This is my first Bentley Little book and I see that I picked a good one to start with. I was hooked from page one and zipped through it in a day. The book was a trip in itself and I look forward to reading more from him.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2005

    Great Read

    This is my second book by Bentley Little and I thought it was keep you on the edge of your seat. He has great imagination. I usually read mostly ghost books and I am really getting into his books. Looking forward to reading more and more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2005

    Hard to put down but way too many questions

    I could not let myself put the book down but now that I'm done with it, I have way too many questions. For instance What killed Vicki? What happened to Blodgett? What happened to David? What was the deal with the little hairless guy in the bathtub? What happened to Rockne? Same thing with Gloria? and Ralph? and Patrick? All in all I thought the plot was good but not all of the ends were covered

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    Hard to put down

    This was the first book I read that was written by Bentley Little. This book was hard to put down I stayed up late reading the book until I finished the book. I look forward to reading more of his work

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3