Customer Reviews for

A Respectable Trade

Average Rating 3.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Book

The book has great imagery and a good story line, however if you have a hard time readying about slavery or any such kind of issue. I would suggest you either toughen up and prepare yourself for things you might not like, or pass this book over. I had a hard time readi...
The book has great imagery and a good story line, however if you have a hard time readying about slavery or any such kind of issue. I would suggest you either toughen up and prepare yourself for things you might not like, or pass this book over. I had a hard time reading at parts I can tug at the heart strings, and yet there is a sweet love story and a growth of humanity in the era of early slave trading.

posted by NolaGirl83 on July 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bad book

I was only able to finish this book because i had nothing else to read. This book did keep me reading though. I would recommend it as an African i found this book slightly disrespectful. I felt like Muhuru (i forgot his name) seemed quite flat and the book was quite pre...
I was only able to finish this book because i had nothing else to read. This book did keep me reading though. I would recommend it as an African i found this book slightly disrespectful. I felt like Muhuru (i forgot his name) seemed quite flat and the book was quite predictable.

posted by Simbabi on October 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    Great lesson given in history

    A bit hard to read because of how the author shows the way the slaves were treated, but very well written. Excellent book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Interesting

    Phillipa Gregory is one of my favorite authors and she doesn't disappoint in this saga of the slave trade in Britan and those who profited from it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great one from Philippa Gregory

    This was a very intersting book. I had never read a book about the slave trade before. This author always writes in a way that you can visualize the scenes you are reading about very easily. I recommend this book to anyone who likes to read historical fiction.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Very insightful look into the slave trade in England before it was outlawed

    The attitudes and relationships between Africans imported to England as slaves and the various classes of white society in England is explored at many levels. Though many knew that the slave trade was horrific and intrinsically wrong, they continued it for economic reasons and endeavored to convince themselves that their actions were justified. Love intervenes between a well bred married white woman and her highly intelligent African slave which breaks all the morays of the culture so is kept secret from the white society. The efforts of a common trader to break into the upper ranks of the merchant trade is made difficult by deceit and deception by many. You will gain an appreciation for the culture of the time in England and it's colonies as well as an appreciation for the progress that has been made since then.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    RIVETING!

    This novel is astonishing!!! It pulls you in takes a harsh look at history. Ms. Gregory's writing pulls you in, makes the characters jump off the page & wakes up all your senses.
    I felt empathy, sympathy, & joy for well rounded figures that you never wanted to see go.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great From Philippa

    One of her greatest so far Along with With Her Boleyn Novels If your like her writing style you may also enjoy novels by Libba Bray novels as well

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I recommend

    If you like this authors other books, you will enjoy this one also. Historical and thought provoking. Characters were well developed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    ANOTHER HIT FROM PHILLIPPA

    I love all of philippa gregory's historical novels. She is an excellent writer and, from what i have read, an excellent researcher. If only history was presented in school as clearly and simply as gregory's books, it would have been my favorite subject. In 'a respectable trade,' gregory makes british slave trading so vivid as to make the reader (at least this reader) cringe and even arouses anger at the extreme cruelty of a so-called civilized society's attitude and behavior.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great historical fiction

    In 1787 Bristol ambitious two bit trader Josiah Cole wants to join the respectable business elite of the city, but knows he would need plenty of investment money to achieve his goal. His only source would be a marriage of convenience to a rich wife with the right social ties. He chooses thirty-four years old on the shelf Frances Scott and persuades her to marry him.--------------------- After exchanging their vows, he assigns her the task of metamorphosing the African slaves into house servants. One of her trainees is Yoruba priest Mehuru, whom in spite of his fall from grace retains a dignity that stuns Frances. Soon the slave and slave trader¿s wife fall in love. However, besides her marriage vow of fidelity Frances always though the dark Africans were beneath her Anglo white race yet Mehuru seems so much the better person than her or her spouse, but will she risk her liberty for his?---------------- This terrific historical thriller uses a forbidden romance to bring to readers a deep look at the British triangle trade of slaves, sugar and rum. The story line is fast-paced yet driven by the fully developed threesome ably augmented by the support cast that opens up the late eighteenth century to readers. Phillipa Gregory is at her best with her profound look at two types of late eighteenth century triangles (relationships between people and trade relationships between countries).---------------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    Moving and Riveting

    I love Philippa Gregory - well researched and well played out. I was sad at the end; it made me cry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1